We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Ashley Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Ashley Farm B&B
1 review
“Really lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Great Ashley and had a brilliant time. Really comfortable room , great breakfast and a very warm welcome. Helen was so helpful, we are looking forward to a return visit as soon as we can!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2011. The farm is beautiful, the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts to die for. Helen went out of her way to help us find the best walks, prettiest villages and gourmet pubs in the area. We loved wandering through fields of horses and cows to the pub and eating wild blackberries on the way home. This area is as beautiful as the Cotswolds without the crowds and a great place to stay when visiting Bath. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at Great Ashley Farm for 3 nights in August 2011. What a lovely peaceful treasure to find after travelling for nearly 2 weeks around the UK with our daughter and my Mother. We stayed in the two rooms, one above the other attached to the main house. The room for Mum and Daughter was large and lovely as was ours. All spotlessly clean,very modern and very comfortable. Lovely fluffly white towels, nice big bathroom, picnic baskets if you required them left in your room. Helen, our hostess was freindly and very accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and helped us out with how to get to Bath, any scenic drives to take where to have a good meal each night - Fox and Hounds just up the road was great and not expensive. Breakfasts were scrumptious with full English or continental if you wished. Best of all it was in the countryside and you could really relax and enjoy a short break for a while before the travelling started again. Really revived the spirit. Thank you Helen for a wonderful stay. We would recommend Great Ashley Farm and if we should be in that part of the world again won't hesitate to stay with you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussies54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Beautiful farmhouse in a peaceful setting. Our room was large and well equipped, the breakfasts are fantastic using local produce. Helen is a wealth of information about the local area and very friendly without being intrusive. loved our stay here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had high hopes for this one, because of all the prizes it had won, but we were slightly disappointed we are sorry to say. Accomodation is great, because you're very private. The location is wonderful and the gardens surrounding the B&B were a joy to sit in with the dogs. We stayed here for 2 nights and we really liked it, however, our room wasn't really cleaned properly. The bed wasn't made when we got back the first day (we had to go back to get some stuff, around 3 o'clock and our room hadn't been cleaned by then) and when we got back after dinner the bed wasn't made, but the covers were just a bit straightend (something which I do at home some days, but do not expect in a prize winning B&B).
The breakfast was really wonderful. All local products and excellently cooked! All in all we enjoyed our stay, but we had the feeling that we were a bit 'too much' and that the owner had better things to do than to see to its guests. The dogs made up for all of this, because they were great!

We really liked the village of Winsley, where we had some terrific meals at the Seven Stars pub/restaurant! We would certainly go there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B_Eindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I recently stayed at Great Ashley Farm - an idyllic setting! Its very quiet and relaxing. Its a perfect base for visiting local attractions such as Lacock but also Bath. Helen is extremely helpful, enthusiastic and very willing to help with local information, the best places to eat locally and the best routes to Bath and best parking in Bath which is really useful. The breakfast was delicious and I love the fact that the breakfast menu is made up of local produce - jams and marmelade made in Somerset and eggs from the local farm. Delicious! It really is a great B&B and I'd recommend it to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchMichMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay but we were in the room downstairs and when the people arrived that were staying upstairs the nice quiet room was not so quiet. We could not hear what they were saying but we could hear every footsteep they took, this was not get in the morning if you wanted to sleep in. The pillows were not the best if you like a soft pillow they would be great but not for us. We stayed for 3 night and did not have clean towels during our stay which for the money we were changed was very annoying.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabbit4430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ashley Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ashley Farm B&B

Property: Great Ashley Farm B&B
Address: Great Ashley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Ashley Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended in 'The Country Living' Magazine - Great Ashley Farm is an award winning B&B set in a beautiful part of Wiltshire just outside of Bradford-on-Avon and a stones throw from the World Heritage site of Bath. The ensuite guest rooms are individually designed super king size double or twin (on req), each has modern en-suite shower room, crisp white linen, quality mattresses ensuring a restful nights sleeps, well stocked hospitality trays & lovely attention to detail - All the ingredients from our delicious varied breakfast menu are locally sourced where possible Great Ashley Farm is a working livestock farm & equestrian yard, owned and run by The Rawlings Family and home to a herd of pure bred Sussex cattle. The farm is in a fantastic rural location, situated just outside of the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon and minutes away from the Kennet and Avon Canal. The UNESCO World Heritage City of Bath and the Cotswold area of outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep.Longleat, Stonehenge (with it's new vistor centre), Avebury, Lacock, Castle Combe, Glastonbury & Englands smallest cathedral city Wells are all within easy reach making this the perfect base for exploring or just to simply relax and soak up the lovely peaceful surroundings.The lovely unspoilt landscape that surrounds the farm is a haven for wildlife with deer , pheasants, hawks, wild ducks & partridge being frequent visitors. You will also see cattle and horses grazing the fields So if you are looking for either B&B or a Holiday Cottage nr Bath and Bradford-on-Avon look no further, you won’t be disappointed, the perfect location for touring & exploring, cycling,& walking, golfing or just relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Ashley Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing