We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Pie Night/Real Pub”
Review of The Carriers

The Carriers
Ranked #16 of 84 Restaurants in Warminster
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our beautiful pub is located in the stunning village of Stockton. We are very much a traditional English pub that offers a range of fine Real Ales. We are not a restaurant or Gastropub, Friday is all about the Fish, fresh Cod caught the evening before delivered to us straight from the boat fried to perfection using our very own beer batter. Please phone in advance as this is very popular. We like to support local and micro breweries with a wide selection of real ales always available. We pride ourselves on the way we keep our beers and you can always try before you buy. We have had many people tell us that we have the best beer garden in Wiltshire! The only problem is people didn't realise we had one. We are located close to the A36 and the A303, so if you are heading down to the West Country on holiday on returning north then please follow the signs towards Wylye/Stockton. We look forward to welcoming you to our wonderful traditional English country pub. We only offer food on Friday evening during the summer months, however we always have a good range of snacks available.
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

Fantastic pub with a delious pie night. Never ate anything like it before. We are coming back next week but unfortunately not on pie night. Hopefully there will be some pies left!

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Lauralauralaura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2015

Yesterday I celebrated my 80th birthday along with 20 family and friends at the Carriers Arms Stockton.
The meal was excellant; served by friendly efficient staff in a cosy environment. Well done, we will definitely come again
Ron Collins.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

My family and I had Sunday lunch at the Carriers, It was one of the best Sunday lunch we had ever eaten.

Compliments to the chef.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank NittaM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

A good honest country pub that caters well to locals and visitors alike. Don't bother going here if you are looking for fine dining, this is not that sort of place. Lunchtime when we went it was sandwiches or ploughmans. We both had a pork pie ploughman's lunch which was delicious and filling. Went back for an evening meal another day and as it was Thursday it was pie night, no other options. Two types of pie with either chips or mash. We both had the steak pie which was obviously home made, beautiful pastry, and chock full of tender meat. Great service and friendly bar staff make for a great night out.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Pete_Sue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart385, Owner at The Carriers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Thank you for you review, we are very glad you had a great visit to our pub. You described us exactly as we see us, A good honest country pub selling great Ales and great traditional bar food.

We hope you will call in next time you are in the area.

Many thanks

Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

A good pub in the country, where the dog are welcome in the lovely garden at rear or inside the pub. Very simple food but good for a lunch time

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank pistolll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carriers also viewed

Heytesbury, Warminster
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Carriers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing