We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting for an inspirational stay”
Review of Herb Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herb Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting for an inspirational stay”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Sometimes the graciousness of host and tranquility of setting combine to provide a short break that remains long in the memory. In Suzanne and Herb Cottage we found just that. I cannot sing the praises of Suzanne's hospitality enough. From our warm welcome on a frosty Friday evening to morning chats over her fine ginger marmalade Suzanne provided a masterclass in balancing an open house with the right degree of privacy. The location is ideal, with Herb Cottage tucked away within two miles from Bradford on Avon. Bradford itself is charming and Bath is barely ten minutes away by train.

The passion Suzanne has for her picture perfect garden is palpable, and we had the fortune to sample the apple and blackcurrant compote alongside a cooked breakfast that set us up on both days. However it was Suzanne's genuine pleasure in hosting and making us feel at ease that was most remarkable. Her belief in traditional values (such as discussing your stay in advance over the phone rather than via a faceless online form) were refreshing, and after 25 years running a B&B she clearly evokes as much delight seeing her guests leave fulfilled as she did when starting off. We left with a memento from her garden which we only hope will flourish in our far modest surroundings!

Nothing flash, nothing staged. Herb Cottage and Suzanne are everything a B&B should aspire to. A blueprint on how to run such an establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuno_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Sir/Mdam. I think that your very kind review surpasses any that my Mother has had to date. Thank you so very much for taking the time to send it to Trip Advisor. I/we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and trust that the plant that you have liberated from Wiltshire will enjoy the climate up in Cheshire. Very Kind Regards. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
47
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Herb Cottage following recommendation by a friend. If you like traditional English hospitality this is a marvellous place. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and interesting host. Suzanne gave us a wonderful welcome, the house is beautifully furnished and very comfortable and the location is very good for all the attractions of Bath and the surrounding area. There is a free house pub a short walk away which has real ales and good dinners in the evening. Views from the windows everwhere in the cottage, especially the guest rooms, are fabulous and everything you would expect for a rural English location. Peace and tranquillity are all around you here, mixed with warmth and comfort. For us it was a wonderful retreat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsieBabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Very kind of you to take the time to review my Mothers B&B and very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again and that you had a good holiday. I only do this as my night job as my Mother is still working on her computer skills.......still!! Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of our favourite places throughout our whole 2 months of travelling. Loved the views of the countryside including the horses and rabbits in the neighbour's field!

Suzanne is such a lovely host and nothing is ever too much trouble. She was very helpful and advised us on places to go and see while we were in the area. Our breakfasts were lovely, especially the fruit that had come from her garden.

Would definitely stay here again if we ever came back to the area.

Amanda.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-flying-pukeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi Amanda. Thanks very much for your review. Hope we see you when you come back. I'm just reading a book called Nine Lives by a guy called Al Deere. You will have heard of him no doubt as one of NZ's favourite sons. Kiwi's always welcome. Thanks again. Martin.......the computer bloke (and son who lives in Kent!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A pretty cottage in a good location with good parking. Also an excellent pub within walking distance. The Plough serves very good food. We had the double room with the skylight overlooking the fields and beyond. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the shower and toilet very clean. Suzanne is a lovely lady only too pleased to help you with ideas of where to visit. We enjoyed our breakfast chats during our 6 night stay! Bob asks how are you getting on with the computer?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Gill. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review for my mothers B&B. Most kind and please tell Bob that her computer skills have not improved much hence this reply from her son. Obviously the lack of IT skills are balanced by her super B&B capabilities. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

From our first contact with Suzanne to the final goodbye, this was by far the best time we have had in our 6 trips to the UK, using B&Bs on each one. The cottage sits in a very quiet village with lovely garden and overlooks pastures and rolling hills as far as the eye can see from the balcony of the king suite. Her breakfasts are substantial and catered to each guest's preferences (be sure to try some of the house-made jams and marmelades), and she is ready with guidance for day trips, loaning out her well-marked maps with sites and routes pre-highlighted. A short walk down the lane takes you to The Plough, a true local pub with good food and a warm welcome to visitors and locals alike. Although the weather was not the best, we were always warm and cozy. I hope to able to return one day.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms--the king suite with ensuite shower has the better view, but is a bit smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for writing your kind reveiw of my Mothers splendid B&B. You will probably have gathered that she doesn't enjoy her computer very much so I try to respond to the compliments that she invariably gets for her hospitality. Thanks again. Martin Wise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The owner (Suzanne) was lovely, giving us a very friendly welcome to start our stay. We were shown to our room, which overlooked an open field with adjacement paddock with horses in it. The room was very comfortable, with a great king sized bed, windows to double door balconette and an ensuite bathroom. All facilities were clean and tidy, with nice decor - clean and modern. The breakfast was very tasty with nice touches to make the stay extra special. For example, breakfast marmalade and jams made from the fruit picked from her own garden. Suzanne was kind enough to be very flexible on our arrival and departure times and courteous to our needs at all times. Can't recommend highly enough, the whole stay was brilliant.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, ours was the one facing the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments for my Mothers B&B. Very glad that you enjoyed it more than my Mother enjoys her computer hence my response as her son. Many thanks. Martin Wise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Found this lovely cottage when looking for overnight accommodation for a family wedding. Really cute, lovely bedroom and delicious breakfast, well looked after by a gracious host, Suzanne Wise. The Cobwebs just added to the character of the place! Thank-you, we will be back, I'm sure.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms - I a lovely double 6ft bed and the other a nice family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supercook8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind reveiw of my Mothers splendid B&B. Trust you had a good family wedding and I'm sorry for the slight delay in my reply. Many thanks again. Martin Wise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
525 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
431 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
463 reviews
1.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herb Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herb Cottage

Property: Herb Cottage
Address: 99 Bradford Liegh | Wiltshire, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: Double Room £90, Twin Room £90, Single Occupancy £55 a night. Discounts available for extended stays, three nights or more. Situated off the beaten track just 1.8 miles from the historic town of Bradford on Avon and 8.6 miles from the World Heritage City of Bath, Herb Cottage is an 18th century converted farm house offering a homely B&B. Tucked away in tranquil surroundings, this charming cottage offers one double and one twin room both with en-suite showers and one with bath. You will find beautiful rural views, a large well-maintained organic herb garden with interesting sculptures and the welcoming hospitality of Suzanne Wise. The accommodation offers: Colour TV in both rooms, Wi-Fi throughout, Hairdryers in both rooms, Tea and coffee-making, Ironing facilities, Ample on-site parking and a welcome to children of all ages. Delicious breakfast and catering for most dietary requirements. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing