We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy B&B”
Review of Herb Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herb Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a long weekend here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The room was lovely (great view, comfortable bed & clean bathroom).

Very tasty breakfast. Suzanne was very helpful with suggestions as to things to do and places to eat. It is also a great location to get about. We visited Lacock, Bath, Farleigh Hungerford, Wells, Cheddar Gorge.

We can strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgb9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review on my mothers B&B. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

I found this B&B quite by chance on the internet when I needed a place to meet up with family in nearby Bath and I am so glad that I did! Herb Cottage is a perfect place to stay. Suzanne Wise is the proprietor and is a lovely lady - very friendly and helpful but also discreet, eager to help you get the most out of your stay in the area and a mine of information. The warmth and sincerity with which we were received was truly wonderful.

The rooms are very comfortable and decorated to a high standard and are en suite. The double bedroom is light and airy with an en suite shower room and double doors that open onto the most spectacular view across golden wheat fields and rolling hills. The view goes on forever! The twin room was spacious and comfortable (en suite with a huge bath and power shower) with lovely views across the garden and onto the fruit trees in the garden. All that can be heard is birdsong. The beds were very comfortable and made up with crisp linen - we both slept like logs.

A delicious breakfast was served with organic produce, bacon, eggs, tomatoes etc, yoghurt with muesli and/or seeds and toast with the bonus of homemade rhubarb compote and marmalade. It kept us going until well into the afternoon!

After the madness of Bath in high season, Herb Cottage was so tranquil and restorative. Bradford on Avon is a charming and picturesque town with lots of history and plenty of places to eat out although we chose the Plough pub at the end of the road from Herb Cottage where we had a fantastic meal. Suzanne very kindly rang ahead and booked a table for us.

Suzanne's attention to detail and personal touch really does make the difference between a good stay and a great one.

Thank you so much for your hospitality Suzanne, our only complaint is that we couldn't stay for longer. We hope to see you again before too long.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EscapeArtist159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review on my mothers B&B. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a lovely 3 night stay in Herb Cottage. It completely changed my opinion on B&B accommodation and this was all down to Suzanne. She made our stay - it wouldn't have been the same without her!

The views from our very well-sized room were breath-taking and the bed was huge and comfortable with crisp linen. Breakfast was absolutely delicious too and kept us going for hours! The peace and quiet just added to the whole experience.

Everything you experience at Herb Cottage has a personal touch - thank you Suzanne.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMitchelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review on my mothers B&B. Very kind. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We chose Bradford on Avon instead of Bath, and looked for a B&B on a wet evening (sitting in the car with a blackberry checking out tourism sights for places to stay). Luckily we phoned Herb Cottage. Finding it was a challenge as its a little out of town, but the effort was worth it. A shared driveway was a bit disconcerting (pot-holes) but the house and gardens are a delight. The rooms available are of a good size, very comfortable and private. Breakfast has nice personal touches (rhubarb!).
But of course the best (or worse) part of any B&B experience is the host. Suzanne was very welcoming and very informative. Her knowledge of the surrounding area made our stay more enjoyable as we visited some of her recommendations such as the village of Lacock and the Caen Hill locks (amazing).
Bradford on Avon is an excellent place to stay in place of Bath (of course Bath is still very much a 'must do') with the river and canal providing a nice backdrop to narrow streets and interesting shops and pubs (The Barge was the best we found).
We stayed 3 nights we were so impressed. Thank you Suzanne.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reg78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klaus947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W, Owner at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#12 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herb Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herb Cottage

Address: 99 Bradford Liegh | Wiltshire, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: Double Room £90, Twin Room £90, Single Occupancy £55 a night. Discounts available for extended stays, three nights or more. Situated off the beaten track just 1.8 miles from the historic town of Bradford on Avon and 8.6 miles from the World Heritage City of Bath, Herb Cottage is an 18th century converted farm house offering a homely B&B. Tucked away in tranquil surroundings, this charming cottage offers one double and one twin room both with en-suite showers and one with bath. You will find beautiful rural views, a large well-maintained organic herb garden with interesting sculptures and the welcoming hospitality of Suzanne Wise. The accommodation offers: Colour TV in both rooms, Wi-Fi throughout, Hairdryers in both rooms, Tea and coffee-making, Ironing facilities, Ample on-site parking and a welcome to children of all ages. Delicious breakfast and catering for most dietary requirements. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing