We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHRISTMAS BREAK”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

First trip to Centerparcs Longleat , We spent the four days over Christmas there ,was fantastic , accommodation was very clean & had everything you need ,we only ate out once as food places are quite expensive if you have a large family ,we used the supermarket on site it was also quite expensive so id advise if you have room in your car to take food shopping with you as I would next time , the swimming pool was fantastic , which is where we spent all of our four day break, all activities have to be paid for and are NOT included in holiday price but my children didn't care for them as we all love to swim which is included in the price, the logs for the fire have to also be purchased from supermarket & cost £10 but you can get exactly same ones from home bargains or poundshop and take with you, though Centerparcs can cost a fortune for activities & food & drink its a lovely relaxing place & we would love to go again in the summer,all agreed it was the most chilled out holiday we have ever had & all the staff were helpful & friendly ,we were all sad to leave, even my 16 & 21 year olds LOVED THE peace & nature !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,035 - 5,041 of 8,283 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

A welcome escape post-wedding for two newly-wed teachers with the new term looming.

As Center Parcs newbies and having grown up with a stigma attached to Center Parcs I was pleasantly surprised by the experience. We Plumped for the executive lodge for 2 in the 'pines.' This was a good choice as the space was decorated to a high spec and came with a log burning fire. I am not sure what other places were like but I felt we had made the right choice.

The weather was appalling for the majority of the stay but that didn't dampen our enthusiasm or our enjoyment. We were able to visit the safari park and house next door which are an absolute must, and we managed to squeeze a very good value spa experience at Aqua Sana.

In terms of food we mainly cooked for ourselves as the cooking facilities were great. We did however eat out in Cafe Rouge and the pancake house, finding both to be suitable for our needs.

The swimming pool was good fun and we enjoyed the outdoor heated section especially. This was mainly due to the rather chilly temperature inside the dome, as suggested by previous reviews.

In addition we played table tennis and badminton in the 'jardin des sports' and found the overall booking process for the activities quite fun.

I would recommend the parc for all types, from couples to family groups as there is something for everyone. We shall hopefully return as a larger group in more clement weather in order to make use of all the facilities we missed out on this time round.

In a side note, it was a nice touch of the maid for our lodge to leave a gift and card when she realised it was our honeymoon.

If there is one complaint it would be that the signing around the site was ambiguous to say the least with there being sometimes the same destination on two signs pointing in the opposite direction. I understood the separation of cycle and pedestrian routes but this was not the case in this instance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tommillinchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review.
We are honoured that you chose to spend your Honeymoon at Center Parcs.
I was delighted that you would recommend us and I do hope that we may welcome you back sometime soon.
Many congratulations on your recent marriage and kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

six of us stayed at longleat for xmas and new year,had a fabulous time,we stay regularly and never disappoints,.i pre-booked activities and restaurants on-line so we got everthing we wanted at the times to suit us.it rained a lot but it never affected our enjoyment,and our two foster children 11 and twelve,said it was their best holiday ever,the staff were brilliant with the kids and made the holiday exceptional for us all.my boys said if you visit you must go quad-biking and aqua-jetting,the pinacle of the stay,.

Room Tip: book early,find a villa near to where you will spend most of your time,and book as many of the activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audrey1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Center Parcs ticks a lot of boxes for a lot of families, as it has done numerous times for our family over the years.

We have enjoyed and recently enjoyed - over the New Year holiday - the relatively peaceful, scenic location; the activity facilities and the good New Year’s Eve party in the sports complex (which bears the rather affected name 'Jardin des Sports’) accompanied by a very good fireworks display, although this seemed to have seen some budget cuts compared with previous years.

While we would normally prefer not to self-cater when on holiday, we were well prepared for the fact that this is really a must at Center Parcs (in the UK; not on the continent) because the restaurants are uniformly awful - we've tried them all over the years. Even the branches of such familiar chains as Café Rouge, which we would normally consider to be a reasonably good average, manage to be dismally poor at Center Parcs. The captive market – see below – cannot be the only reason for this because, as indicated above, this is not at all our experience of other Center Parcs outside the UK. A sufficiently large proportion of customers in England clearly find these low standards acceptable.

We were going to celebrate a special birthday during our recent stay and therefore sought and obtained a very good recommendation for a gastro-pub within a practical distance of the compound. We booked a multi-seater taxi to take our party of seven there and back. In a phone call from the guards at the gate we were informed that the taxi would not be allowed to collect us; we were told our options were to walk (a long way in bad weather with a taxi-metre ticking) or to drive (our accommodation permitted us to keep our cars next to our housing unit)! After some discussion with ‘Guest Services’ – with the taxi driver still waiting – we had to give that up as fruitless and did as advised: drove in 2 cars to the gate, rather than having 1 taxi collect us! At the gate one of the guards said “you should be eating in one of our restaurants”. Mind-boggling! And infuriating, especially when considering that we had effectively spent more than £1000 per night for our stay.

It might have been fun to try one of their ‘tree houses’ next time, but, given this treatment, we are not inclined to return: too much of Number 6 in The Village (younger people might have to google this reference).

I emailed this feedback to ‘Guest Services’ nearly a week ago, but it appears not to merit any response.

Additionally, the “exclusive” accommodation seemed quite tired for that sort of money.

Also, I would recommend that customers ignore the ‘Customer Satisfaction Survey’, a link to which is emailed a few days after your stay. It is run by a third party and after a few pages about Center Parcs it gets to the real point: to garner information designed to target sales of such other products and services as insurance. Clearly no-one is actually going to pay attention to the boxes ticked about Center Parcs. Quite cynical, this, and if you value what little privacy you have left, don't answer any of it.

Finally, for good nearby dining we recommend The Talbot Inn in Mells (if you manage to escape).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KWA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi there
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Longleat Forest.
As per our personal response to you ealier we are very sorry to hear of your concerns and I hope that we have been able to address the issues you have raised.
I would respond to your further concerns with regard to our Guest Questionnaire and I would like reassure you that all questions are optional and the upmost care is taken to analyse the data received in these surveys to make sure that we continue to improve our services at every level.
Feedback such as yours is greatly valued and once again thank you for taking the time to post.
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Have been to Center Parcs Longleat many times, and always go on the first weekend of the new year for a post xmas refresh. The visit this year (Jan 14) was seriously let down by the "sub-tropical" swimming paradise - it was COLD. The air temperature was cold and the water was cold on all 4 days of our stay. I first noticed this last year when the story was a faulty boiler, you would think one year would be enough to correct this - and the roof which seems to have been being repaired for over 2 years, but if anything it was worse.

A number of people complained about the cold while we were there, including some friends of ours who were told "It was colder yesterday" by the team leader. What does that mean - should we be glad that having paid £500+ for 4 days off season, we hadn't arrived a day earlier ?

For anyone who hasn't visited a Center Parcs, the main pool complex is a large indoor/outdoor dome with multiple pools, slides and flumes. When properly heated it is a great family facility which keeps the kids fully occupied and allows the adults to chill. It used to be warm (i.e sub-tropical), as in you dried out in minutes and could spend a lot of time there in comfort. This year, as soon as you got out of the water, it was so cold that some were putting a fleece on. Certainly not conducive to spending hours in there which is clearly what it is supposed to be for. It is the only activity included in the holiday price and it is unacceptable for it to be in such a poor state. The whole area could clearly do with a refresh with peeling paint, some grubby areas on the outdoor slides and most of the roof covered in tarpaulin (as it has been for a few years).
Whilst we were there apparently one of the trains also broke down, the haystack driers were both out of order, as were some of the booking terminals. Personally I'm not too bothered about the accommodation as we don't normally spend that much time in the villa, but Center Parcs seem increasingly obsessed with proving "luxury" accommodation, and seem to have done it by cutting back on maintenance and investment in the common areas. Either that or they are doing it to achieve some absurd CO2 reduction target. Clever move, no repeat customers will reduce your CO2 massively !!

On a more positive note, the activities were all good as ever, the kids both enjoyed the football coaching with Alex and Terry, I finally grew a paid and did the tree trek, and the spa visit was very relaxing.

Overall, a good family holiday resort which suits us perfectly but I will not be booking next year unless the pool issue is sorted out.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of accommodation to suit all budgets tastes. If you have children it is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattMunro186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guesr Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review.
I was pleased to hear that you find us to be a good family resort which suits you perfectly.
I was however, sorry to hear that you felt cold during your time in our Subtropical Swimming Paradise and that you suggest that this may be down to our roof project. I can confirm that this 18 month programme which started early last summer has been undertaken in such a way that the temperatures within our dome are managed to the desired levels by an Air Handling Unit, I can also confirm that temperatures are currently performing to standard.

I understand that overall you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that I have been able to offer our reassurances and that you will visit again.

Kind Regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed during the bad rain and wind but this did not stop us having a lovely time. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers in a 3 bed Woodland Lodge which I understand had been updated just six months ago. It was very clean and well presented. The kitchen had everything you'd need except a sieve which made draining rice particularly difficult. The lodge was also nice and warm, good quality towels and bedding. It had wii fi which I didn't expect but the mobile phone reception was very poor throughout the complex.
The activities are as you'd expect but I'd recommend booking things like badminton in advance as the availability was limited. The pool was great fun!
We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely for winter break, it doesn't matter about the weather.
Everything is spread out which may not be good for the less able, however there is a land train which goes round every 20 minutes.

Best to book and plan your activities before you arrive as they do get booked up.
Villas are fully equipped and very comfortable and warm, the nice part is they are not overlooked so it gives a feel of privacy
Restaurants/cafes/bars are very over priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCC900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
620 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
3.8 mi away
Somerset Arms
Somerset Arms
#1 of 3 in Maiden Bradley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Botany Camping
Botany Camping
#2 of 5 in Warminster
149 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairwood Lakes Holiday Park
Fairwood Lakes Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Dilton Marsh
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#6 of 24 in Warminster
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing