We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRANQUIL SETTING AND A GREAT HOSTESS”
Review of Herb Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Herb Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We found this B & B purely by chance via the internet and are very pleased we did so. It's perfectly located, right in the heart of the Wiltshire countryside, down a bumpy and tucked out of the way narrow lane about 2 miles up the hill from Bradford on Avon. We stayed in the double room for 2 nights, leaving this morning. Suzanne is just a delight. Everything is very laid back and relaxed at Herb Cottage. The bed was comfortable, the room had a lovely view via the balcony doors of the rabbits and birds in the field and Suzanne's hospitality is just perfect. Her breakfasts were delicious, especially the home made compote and the coffee! We will most definitely return when next in the area. A decently priced, homely B & B without the frills of a hotel, but with the personal touch provided by a lovely hostess. We recommend The Plough (less than 10 mins walk from the cottage) for a good lunch or evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HEFTIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Hefties. Thank you very much for your review of my mothers B&B. I've somehow ended up being her PR person as she doesn't like (who does), computers. Very glad that you had a good visit and a trip to the Plough, from memory took 5 minutes going and only 10 coming back! Kind Regards Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were thrilled to find this B&B just outside Bradford-on-Avon. It is a beautiful home in a beautiful part of the country, quiet, with lovely gardens and a friendly hostess. With luck, we'll get there again some day.

Room Tip: Only two rooms! One has twin beds, the other a king. Both are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear SM. Many thanks for your kind review of my mothers B&B. She doesn't do computers and I normally respond. Suzanne sends her best wishes and hopes to see you again also. Thanks again. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Fate brought me to this delightful cottage set back from the road and approached by a winding path through a flourishing garden. Thriving pot plants adorn the dining room where a hearty breakfast was served with home-made jam. The cottage is tastefully decorated with comfortable stylish rooms. Suzanne Wise is a warm hostess who made me most welcome and seems to thoroughly enjoy meeting the variety of people that pass through her home on their travels. She did far more than provide bed and breakfast giving me information about the local area and drawing up directions for my onward journey. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Peter. Thanks very much for taking your time to write your kind review for my Mother who still doesn't like computers! She sends her best regards and hopes that you enjoyed your omward trip as much as you enjoyed her B&B. Kind regards. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Herb Cottage delivered on all counts - Historic country cottage set in beautiful peaceful surroundings on the outskirts of town. Suzanne was so very hospitable and extremely knowledgeable and helpful with touring and sightseeing suggestions. Nothing seemed to be to much bother. The breakfast room was delightful with a beautiful outlook to the garden. The breakfast was superb and we took our evening meals at the local pub within easy walking distance of the cottage. We occupied the twin room which was tastefully furnished and very spacious as was the bathroom with twin hand-basins, big bath and shower overhead. I enjoyed the tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a selection of teas. Personally I preferred this room and its decor. I would recommend anyone to stay here and plan to return.

Room Tip: There was a double room overlooking the beautiful countryside with a small yet adequate bathroom. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Kaye. Thanks very much for your speedy and splendid review of my (not very computer happy), Mother's B&B. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay and she sends her best regards and looks forward to seeing you again. Bye for now from her son Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Enchanted Cottage is the tittle of a charming old black and white movie. It also describes this B&B. We were a foursome of mature travellers that wanted a place from which we could explore the Mendips, Cotswolds and visit The Roman Baths, Stonehenge and Glastonbury. We could not have picked a better spot to do all of this, with a bonus.
Our hostess Suzanne was a delight as was her beautiful cottage and rooms. We were treated like respected guests in her cozy home.

Room Tip: There are just two rooms. Just pick one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paladin3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Paladin. Very many thanks for your kind review of my Mothers B&B. I do hope you managed to see all that you wanted to during your very comprehensive trip to the South West. Suzanne sends her best regards and hopes that you'll find time to re-visit her. Many thanks. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We two were recommended this lovely English cottage b&b by the Bradford on Avon Visitors' Centre. Suzanne proved to be a wonderful host, friendly and very knowledgeable about the local attractions. She made us feel like special guests. And our room (the twin - not the double) was warm and comfortable and roomy. Our bathroom was large with his and hers basins and a good shower over the bath - better than so many tiny separate showers.
Suzanne's breakfasts were delicious, including the home-made fruit compote. Good coffee! Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Mike. Thank you very much for taking the time to reveiw my mothers B&B. Very glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully Suzanne will see you again. She's not very happy with computers hence my response but she sends her best regards. All the best. Martin Wise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Sometimes the graciousness of host and tranquility of setting combine to provide a short break that remains long in the memory. In Suzanne and Herb Cottage we found just that. I cannot sing the praises of Suzanne's hospitality enough. From our warm welcome on a frosty Friday evening to morning chats over her fine ginger marmalade Suzanne provided a masterclass in balancing an open house with the right degree of privacy. The location is ideal, with Herb Cottage tucked away within two miles from Bradford on Avon. Bradford itself is charming and Bath is barely ten minutes away by train.

The passion Suzanne has for her picture perfect garden is palpable, and we had the fortune to sample the apple and blackcurrant compote alongside a cooked breakfast that set us up on both days. However it was Suzanne's genuine pleasure in hosting and making us feel at ease that was most remarkable. Her belief in traditional values (such as discussing your stay in advance over the phone rather than via a faceless online form) were refreshing, and after 25 years running a B&B she clearly evokes as much delight seeing her guests leave fulfilled as she did when starting off. We left with a memento from her garden which we only hope will flourish in our far modest surroundings!

Nothing flash, nothing staged. Herb Cottage and Suzanne are everything a B&B should aspire to. A blueprint on how to run such an establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno_Rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tazdevil4, Public Relations Manager at Herb Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Sir/Mdam. I think that your very kind review surpasses any that my Mother has had to date. Thank you so very much for taking the time to send it to Trip Advisor. I/we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and trust that the plant that you have liberated from Wiltshire will enjoy the climate up in Cheshire. Very Kind Regards. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
469 reviews
2.1 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herb Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herb Cottage

Address: 99 Bradford Liegh | Wiltshire, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: Double Room £90, Twin Room £90, Single Occupancy £55 a night. Discounts available for extended stays, three nights or more. Situated off the beaten track just 1.8 miles from the historic town of Bradford on Avon and 8.6 miles from the World Heritage City of Bath, Herb Cottage is an 18th century converted farm house offering a homely B&B. Tucked away in tranquil surroundings, this charming cottage offers one double and one twin room both with en-suite showers and one with bath. You will find beautiful rural views, a large well-maintained organic herb garden with interesting sculptures and the welcoming hospitality of Suzanne Wise. The accommodation offers: Colour TV in both rooms, Wi-Fi throughout, Hairdryers in both rooms, Tea and coffee-making, Ironing facilities, Ample on-site parking and a welcome to children of all ages. Delicious breakfast and catering for most dietary requirements. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing