We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sam”
Review of Midway Place

Midway Place
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midway Place
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sam”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Personal service in a clean and comfortable environment. Lovely, powerful shower.
Can get a bit noisy as rooms are close together
Parking available next door at the pub, with lovely staff and food also.
Not too close to town but has access to woods and other facilities.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank samantha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I booked Midway Place purely through reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and I wasn't disappointed! This was a last minute visit to Bath with two friends and we booked a room which slept three for 2 nights. The rate was very reasonable and included a delicious cooked or continental breakfast - the granola was delicious and Alice even printed the recipe for me. Brett emailed me prior to the visit and was extremely helpful in regards to getting around Bath and Bradford - on-Avon. Our room was very clean with a modern shower room (the shower was a blast!) and Alice even let us use a room next door to shower as three women trying to get ready can be a bit of a nightmare!
Brett's hand drawn maps were very helpful in navigating our way around and we enjoyed a long walk one morning to the Pepper Pot (which we eventually found).
Brett and Alice couldn't have been more helpful and attentive if they tried and I would definitely recommend Midway Place to other travellers. Their knowledge of the local area made our stay and we crammed in so much in two days that we need another break!
Thank you guys (oh and I made the granola and bought the maple syrup from Lidl!!) for making our stay a pleasant one. We would have no hesitation in recommending your lovely B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I chose to book this B&B as part of a surprise weekend away for my husbands birthday. I was originally looking to stay in Bath but the only things available at short notice were ridiculously expensive.

I booked Midway based on the reasonable room prices and the excellent reviews, and I am so pleased that I did. Brett and Alice are so friendly - Alice was really helpful beforehand in researching buses into town for our evening out, and then helped us to get to the relevant bus stop when we went out.

The room and bathroom were an excellent standard - nicely modern and big enough, and very clean. We had a nice view out over the back garden. There is a pub next door, although we didn't use it, if we ever came back its good to know that a meal out/drinks is on the doorstep!

Breakfast was delicious (cooked - excellent sausages and bacon! - and cereals etc available) , and more than enough available with Alice always checking that everyone was ok and had enough tea/coffee/toast etc.

If we come back to Bath - which I hope we do as we loved the area - then we will definitely look at staying here again!

Thanks Alice and Brett!

Room Tip: We had room 3, which overlooked the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damonseyes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Rare to find a B&B that will take you for just one night in such a popular tourist spot. Very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Breakfast was cooked exactly as I asked. Have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Mine was at the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport>south wales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in we were made to feel comfortable and welcome by Brett and Alice. Staying during the 'Great Storm' we were pleasantly surprised not to hear it in our delightful room overlooking the garden and open countryside. Clean, comfortable rooms and a well cooked breakfast, Midway House is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mog_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely find next to a decent pub so you don't have to leave to eat. Very welcoming to cyclists. Only stayed one night as was just passing through but everything was easy and efficient. Room small but neat and tidy and a proper shower in the en-suite. Had continental breakfast with plenty of fresh tea and toast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

myself and partner have just returned from staying 2 nights at this lovely guest house sat 28th september and sunday 28th september. alice and brett the hosts are a lovely couple. made us very welcome. we were put in bedroom 3 at the back of guest house. lovely and quiet. coffee making facilities. room spotless and very modern. we parked our car next door in pub car park which is free. breakfast surperb, lots of choice. we had a meal on sunday night in the pub next door. again couldnt fault this place. location is very good for travelling into bradford upon avon and bath. lots to see very historic. so just to say thank you alice and brett for lovely relaxing weekend. this is a little gem.

Room Tip: if you want a really quiet room 3 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shareen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
2.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Ashley Farm B&B
Great Ashley Farm B&B
#10 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Place

Property: Midway Place
Address: 10 Farleigh Wick, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Class:4 star — Midway Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway Place is ideally situated 5 miles from Bath City Centre and 2 miles from Bradford on Avon. Free parking is available next door in The Fox & Hounds Country Inn which serves excellent homemade food. Midway Place has 6 rooms all with beautifully tiled ensuite facilities and a very high level of housekeeping is maintained. All rooms have free wi-fi access, tea and coffee facilities. new tv's, countryside views and central heating throughout. There is a contemporary new breakfast room/lounge with a variety of seating areas.Once you have arrived at Midway Place, I am only too pleased to help you with local knowledge and trip planning etc and have helpful maps for parking in Bath and tips of what to see an do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Midway Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing