We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, over priced NEVER AGAIN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over rated, over priced NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We planned to have a few days away as a treat for my sons birthday we paid 419 for the cabin and 39.99 to be in the middle, this was sold to us as we have 2 little boys that can't walk far.
Firstly the "woodland lodge" was a shabby cladded box, never the less we were excited, inside was grubby and bland. I used the main toilet and the lock came off in my hand. We then had to walk 15 minutes to get to the nearest attraction, a further 30 minutes to reach the rest all of which were up hill on return, that's if you made it back without being hit by a bike as the bike and foot bath are one and the same for most of the site. The train was always packed with no chance of getting on it.
Anything you wanted to do had to be booked in advance with a hefty price tag.

We were sold on the "build a bear" costing £19 per child thinking this would take at least an hour of our time for the cost! 15 minutes and we were done
£59 for a massage of 25 minutes at 3pm I was out and dressed by 3.25
There was no welcome, no direction given to people who had not been before we were left to wander and work things out for ourselves.
Out first restaurant visit at "hulks" was appalling the attitude from staff was dreadful....why do people work in a customer service role if they have not patience for people or children?
I will not be recommending centre parcs to anyone if you have any sense you will book a 5* hotel for a few days and be weighted on hand and foot for the same price as this over rated over priced pretentious rubbish!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsBooth1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi there

Thank you for posting your reveiew on Trip Advisor.

I was sorry to hear of the extent of your disappointment with various aspects of your stay with us. We of course aim to provide a very high standard of accommodation and service across all of our Villages and cannot apologise enough that you did not feel this to be the case.

Please be assured your feedback has been passed on.

Best regards

Emma Fairhurst
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,347
    2,437
    1,052
    420
    250
See reviews for
5,486
633
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was our first trip to Center Parcs Longleat Forest, we visited Whinfell 2 years ago. We stayed in and Executive two story apartment with an infared room. On arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful lady, who was helpful when we realised we didn't have our complimentary toiletries in our room. The apartment was comfortable, a bit worn but generally good. The activities we took part in were fencing (instructor a professional tutor, enthusiastic, thoroughly recommend this activity), indoor putting, not great value as it didn't take us very long to complete it. We also booked a World of Spa experience (3 hours) lovely and definitely recommend this if you are going to relax. We also hired bikes, which was very good value for money, also we did the treasure trail (which needs bikes) one of the clues was a bit obscure and we didn't find the answer but overall very good fun to cycle round the forest. Word of warning it is quite steep in places, a member of staff told us people complain about this fact!! Overall a lovely holiday will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been here before but not for a few years. I LOVE it! A truly relaxing break surrounded by beautiful forest. We hired bikes which were great for getting about. It's so nice to go cycling in a pretty much vehicle free environment. Although you are not far from the A303 you really do feel as if you've got away from it all and you're almost in your own little bubble! If you choose to do a lot of activities it can get pretty expensive but the swimming is free and great fun for kids and adults alike.

All I will say is try and think of everything you might need in the lodge before you go because although the Parc Market is very well stocked it is quite a bit more pricey than other supermarkets! We forgot things like olive oil, kitchen roll, washing up liquid, kitchen roll, and salt and pepper!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreygal1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We have just returned form a 4 night stay at CP Longleat. This was our second stay here.
We stayed in an executive villa with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. We had pre-booked which villa we wanted so knew how far we would be from the the Plaza etc. Our villa was about 5 minutes (flat) walk from the plaza which housed the mini supermarket, swimming pool and various eateries.
It was about a 15 minute walk to the 'jardin de sports' and Aqua Sana spa.
We arrived slightly earlier than the 3pm free for all to get your car in, unloaded and back out to the car park so had a Starbucks in the the plaza. I find the getting the car in and unpacked and removed at the beginning of the holiday and then getting it all packed up again at the end quite stressful and it is a bit of a free for all. But you do it and it is nice not to have cars around you for the duration of your stay - although some of the cyclists are a bit like manic drivers!
The swimming pool, indoor and outdoor was very good. The flumes were fun, the hot tub was lovely (although one time it was a bit chilly. The lazy river fun to zoom down.
We had a 3 hour spa session at Aqua Sana which was heavenly! If you are able to, it is definitely worth a visit.
Our accommodation was clean, although there was a bit of dust and there was food left in the freezer from previous occupants. I agree with other reviewers that the decor is dated and does need to be changed but people keep booking them (us included) so don't blame CP for not changing it yet.
If you are thinking of going to center parcs but are still undecided, I would definitely go and give it a go.... it is so relaxing and in the middle of a woodland (bit hilly) but there are loads of things to do... go for it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As a child I used to visit Center Parcs with my family every year and so decided to return in October of last year with my partner. We had a great time and so booked again for this week, but unfortunately our experience was nothing like our last trip. We stayed in the Pinewoods complex which is very convenient being right next to the Plaza, but sadly the quality of the apartments has declined massively in the last few months!
First of all, our bed was horribly uncomfortable - very soft and would sink in places. This alongside very hard pillows meant that we got barely any sleep at all. Our jobs are very stressful (ie waking up at 5am 7 days a week and working until late) and so we had been really looking forward to this trip as an escape from being constantly exhausted and a real chance to relax, which it was not at all. As if the uncomfortable bed wasn't irritating enough, when we did finally get to sleep on the first night, the shower suddenly expelled a lot of water for no reason which made a very loud noise and woke us both up! Also, I'm not sure if the central heating in the room is set to some automated routine, but it would change from being boiling hot to freezing cold at random throughout the night and we couldn't figure it out. Another reason why we barely slept and ultimately ended up leaving a day early - we were just having an awful time.
On our second day (after an appalling sleep) we went out in the morning to use the gym which was a waste of time - it's tiny size and very very outdated equipment are such a let down and as soon as one or two other people are in there you don't have much chance of getting anything done. Disheartened, we retreated back to our apartment where we phoned guest services and explained that we wanted to cancel the maid service for the day as we were going back to sleep due to not feeling great. They confirmed that this had been cancelled and so we got back into bed and managed to get about half an hour of rest in before a knock on the door signalled that the maid service had decided to show up anyway. To make matters worse, they literally give you about 5 seconds after knocking before letting themselves in and so my partner was caught in his boxer shorts feeling quite embarrassed as he jumped out of bed and ran to the door to say we didn't need them! So frustrating. Similarly, our apartment was located next to a fire exit which staff obviously used to get in and out of the building until late which added more noise to our 'relaxing holiday'.

The pool is great but on this trip we were quite disgusted by the state of the changing rooms in the evening - dirty nappies left all over the place! Absolutely filthy and the staff obviously do not clean this area regularly.

Our favourite restaurant (Ortega) has been replaced with another generic dining establishment. Very disappointed. Queues everywhere so we grabbed a burger from Dexter's and both had an upset stomach the next day.

The one redeeming feature was the Aqua Sana spa. We both had two hour massage/facial treatments and really enjoyed them. The staff there were an absolute delight and truly great at their jobs.

So disappointed that one of my favourite places to go for a few days away seems to have gone drastically downhill. Our customer service experience from Guest Services prevented us from making a complaint - we honestly couldn't be bothered with the hassle and so chose to just leave early instead. A big waste of money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkYogi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma F, Emma Fairhurst at Center Parcs Longleat Forest, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi there

Thank you for providing us with such extensive feedback following your break and it so disappointing to read of your disappointment.

I appreciate that you did not want to report your concerns due to previous experiences with Guest Services but had we been aware of the extent of your dissatisfaction, we could done things to help during your stay.

Please be assured, however, that I have shared your concerns with the relevant Managers on Village as this is certainly not our usual high standards.

We do hope that we may welcome you back at some time in the future.

Kind regards

Emma Fairhurst
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It was our first time at a Centreparcs. We have a nearly 4 year old and a 7 year old. We took our own bikes, but forgot our locks, but bought some at the Cycle hire centre, they were not a bad price. The guy there said if you have a decent bike without a lock it could get pinched, so we were not going to take that chance.
We paid extra for an Executive Lodge PN 232. It was minutes walk from the Plaza, which was ideal for us, meant we didn't have to bike it down, but was quiet in the day & night with a little lake at the rear. The lodge was well 'Used', not quite what I expected, and my Husband didn't know I'd upgraded he thought it was a basic lodge, oops. It was clean enough but abit battered around the edges, and generally not well finished in the first place. Our gas oven didn't work properly and so we abandoned cooking in the oven and grilling and opted for the old worn out frying pan. Take your own washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets, and maybe even hand wash.
Not having been to Centreparcs before we didn't prebook a table for a Restaurant, instead we turned up on spec. We arrived at the Indian Restaurant and was spoken quite rudely by a member of staff there when I asked if they had a table for 4 available. It was pouring of rain outside we were there with our 2 children and even though there were many empty tables which I pointed out to him, he said it was over an hour to wait for a table so it would of been 9pm and with two small children that was not possible. He also said that he had to think about the Chef ??? Even our 7 year old said what a rude man he was. So beware, pre book your restaurant especially if you have children and you'd like to go to the Indian.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Pool and all that it had to offer, the outside pool area was great and the rapids, and it was lovely swimming outside when it was quite cold out of the pool but the water was 29c, like a bath.
Had a great time biking around the park, nice safe trails but still quite a few cars around which we were surprised about (excluding Disabled cars & CP vans).
My Husband & eldest child did the Aerial adventure (the only thing we did pre book), they thoroughly enjoyed the experience and highly recommend it. Our youngest who was 5cm too short for the Tree trekking, was most upset she couldn't do it, so it looks like we'll be back to a CP next year just for her.

Room Tip: Pines area is near to the Pool complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My first time at Longleat Centre Parc and I wasn't disappointed. Had a lovely time,very relaxing and plenty of things to do and see. Good variety of restaurants and shops,lots of activities to suit every age and weather condition.. Our apartment was clean,tidy and welcoming with daily maid service. The free train was always spot on time every 20 minutes so getting about was really easy. Had loads of fun in the pool,the best I've been to for water activities. Beautiful forest scenery,would love to go again.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment in the Village area which was a great location. Some of the lodges were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
6.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
228.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
15.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 35 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
14.9 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Property: Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing