We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Longleat jan 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Longleat jan 2014”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our tenth visit to CP and maybe our last. Villa very tired needed updating even though it had been revamped over the last few years. General condition poor shower head,holes in bathroom tiles, dents in bedroom walls filled in but not repainted, blood on pillow. Kitchen utensils and oven very tired . Needed some tlc inside and outside . Park Facilities very good but didn't feel we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicsim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi there.
I was so very sorry to hear of your concerns especially as this was your tenth visit to Center Parcs. Please feel sure your review will be shared with the Village team.
If you would like an individual response to your feedback I would kindly ask you to email us through our website.
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,410
    2,490
    1,073
    431
    251
See reviews for
5,605
643
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This year, as last, we stayed in one of the 4 bed Executive houses with the games room, hot tub and sauna room. It was clean and well presented on arrival and the housekeepers were very friendly every time they called.
We made full use of our own private hot tub, steam room and sauna which were all well maintained and clean with the possible exception of the steam room which had a bit of black mould and smelt a bit 'off' but not enough to spoil it. We only did a couple of activities, we booked a badminton court and a soft tennis court both of which were good value.
We ate out most days, although avoided the Pancake House as last year (can't be proven and may just be coincidence) two of our party were unwell. This year they weren't.. The Cafe Rouge food was exceptional but the service, although good, was perhaps a bit lacking for the price we paid (well over £120 for 4 adults) so we will try the new one next door next time. We avoided all food and drink at the Sports Bar as it was a bit too hectic and didn't seem to be very good value for money. The shop was reasonably priced considering where it is and was extremely well stocked, well done. Dexter's burger/fast food by the shop was good value, we bought two large boxes of fries to take home for £4 which was real value!
The swimming pool was as good as ever, the rapids as good as ever and this time we managed to find a changing room by going when it opened. It does get a bit busy at peak times.
Now a couple of negative points - Be aware that cyclists and pedestrians have to share sometimes very narrow paths, especially the walk down the zig zag boardwalk from the Village square to the Jardin Des Sports. Some cyclists go a bit fast and see pedestrians as an inconvenience and don't always give them room, and to be fair a lot of pedestrians wander all over the place on these boardwalks - if you keep in you should be OK, if you're a group just accept that you'll have to walk on the left and all keep to the same side, in single file. It can get quite boisterous at times. Have your wits about you and give way in turn!
I called the fault reporting number to ask if there was any way I could reduce, or at least control the stifling heat in the house. There are thermostats in every room but despite trying to set them all at 16 degrees (the lowest) I could not get the temperature to go down. It really felt like the heating was on all the time at an indicated 22 degrees. The response was that the houses are so well insulated it takes sometimes days for the heat to go.. and I had to open the windows, even overnight in the freezing outside temperatures.
This brings me on to the most annoying point again, just the same as last year... the location of the block of houses is next to the staff parking on the route to the Plaza which is where all the deliveries and service vehicles go. So, especially at 'rush hour' you get a lot of big lorries, tractors and various other traffic going to and fro to the Plaza. With open windows...the noise is loud! Now thast's fair enough, but the ridiculous speed at which the traffic goes is completely dangerous. The Center Parcs own vans seem to be more disciplined than the visitors but there is no way the 10mph speed limit is followed. In fact I would say more like 30mph, especially the delivery courier vans which seemed to be to worst. When it's dark, or even in daylight, I strongly advise you NOT to walk or cycle from Pine numbers 96 - 100 to the Plaza without keeping well in from the 'road' and whatever you do don't let your kids out without supervision. The pinch point as the road goes up to the right near the Venue entrance is dark, blind and really not safe. It would be if drivers remembered where they were! Speed humps, a pavement, something is needed here. Be warned.
Other than that again a great holiday and we will return, but with high viz jackets and some ear plugs!

Room Tip: Take your own loo roll - the stuff they provide is a bit coarse! Take your own Wii remotes and game...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicoPapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a lovely Christmas at Longleat Forest in one of the comfort lodges. Make sure you all have a torch each. Lodge was sufficient but could do with a little updating with new telly and dvd player. Also dripping taps where a bit of a pain. The swimming pool was fantastic and the reason I gave it a very good. However, I would advise to be careful what you pay as, if you can risk not booking until the last minute, you can save yourself hundreds of pounds. I paid approximately £400 plus more than others who booked at the last minute. They also where given better accommodation. Before writing this review I did write to Center Parcs and they obviously justified their pricing system. So my advice is to have 2 or 3 options open to you and book at the last minute. I certainly will and if its full at Centre Parcs, well so be it. There will be another fantastic Christmas out there to be had

Room Tip: Oak comfort lodges very quiet and only a short walk to main Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisE2369UB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend in a new style executive villa in the fir area .We found the villa very clean and cosy . We found it really good value for money and ate out at The Grand Cafe Hucks and cafe Rouge .We all really had a great time playing crazy golf and bowling and lots more .The forest is truly magical any time of the year and wildlife always around .We will be back soon thankyou centerparcs Longleat nothing is ever too much trouble .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retrograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_pike, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I was so pleased to hear that you found your Villa to be warm and cosy and that you enjoyed a truly magical stay with us at Longleat Forest.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Linda Pike
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Been to Center Parcs on a number of occasions but this was the first time to Longleat. Just returned from a weekend in a 3 Bed executive. Unfortunately very 'tired' accommodation compared to that we've stayed in at other Center Parc locations - shower cubicles had no handles on doors, showers heads dirty, creaking doors and floors. Reported a fault with a light on arrival - still not fixed when we left! Amenities very spread out so expect some walking. Enjoyed the weekend but would probably not choose Longleat again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

6-10 jan '14.
This place seemed to tick all the boxes: 60min drive with a 2yr old, all mod cons, nature and the subtropical paradise. It didn't disappoint ! The only other CP visit was 7years ago to Suffolk when we lived that way, where we stayed in an apartment. So we had comparisons to make. Yes Longleat is spread out and hilly- we took our own bikes and used them once due to this. After biking up the boardwalks either side of the lake we felt like 60 a day smokers coughing due to the freezing air and deep breathing! The land train was great and our 2yr old daughter was so excited waiting for it every time getting a honk honk from the driver and a wave. We stayed in a 2 bed woodland lodge in Fir. Yes it's no where near the action but the Land train solved this problem. A bonus when it rained ! Also there were 2 parks for the different ages right on our door step with our own lake surrounded by a few other lodges.
The accommodation was exactly the same as described on the website- think it may have been newly refurbished due to the building work on others 10mins away. The beds were clean and firm. Our little girl loved the ducks coming up for breakfast every morning and other wildlife. She loved feeding them.
The pool was fab although the rapids didn't seem as long as Suffolk's and the pool not as big. We spent a fair amount of time at the toddler bit which was well managed by the life guards due to little ones not understanding the traffic light system. They were so friendly to the kids. The best was the outside pool. Freezing outside air temp but lovely heated underwater lit pool with bubble seats to sit back and enjoy the stars- shooting stars if your lucky enough like me. We won't forget our little one calling the moon,' the boon' for the first time when she looked up. The second night as was cloudy she said 'moon broke' as she couldn't see it haha. The many parks around the lake were amazing esp the adventure style one not far from the village square. We were told CP is expensive. For the time we went, we disagree ! £250 was a bargain for us as a family of 3. We took our own food so spent £50 the whole holiday- adventure golf, mini bowling, sports cafe and pancake house. So much to do for free. The Pancake house was yummy and a welcomed treat. The Sports cafe was a rip off for mediocre food, give that place a miss. Wish we did ! The Parc market is a tad dear but then it isn't asda or Aldi ! On the whole we thought the park was clean, tidy and well though out although getting the car in and out with all parked on the road unloading was a nightmare esp with deep verges on the sides of the roads !
CP is what you make of it- do as little or as much as you like !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and had the best time. Take a torch and extra loo paper. Activities available for any age range. Swimming paradise was clean and well laid out. Showers and changing areas are mixed but otherwise no concerns.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyanta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
6.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
12.7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
555 reviews
15.0 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
23.1 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Property: Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing