We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bristol
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“What a lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

For Valentines Day we thought we would try somewhere completely different and looked at the restaurant section of Tripadvisor for inspiration. This pub had lovely reviews so we booked. Upon our arrival we were given a complimentary glass of champagne, a beautiful red Rose and a table next to a roaring log fire. The host was absolutely charming and we were treated to an evening of good quality but very reasonably priced food. The atmosphere was lovely with candlelit tables and fresh flowers and unobtrusive but attentive service. Overall this pub is a lovely find and we will most definitely return and would highly recommend to all. Thank you to our host, we had a perfect evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carrotcrunchers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    32
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional pub, great food and a calm relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I came here for lunch with my family and none us had a bad word to say about it, the food was superb and there was a great choice to pick from.
Only negative things that come to mind are it seems like its not the ideal for younger kids,
Also I have driven past it a few times in the evening and it's been shut (on a friday night ) !?

Definitely worth a visit

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Humandustbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My "local" when in Bath. Very nice. Plenty of room to sit, stretch, and enjoy nice beers with dinner.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarlosNVelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“English pub at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Traditional old world pub with great food and a tranquil atmosphere. warm, inviting and lush

Helpful?
1 Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
old english traveller
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love the Fox and Hounds!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I run a B&B and send alot of my guests there - the food is consistently good (not pub grub BUT not fine dining either) A great ambience and really friendly, quiet landlord! Open fire, flag stone floors, and big pine tables..... Watch out for the Pork Roast, it's enormous with crackling to die for!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sorrel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing