We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Barge Inn
Falmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here prior to a wedding and thought it was a great spot and fantastic value. Our room was small but with a really comfortable bed, posh tea and coffee facilities and a nice bathroom (although the shower wasn't great). We also had a lovely view of the canal. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was probably the best we've ever had in a B&B. Great coffee, a slate piled high with fresh pastries, fruit and yogurt...followed by delicious cooked breakfasts (the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was lovely and the quality of ingredients in the full English was really high). Overall a great value, central B&B with the bonus of also being a pub!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    55
    17
    12
    17
See reviews for
56
92
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having visited this restaurant with friends during the summer when we were very well looked after, I stopped here for lunch with the family. The staff were helpful and welcoming, and the bar/restaurant was clean and bright. Our food was tasty, nicely presented and plentiful, and there were clearly a number of regular diners who seemed to be equally enjoying their lunches. Prices were reasonable and there's plenty of parking, which can be a bit of a premium in B-O-A.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here on several occasions on business lovely rooms great breakfast also lovely home cooked food available , country rural atmosphere with open log fires and great drinks menu lots of parking spaces and a large beer garden staff very friendly

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmpricess06
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stopped at The Barge for an evening meal.
On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The service was very quick and professional, the food was reasonably priced, with very generous portions. We both enjoyed our meal. Will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nmprincess06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Was surprised to see some of the negative comments about this great place. We stayed in the pub and also ate there and couldn't fault it. Lovely room with good decor. Great breakfasts and very friendly staff. The location on the canal is a wonderful place to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stumbled accross this pub whilst looking for another, and was delighted we did! The views of the canal round the back were lovely and there was plenty of in door and out door seating- staff were very accommodating as we flitted between the 2 when ordering food. Prompt service and a very tasty dinner with generous portions. Would recommend to anyone staying in the Bradford on Avon area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyBoop1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the barge for the first time and was much better than I anticipated. The Tithe room was lovely and spacious, very well presented too. Dinner was well cooked and great value and the staff took great care of us. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
0.4 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#10 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Property: The Barge Inn
Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing