We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Certificate of Excellence
portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dated and overpriced”
Reviewed 13 September 2009

I went to Centre Parcs for a weekend in September. I had been before ten years ago when it was fairly new but I had stayed as part of a corporate event and didn't get to see much of the forest or activities. I was quite excited to be going again for a 3 day break. I booked the mid range priced accomodation for 2 people- an Executive Villa- it was about £315 in total - they do have reburbished villas but I didn't want to pay the hefty supplement. I arrived after the 3 pm rush and the traffic queue wasn't too bad and we found the villa fairly easily although from the outside it did remind me of a large static caravan. However nothing could have prepared me for the smell when I opened the door to the villa. It was a mix of damp and wet dog wool! And it was really awful. Thankfully after a lot of airing and a lot of febreeze (most of the smell was carpet and soft furnishings related) it was not so bad after the first night, but it's really annoying to be paying approx £100 a night and put up with that. The villa interior was also dated and tired looking. However I suppose you are not really paying for the accomodation alone, you are paying for the location which is lovely. Thankfully we had fantastic weather and there is loads to do and see. The boat lake in particular was brilliant fun. We don't have small children so if you don't really like small kids then this isn't for you as it's very family oreintated. Overall I feel it's overpriced but I would recommend it for the outdoor experience and I agree with a previous posting- book out of season (less kids) , book the new style villas (if you can afford it), take or hire bikes as you have to in order to get around and don't stay for more than 3 days, and of course pray for good weather!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katharinepompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,400
    2,484
    1,071
    429
    251
See reviews for
5,592
640
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I went with my better half and friends and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the facilities are good and we made very good use of the swimming pools, enjoyed the archery target practice and we missed our appointment for the bowling alley which was refunded without question. There didn't seem enough time to fit it all in.

Only downer of the whole trip was going back to the general car park at the end to find my wing mirror glass had been stolen. They do have CCTV in the car park however it's less than useful as I found out.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank super12v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My family (myself, partner, 4yr old boy, 12 yr old girl) went to Centre Parcs for the Bank Holiday weekend. This was our 2nd visit, having previously gone 10 years ago.
We had a great time doing all the activities including the Tree Trail (similar to Go Ape, although smaller scale), zip wire, adventure golf (both indoors and outdoors), table tennis, and younger activities, and of course the swimming.
The negatives to be aware of - we stayed in an executive villa 2 bed, and it was very grubby, including filthy crockery and cutlery, the previous guests dirty laundry was still in the place the day we left, although we complained on day one, and day two. The accommodation was very tired, the carpets were very worn, the televisions were the originals from 15 years previously, and the shower was covered in mould.
As said complaint was made about this and we were given a £40 meal voucher, although this was appreciated we did point out that what we actually wanted was clean accommodation.
The centre is very tired, the lights failed in the plaza, which led to the indoor play areas being shut and certain restaurant tables being out of action. The restaurants were very expensive, costing us £90 for the four of us, with 2 largers.
The activities were very expensive for what it was (£6 for 30mins hire of table tennis table for example).
The swimming pool was fine, although it was dirty, and the amount of hair that was on the floor in the changing rooms was disgusting.
There was no entertainment in the evenings, no band, no comedian or anything, which was a shame, although we did do the family quiz which was good fun for 1.5hrs so would recommend that.
Summing up, as other reviewers have said other holiday parks are catching up and in some cases overtaking centre parcs for the quality that they offer. This is not a cheap holiday option, and we would go as far to say this is a very expensive holiday option. A long weekend is plenty of time, to do all that is there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We re-booked to come back in March 09. We weren't dissapointed, booked a New Style Woodland Lodge, which although smaller than an Executive we had stayed in last time was miles better with a modern feel. We do have fond memories as last time we came our son took his first steps. Center Parcs is fantastic for parents, where your kids can have their own room and you get a good night's sleep after tiring them out during the day!

I would recommend trying to not arrive at the peak time and park up and go and get some lunch and avoid the rush! Also worth getting up early on the last day to get your car and get it packed and either away for the day or back to the car park - it is well worth it to avoid the chaos. Also although bringing your own food will save you some cash the Parc Market is good and well priced.

We will definitely be back, although we may yet try one of the other Center Parcs.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed for a 5 day midweek break, and it was chaos on arrival. What drives people to sit for over an hour in a queue through the car park with their engines running waiting for the barrier to go up to drive in...... scary! We unpacked our bikes and then returned later for the car as the 3pm barrier rise is mad. The site is very hilly and spread out, so if you have young children and buggies i would imagine its hard work. We got very fed up with the trek from the Jardin de sports and the plaza. The village square is a let down too, as all the shops/market etc in is in the plaza with the pool complex.
The pool is great, as all centre parcs are, shame the changing area is so crowded and cramped. We had an executive villa, which was spacious and well stocked in the kitchen but a bit grubby and tired looking, we wished we had gone for a woodland lodge as they seemed much cleaner and tidier having been re-vamped.
The activities are on the expensive side and we stuck to hiring badminton courts on wet days although be warned you really do need to book before you go. Even getting a restaurant table in the evenings was hard work, as you really should pre-book. There's not alot of room for impulsiveness at centre parcs.
However the site was spotlessly clean, and well maintained. We really enjoyed walking around through the park and some of the cycle paths are lovely, built up onto wooden boardwalks.
Take lots of things to do with the kids if it rains, take lots of food as the supermarket is not open after 8pm and is pricey with not a great selection of food, few snack bars are open after coming out of the swimming pool late at night, and book the newer accomodation.
Still a great holiday though despite the price. Will go back to Sherwood Forest next time as its better laid out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Stayed in Woodland Lodge which was very comfortable and well equiped. Weather was pretty bad most days ( par for the course for British Summer Hol though!)

Travelled with 15 year old and 2 year old both had a brilliant time. Particularly enjoyed swimming pool both inside and out...lovely and warm and very clean. Changing cubicles were a good size and also cleaned regularly - quite impressive given the volume of people passing through.

On site shop fairly expensive but very handy and well stocked with good brands.

All Center parcs staff very friendly helpful and (mostly) efficient

Onsite restaurants were a little pricey but all were good with Spanish Tapas restaurant (Ortega?) being the best by far

Is costly but worth it and would definitely go again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I love Center Parcs so much that I go year after year. The Villas are of excellent quality (even the basic one) and its great being amongst nature and the trees at Longleat. The more of you that share the cheaper it becomes. The kitchen facilities are good and upgraded villas have dishwashers. Very good for self catering. There is a mini market where you can buy basics mostly at an average or just above average price. The alcohol is slightly more expensive. There are endless activities to do - I would recommend the falconry and also the teddy bears picnic for children and soft play time. The spa is the best spa I have been to with lots of treatments or for just relaxing in the large spa area. There are many restaurants to choose from and I love the pancake house. Longleat is spread over a large area however for most of the year a train runs from various pick up locations and takes you where you need to go. The swimming pool is as they say a tropical paradise with a wave machine, slides and an outdoor rapid slide. There is also a separate kiddies pool and slide. The pool is open till late which means in the winter you can swim under the stars outside as its all heated and then head back to the villa for a cosy fire and glass of wine. Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warminster
6.3 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
14.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
549 reviews
15.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,344 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Longleat Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Property: Center Parcs Longleat Forest
Address: Warminster BA12 7PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Warminster
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Longleat Forest 5*
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Village Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Warminster
Center Parcs Hotel Warminster
Center Parcs Longleat Forest Warminster, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing