We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2009

hi ,
have just returned from center parks at longleat , and now feel fitter after a week of hills , cycling , canoeing and badminton ,
so what did i think ?
accommodation was a 4 bed exec villa old style , not bad looking from the exterior but the interior decor was a little dated, however it was all in good order , well equipped , spacious, and clean .and had free wifi. the private sauna just to the side of the patio was a god send to revive aching limbs after a day of exercise.
the park is huge , it is clean and tidy , well signposted and picturesque, the lake area is particularly pleasant.
the park is hilly as previous people have said , we did hire bikes and we are not particularly fit , we also had a 72 year old with us, but we managed and hopped off our bikes when we needed to, i would recommend bikes , you can get about quicker and it adds an extra dimension to your holiday,
there are plenty of activities to keep you occupied if you wish , we tried archery , badminton , canoeing and ten pin bowling , they all vary in price , did i feel ripped off ? not at all , the facilities are great and in good condition.
the swimming area is in the price of the holiday , the indoor pool area is adorned with tropical flowers/shrubs, there are slides and tubes to hurl yourself down if you wish !!, the exterior pool is a pleasant space and the water was heated, the rapids look intrepid, and my son 11 years of age said they were a little bumpy but not too bad !!
we ate out most nights and had lunch in the villa most days, we visited rajinda pradesh , i was not impressed with the the food here at all, and at £90 for 2 courses for four people i thought this was really bad value , wich was a shame as the restaraunt has lovely staff and is in a great setting overlooking the lake area ,
we also ate at hucks wich was great , try the philly cheese and beef ,
food from the parcmarket was a little more expensive than high street but not extortianate,and in some cases was actually cheaper , theres also plenty of choice here , we bought a barbecue and meat etc and this worked really well.
the site staff range from very helpfull to indifferent , but mostly helpfull.
mobile phone usage was fine ( t mobile and o2 )
we went the first week of june so the park was not too busy , but i would advise you book any restraunts and activities before you go , we did for the majority , but the one time we didnt we got turned away from a very busy grand cafe .
the land train was very good , it was regular , every 20 mins, and handy when your saddle sore !!
favourites
restraunts- hucks,
activity-archery,
area-the lake
glad i tried - the cycle hire
wish i hade done- more archery
wouldnt do again-rajinda pradesh
impressed with- the beauty of the whole park.
conclusion.....center parcs is for everyone you dont need to be mega fit , it can be expensive but doesnt need to be.its great for families , its even better in the sun ,
i booked my villa on the internet , and at the time i went it was less than £500 ,
i would definitely return , its a great place to try new sports, and i feel refreshed and a little bit fitter for my visit, i just need to keep it up now !!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howmuchfurther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8,490 - 8,496 of 8,610 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2009

We stayed at Center Parcs Longleat just after it opened about 16 years ago, and have been back many times since. It is only about an hours journey from the New Forest, where we live, so we have always arrived early and left around 11pm, so have had 5 full days mon-fri.
We have always booked a villa near the Plaza, so not too far from the car parks. They will send you a map showing all the villas and other accommodation, so you can choose a specific number if you wish. You pay extra, but worth it to be in the right location for you.
Some have a lovely position, nice and private, with a small lake behind, so the ducks come to your patio doors for breakfast. We left the door open one sunny morning and they waddled into the lounge area. My two young sons found it hilarious watching their grandma trying to chase them out!! Wish I had that on video.
The lakes contain lots of fish, ( carp I think) and they would swim to the bank for bread.

I must admit I preferred C.P.L. at the beginning. I think it changed hands, and they began building more "housing" , and making it more commercialised, as well as increasing prices. They never seem to have enough staff serving in the cafes, bars,restaurants, for the number of people, and so you can wait for ages at busy times.
We have always tried to avoid school holidays because my sons had a better chance of doing the activities they wanted. You can now pre book just about everything in advance. Essential if you want to do the Tournaments, as they get full up quickly.

My boys have loved the table tennis, badminton, tennis (outdoor courts), and pool tournaments, and have won lots of medals and certificates. At quiet times they were played as singles, but at peak times were doubles, so people were paired together. It is all supposed to be good fun, but you do get some very competitive players-children and adults!!

The pool in the Plaza Dome is lovely, with tropical plants, chairs and tables, a cafe, and separate area for small children. Only good swimmers can go down the Outdoor Rapids, no armbands. Parts of the Rapids are powerful with a strong current, and you can get stuck in a whirlpool! There are water slides in the indoor pool as well. The one grumble we had was that the pool cafe closed at 5pm, when the pool was open until 10pm, so you couldn't even get a cup ot tea! I think they had improved this last time we went by installing a chilled cabinet with sandwiches and cold drinks.

The bowling alley is next to the Pool entrance- again pre book at busy times. They do a night owl and early bird time which is cheaper. The bowling is per hour, not per game, so bowl quickly!

They had brand new mountain bikes in the Cycle Hire(near the car park) but my son and his friend wanted the old ones like old-fashioned bicycles! The chap found them two, no gears, curved handlebars. He was most amused to see two 16yr old lads wobbling away on them. My son said they were a novelty, as they both had good mountain bikes at home! Bikes for all ages are available, also for disabled people, burley wagons for toddlers, and electric scooters.( only a few of these so prebook early).

There are watersports on the lake, although this was closed on our last day ( friday) when we had planned to take out canoes and pedaloes.Annoying when you have walked all the way down the boardwalk to the Lake, as the Land Train didn';t run on Monday or Friday changeover days.

The restaurants and cafes are pricey. The supermarket in the Plaza is a good size, well stocked usually, and they will deliver to your villa later.

If you just go for the free pool, cycling, walking, and self cater, it is good value. If you want to do Tournaments, sports, activities,kids clubs, Aqua Sauna therapies, and eat out, you will spend a fortune!!! My boys love Center Parcs but you could go abroad for a week for the price of 5 days there, as a family.

I must add that going down the Outdoor Rapids (warm water) in falling snow in February was quite bizarre!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Figgygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Myself, hubby and Son (10) stayed at Center Parcs, Longleat for a midweek break. We stayed in the comfort plus accomodation which was quite nice. It has all the mod-cons, tv in lounge, dvd, and tv in bedroom, alarm clock, hairdryer and dishwasher in kitchen. It was clean and roomy, however although the bed was quite comfortable, the pillows are rock hard, so I suggest you take your own, or like me, you will suffer with neck ache. My son fed the squirrels on the patio each morning, and had rabbits visiting too.

We didn't hire bikes (very expensive) so walked and took the land train, which is very regular and great to take in the sights.

We enjoyed the walking, and the pool and rapids.... spent hours in the pool, but one word of warning, the pool is high in chlorine, so much so, most of my nail varnish on my toes came off daily, and my skin dryed out allot, other than that, really good. Food and drinks expensive, so get your groceries beforehand in a nearby supermarket. The parc market on site is reasonable, some things cheaper than my local corner shop.

All in all, quite a nice break, but would I go again...... No, it's not for me.... but pleased I have been.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABBIEXXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I've heard so many people rave about Centre Parcs so thought I'g give it a go. 5 of us including kids aged 13, 12 and 8 booked a 4 bedroom lodge in the firs area (only lodge left and I'd decided we were going whatever...) Kids hired bikes and we walked/took train with our Westie. Went bowling - fantastic, had Chineese takeaway - average, tried Indian restaurant - excellent and Hucks - would give this one a miss next time. Kids loved rapids and we swam under the stars! We've booked to return in October for my daughters 9th bday - can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gowerfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Four of us went as a birthday surprise for my sister. This was our first time at Center Parcs, we opted for Sherwood Forest after excellant customer service begining at the call centre, Tim our advisor believed this park would suit our needs best as my sister has MS. There was a problem with our chosen accomodation (after we booked) of which we where notified of before we went. The staff bent over backwards again to meet & accomodate our needs with a free upgrade and passes to the spa for the four of us, I cannot praise their customer service enough. The accomodation 2 bed new style executive was excellant. Awake to the sound of the ducks, birds & squirels on the patio. Of course if you want an action packed holiday it's all there on your doorstep to. Mon - Fri not long enough but I doubt if two weeks would have been long enough, no-one wanted to go home, a first for us. Well done to everyone at Sherwood.
For those with large families & worried about expense Tesco isn't too far away in the village of Ollerton.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I went to longleat with my husband and 2 children - 4 and 9 and another couple and their 2 year old. Firstly sharing a lodge with another couple was a brilliant idea as it kept costs down. It also made it fun as we had another couple with us and they babysat for us sometimes and vice-versa.

I have been 4 times before but never with my children and it was as good as always. We opted for a woodland lodge which was very modern, cool, clean, just amazing. We also paid the extra to be close to the plaza which was worth every penny!

The setting is the best thing, just amazing imagine an american national park, tall trees, glorious lakes etc, animals everywhere, we had ducks at our patio every day and once even a deer!

we were lucky with the weather but even if raining lots to do inside.
The pool is great for all ages, fab for little ones, free life vests were good, and big ones too - rapids are great and you can go to the outside pool too and even swim until late when it is dark and the pool lights are on and there is steam coming off the water.

There are activites for everyone, we did=
horse riding - just a trek, not that exciting,
zip wire - brilliant
power fan - over very quickly
crazy golf - nice for all the family for an hour
kayaking tution - very expensive not great
Salsa dance - loved it, lovely lady taking the class
bike treasure trail - good fun but u have to be fit!
bowling - good evening activity for everyone to join in, good cocktails too!
kids did -
teddy bears picnic which they loved
pirate party in timeout club - loved it and good for parents, free time!
soccor academy - fun, really kind instructor
pedalos - relaxing, got us all out on the lake

the thing the children loved most was playing on the little beach by the lake as there is a park on it and ducks around and its free! in fact there are loads of really good parcs around which the kids loved.

take bikes if can or definatly hire them although they are expensive, as cycling is the best way to get around by far, there is a train is you are really far away or don't ride

didn't try the spa as quite expensive but i have done it before and it is lovely

we ate out a few times but as with all these places the restaurants are expensive
grand cafe- did best food
hucks - brilliant buffet for kids and play area
cafe rouge, nice food great setting by the rivers and big carps kept kids amused
pancake house- fairly cheap so good for a meal out

really good supermarket on site, and takeaway service too - inidan chinese and pizza but we didn't use it

overall lovely holiday, felt like we were away from everything and relaxed but had so much fun too and the kids thought it was super, especially the young ones when they in their little wagon behind the bikes being pulled around

Staff were freindly and check in a breeze, the man at the bookings desk was very helpfull
our main concern was whether to pre-book activites. We didn't, and did it all the day after we got there. We were able to do most things we wanted but did not always get the best time slots so maybe book if there are things you really want to do book to save disappoinment.

don't really have anything negative to say, just things can be pricey so watch what you spend, eat in a few nights as the kitchens are great and take some board games, light a fire and you can have cosy evening in!

Also the sport centre is down a big hill so you have to be fit coming up, i had to push my bike everytime ha ha

We are going back next year, can't wait, you will love it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juice1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

have just returned from longleat wiltshire centre parcs (mon - fri). having stayed at nottingham 4 times we thought it was time for a change. we also booked an exec lodge this time but what a waste of money. it was lovely but really no different to comfort plus or woodland lodge just flashier furnishings and crockery. beds were just as comfy, kitchen just as functional but a huge hideous woodland mural on the lounge wall spoilt it along with purple sofa, orange cushions, blue carpet etc etc. anyway on to the parc. not a patch on nottingham. the village square is not a village nor is it square. the plaza is claustrophobic, one set of stairs for entry and exit. we picked buggy week (kids first week back to school so only a few children but LOADS of lovely babies and toddlers) and the toddlers really struggled with the stairs and moms and dads with pushchairs/swimming stuff. the pool was excellent especially the outdoor pool (bigger than nottingham) but a smaller indoor pool. restaurants were plenty with average food but VERY expensive (4 adults with drinks £80 plus) stick to sports bar in jardin des sports they have special offer nights. we enjoyed a couple of treatments in the aqua sana which was just as lovely as nottingham. we didnt have any problems at all with staff/people on site just two cardiac hills back to our lodge (fir 475). my husband and i walked but my daughter and her boyfriend hired bikes for the week and ended up getting land train for most of the week as you could not cycle up the hills. the activities were expensive £20 for four to bowl for 45 mins £24 crazy golf (18 holes) just plain extortionate! anyway, its back to nottingham for us or maybe elvedon forest which seems to have good reviews but maybe we will try a weekend first!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jdavis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
8.7 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
9.5 mi away
Fieldways Hotel & Health Club
3.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
270 reviews
11.1 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
483 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Warminster
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing