We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cafe”

Merkins' Farm Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merkins' Farm Cottages
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab cafe”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We regularly bring the kids here for lunch or a cooked breakfast. Although the prices have gone up a little, the food remains very good with excellent service (always with a smile!). Our kids were particularly excited to find a little kids trivia quiz on the table at our last visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Browncowcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent three nights in Puddings Barn, a cosy barn conversion for two. It was warm and comfortable in this bitter spring ; beautifully clean and well appointed, the odd quirky features in the decor add to the experience. When I looked at the guest book I was surprised to see it had been in use since 2007 as everything seemed much newer. Lots of nice touches like Fox's chocolate biscuits as well as tea, coffee and milk ; games, puzzle books, etc. Everything worked as it should.

You can have breakfast delivered from the excellent cafe but we opted to go to the cafe when we were ready. The cafe was bustling and the food superb even though there were only two caravans on the campsite. It is off the main road so can't get passing trade, so locals must make a point of coming here.

The cottages have a separate entrance and parking area from the campsite. Free WiFi, digital TV, a quiet setting and good views. A highly professional family operation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at Merkins last year and had a wonderful time, such a great campsite and the cafe is just perfect so clean and cakes so delicious and there is always a friendly face. I havent stayed again since our last stay but I did look to book for this year and noticed the awful review they have had from a previous review. The camp site is just perfect and the outlook from the cafe couldnt be better please ignore this review and just go to Merkins as you wont get any better campsite and the food is delicious. We will be back again in the summer

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodpeckers1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We only live 5 miles from Merkins Farm but until recently had never been there. A friend recommended the cafe so we thought we'd try it out.
It's in a lovely setting with windows overlooking fields of sheep.... A log fire makes it very cosy!
The home cooked food is very good, with the all day breakfast a delight!!
Now we have found this place....we will certainly be making regular visits!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozieSue282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Superb lunch
Out of the way. But taken by “locals”. Can highly recommend the café. You can park right outside on level ground, we had a person on two walking sticks who managed easily. Good menu with locally sourced produce lovely service, great food. Will be going back when next visiting and hope to find a vacant table. Enjoyed very much

Room Tip: Cafe only rated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukoneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We have visited this camp site quite a few times and have always found it to be immaculate. A very well cared for site and the owners could not be more kind and helpful. The food served in the cafe is superb and very reasonable, we have recommended this site to all our friends and we shall be visiting again soon. We have to say that a previous review giving such a bad report we find to be unbelievable, don,t think they could be staying on the same site. Please ignore!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay in September at Merkins Farm. Apart from the wonderful views and tranquility of the surrounding countryside, good shower and toilet facilities and very welcoming hosts in Jon and Hayley,we took full advantage of the superb cafe situated at the top of the site. Only using local produce, the food is delicous and the decor in the cafe must be seen! Its a fantastic place to stay for sightseeing many places of interest within the local area with Bath only a few miles down the road. We will be returning to Merkins Farm next year for another wondeful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
511 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Guest House
Serendipity Guest House
#14 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merkins' Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merkins' Farm Cottages

Property: Merkins' Farm Cottages
Address: Bradford Leigh, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Class:4 star — Merkins' Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing