We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of The Barge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Barge Inn
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Tithe room is lovely and very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fantastic, the breakfast board was lovely with fresh strawberries and pastries was a novelty and very nice, the full english was very well cooked... we will definitely come back. Only disappointment was they ran out of the beer we wanted to try because they were so busy, we decided to go elsewhere to eat in the evening because of the number of people in the bar. Special mention for the lovely lady who served us breakfast who we believe is also the housekeeper

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Really liked this pub. Friendly pub and nice atmosphere. Lovely big garden outside. Food lovely. Nice menu choice. We had meatballs, tuna fishcakes, prawn salad. The cider was delicious. Would definitely visit again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Alyson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very clean comfortable spacious room kingsize bed good en-suite shower (Tithe). Quiet despite being above the pub. Breakfast (By Beverley) was brilliant loads of fresh fruit/full Eng superb. Recomend+

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandCW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have just stayed here with two other couples, and we had the three King-sized rooms, Tithe, Moorings and Lock, which were all very nice, comfortable, and well equipped. Breakfast was about the best ever in a B&B, (or anywhere come to that!) with an excellent selection of fresh fruit, (incl. strawberries and blueberries) cereals, yogurt and juices on our table. Danish pastries and croissants fresh from the oven were also a nice touch, and we just about had room for the full english breakfast, or american pancakes, or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! Our friendly waitress kept us topped up with tea, coffee, and fresh toast, and a pot of green tea for me.
We ate here on both evenings, and the food was very good, and the sharing boards could really have been enough for one between two as a meal, but we were on holiday, so over-indulged with a main course too!
Bradford on Avon is a very nice town, with a diverse range of pubs to suit all tastes. The Dandy Lion is good for those wanting a coffee.
The railway station is a pleasant walk of about 10 minutes from the Barge Inn, either along the main street or take the tow-path down by the Lock Inn then after about 100 yds go down the steps in the direction of the Tithe Barn. (A few nice little gift shops here, as well as a magnificent buidling to look at.) Carry on past the Tithe Barn, towards the river, under the railway bridge, then take the path to your right which will bring you to the end of the station car-park. It's about 3 stops to Bath, although the train we got back was faster and took just 11 minutes. The off-peak fare is £5.50 return. You can also get train to many other places, including Weymouth. We enjoyed our day in Bath very much, and had a bite to eat in the Coeur de Lion, Bath's smallest pub, which was a very pleasant, no frills, lunch.

Room Tip: We had the 3 King rooms. Tithe and Moorings are at the front of the building, although we were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Very welcoming inn who catered for a large 40th birthday celebration. facilities and food were good. Our overnight large room was clean, with large comfortable bed. Bathroom was of high standard with lovely shower.Overall, furniture and fittings were of a good quality and staff very helpful, who catered well on a very sunny day right next to the Avon and Kennet canal. Parking was limited due to popularity. We were very well catered for and would certainly recommend it.,
Sue and Gary W

Room Tip: Tythe room was large and free of noise apart from rubbish collection 0815hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Arriving at 2:30 on a Sunday we were looking forward to a light lunch sitting in the bar or, as it was an amazingly beautiful sunny & warm Sunday after the past few weeks, a table in the garden. Plenty of tables to choose from both inside and out, which was a bit of a surprise & we soon found out why. We ordered drinks at the bar to be told that no orders for food would be taken for 45 minutes as a table of 25 needed to be served their main courses first. Presumably these were not a walk-in & had booked in advance. Tried to order a cold platter after 45 minutes & asked to wait another 10 minutes as the kitchen were unable to accept orders, waited for 10 minutes only to be told exactly the same....so after another 10 minutes tried to order again but again told it would be another 10 minutes. We finished our bottle of wine and left - we were not the only ones!! If a booking of 25 is accepted arrangements need to be made to cater for this. The queue for drinks at the bar grew considerably, hardly surprising as only 2 bar staff who were working for both the bar, garden AND restaurant. Having spent many happy Sundays here we will not be returning, there are some good pubs and eateries in BoA with excellent menus & wine who put the customer first. So disappointed as we really felt The Barge had turned a corner in recent times.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We came across this place by accident whilst looking for a pie and pint at lunchtime and ended up coming back to stay the night. Stayed in the "Lock" room which is large and very comfortable with a good shower and facilities. Much better bed than the travelodge we stayed in the night before. Interesting old building built in 1800s, but warm, clean and comfortable. Very nice evening meal with bottle of wine (that was reasonably priced), and as someone else commented, damn near excellent breakfast, after which you won't be wanting a lunch! Plenty of free parking and friendly staff. More expensive than we usually pay, but worth it. Next to the canal which is worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#12 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barge Inn

Address: 17 Frome Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Barge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barge Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing