We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would want a B&B to be”
Review of Midway Place

Midway Place
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midway Place
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were visiting Bath to see an exhibition on Thursday and then to Bristol on Friday. This was an excellent spot to stay the night. All is clean and fresh, Bathroom good and effective shower. Brett and Alice were very friendly and helpful. A well cooked full English breakfast. We would certainly stay there again.

We also ate at the Fox and Hounds nest door to Midway Place, very good value for money, well cooked tasty food.

Room Tip: A room at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ACKER49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and my brother was visiting Bath on the weekend of July 26th to attend our friends Wedding. I had trouble finding a place to stay in the Centre of town and so decided to book our stay at Midway Place which is located about 5 miles outside Bath City Centre.

Firstly....Alice and her Husband who own Midway Place could not be anymore welcoming or helpful. Absolutely lovely people.

Myself and my brother shared a double room for the 2 nights which was very clean and tidy. The shower room was very modern and the shower itself was very powerfull. Just what we needed on a sticky Summers weekend.

Breakfast was included with each night. We both had a full English which was delightful. Along with Fresh Coffee, Orange Juice, Fresh Fruit and a choice of Cereals. All in all a great way to start the day.

Located right next door is The Fox & Hounds Pub. Very Picturesque setting and again a great menu to. (We did not eat in there, however what other customers were enjoying looked very appetising). You may also Park your car in the Pub Carpark for your stay at the B&B.

I cannot recommend Midway Place enough. You will have to stay there for yourself to appreciate the fine hospitality.

Will definately be returning in the future with my Girlfriend :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a small clean room with a new elegant tiled bathroom and an excellent shower. Not much drawer and closet space. Road noise was reduced by double windows and a curtain. We still needed earplugs to sleep as we did at 5 of the 7 inns we stayed in in England. Comfortable bed. Full English breakfast included. Friendly, newly-wed hosts had excellent advice for visiting Bath and Bradford on Avon. Good location 5 minutes from Bath (and also 5 minutes from Bradford on Avon-hence Midway) with easy free parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 564Bert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for a night, and were very impressed. It's 5 minutes from Bath. The rooms are newly decorated and clean and well kept. Brett and Alice were very helpful and clearly take pride in giving a good service. We ate at the Fox and Hounds in the evening, which had a good range of food.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at Midway Place for a week and it was great. Room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast had everything you might wish and having Fox&Hounds pub just next door allows you not to move far looking for a place for dinner. Brett and Alice are amazing people, they helped us with everything, including laundry! Thank you, guys. Definitively recommendable

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elfi4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for one night - family of three - and we liked it very much. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom very modern. As with most place in the U.K., no air conditioning, but normally in England, not a problem, perhaps? We slept with the window open to let air in but the traffic outside made it a bit noisy. Breakfast was very nice. Fox and Hound Restaurant next door is terrific, and a very nice benefit since you're a bit outside of the town.

Room Tip: Might want a room in the back to keep the noise level from the road down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YpsiJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I booked a 2-day stay at Midway Place on the back of some great reviews I had seen on Tripadvisor. The small, contemporary B&B is located adjacent to the Fox & Hounds pub some 4 miles from Bath city centre. I have to say both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, in what was an extremely clean and comfortable room.

The guys running the place [Alice and Brett] were only too helpful - and even gave us a shuttle to the bus stop down the road. Breakfast was great - and I am only to happy to leave some praise [where due].

I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The road the B&B is on would not suit walking along [no pathway], but there is a bus stop at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornish_Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
4.9 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
4.9 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
102 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#5 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
466 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
3.7 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Place

Address: 10 Farleigh Wick, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Hotel Class:4 star — Midway Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway Place is ideally situated 5 miles from Bath City Centre and 2 miles from Bradford on Avon. Free parking is available next door in The Fox & Hounds Country Inn which serves excellent homemade food. Midway Place has 6 rooms all with beautifully tiled ensuite facilities and a very high level of housekeeping is maintained. All rooms have free wi-fi access, tea and coffee facilities. new tv's, countryside views and central heating throughout. There is a contemporary new breakfast room/lounge with a variety of seating areas.Once you have arrived at Midway Place, I am only too pleased to help you with local knowledge and trip planning etc and have helpful maps for parking in Bath and tips of what to see an do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Midway Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing