We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best family break hotel in the UK.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Still the best family break hotel in the UK.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

We have been visiting Woolley Grange for years because of the fantastic, friendly, young child care facilities, excellent menu and wine list.Having lived abroad for the past four years and now our children are teenagers we weren't sure they would still be kept entertained. No worries! The indoor pool, sauna, spa and teenager games room meant we were still able to relax in front of an open real log fire or take a leisurely walk into close by Bradford on Avon, secure in the knowledge our children were still safe to have a great time even though in a wet winter the outdoor games were not an option.

Room Tip: All rooms are different so be clear about what you want when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear daddydoodles

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you had such a great time and hope to welcome you back when you are next in the country.

Warm wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    105
    51
    19
    10
See reviews for
268
61
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Just stayed for the New Year with a family group and it was wonderful as ever. Our kids are now teenagers but we have been going here since they were babies because of the staff and the fantastic environment. Where else you you stay in a beautiful, authentic Jacobean manor and yet have marvellous childcare and spa facilities in the background? Clare,Jane, Joan and all the other staff can never do too much to make one's stay more comfortable. It's great to see the programme of re-furbished rooms and all the investment which continues to go on, to improve the experience every time.

Room Tip: Main house in the winter. 'Grooms' is my favourite room in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear RichmondFalmouth

Thank you very much for your review. It was wonderful to welcome you back to Woolley joining our New Year celebrations; especially to see how much your chidlren have grown up! All the best for 2013 and hope you see you all again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Just had a 48 hour break… it was great! Not cheap we spent £600 per day. Couple, 2 kids and one baby. The staff could not have been more helpful. We stayed until 4pm after checking out and used all the faculties. If you want to have someone make and clear up all food and someone else to look after the kids whilst you have a hot cup of tea this is the place for you. We stayed in rooms not in the min building that have recently been refurbished and they were great. Away from the main hotel which we liked as it was quiet. We even had two doors so didn't disturb the kids when we went out for a meal. We thought kids food was good quality home cooked food that kids like and adults approve of I.e veg was always on the plate!

Room Tip: Chapman has two doors so you don't wake kids up when you go out for a meal and can park car righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Jenny W

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. We are always really happy to talk through room options and layouts which work for individual family requirements.

Happy New Year!

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was my second visit (I came last year). This time I came for four nights with my sister and her two boys aged 6 & 7 and with my son aged 6. The plan was for my sister and I to have some quality time in the spa whilst the children played in the club. Unfortunately just a few days before we arrived there had been local flooding which had impacted the heated indoor pool and spa...we thought this would be a disaster but fortunately the weather played its part and the boys loved the out door pool. There are great facilities for a range of games ( football, tennis, trampoline etc) and the boys were able to run freely. Food was great and service fine in the restaurant but service in the lounge was very hit and miss, which is a pity as afternoon teas were special.
Our room were a large family suite with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, which was spacious and decor was traditional.
Only concern was that some staff were not as careful keeping a safe speed when driving on site. We managed to get some spa treatments before we left which were good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curvy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Curvy_Traveller

Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed our beautifully positioned out door pool which we open from May to September each year. I am pleased to say we have completed the necessary work to ensure the indoor pool in the spa is not affected by localised flooding, which we experienced when you stayed in August
.
We have also got a new Restaurant Manager who started at the beginning of December and he is working on ensuring the standard of service is consistent throughout the day and throughout the restaurant and lounges.

We hope you can pop back and see us, especially to make use of our indoor pool.

Warm wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We just got back from 4 days at Woolley over New Year and couldn't recommend it enough to families with young children. We went with our 18month old and 5 month old on a last minute 4 night break and loved every minute.

The rooms were gorgeous, we stayed in both the main house and in the rooms behind the Hen House and I can't understand the criticisms of the rooms outside the main house. The staff were super friendly and attentive, the food great, the childcare amazing and the spa and pool fabulous.

My only minor criticisms are that I think they need to update the decor of the main dining room in line with all the other renovations and I also think that the children's food is not as good as the adults. To be fair my daughter had no complaints, but I think they should do a better job on this in particular given they are a family hotel. With those in mind, I still give it four stays and if it wasn't for the fact that we live in San Francisco I would be dashing back as soon as we could.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickyOnvural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear MickyOnvural

Thank you very much for your feedback and delighted you had a great stay. We are constantly looking at ways we can improve what we offer and we will review the children's menu options.

I will chat with our interior designer about the main dining room to see if there are any tweaks we can make. We are trying to have a clear difference in atmosphere between the more traditional dining room and the newly refurbished Orangery, where families dine.

Hope you had a safe journey back to San Francisco and hope to be able to welcome you back when you are next in the UK.

Warm wishes
Clare and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had a 3 night stay with our 3 year old daughter and cannot compliment them enough. Great service with a smile, fantastic food, flexibility and fun. We would go again and having been to some of the other hotels in the group, found this to be the most intimate and friendly

Room Tip: we stayed in magnolia
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Robert B

It was a great pleasure to look after your family during the recent festive period. So pleased you liked Magnolia; it is a very pretty suite.

Hope to be able to welcmone you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Dear potential Christmas breakers at Woolley. If you want an international, toffee-nosed, snooty Trump type experience, DON'T COME HERE. The Woolley Grange ( re-owned by its original owner and no longer part of the von Essen group) is a delightful, English country-house type hotel, which will give you something apparently very rare, namely a relaxing Christmas. The staff are efficient, endlessly helpful, and clearly genuinely enjoy your presence with them. I thought the cuisine very good, our double bedrooms (teenage daughter next door) and bathrooms excellent, and the general experience was ace. Tell me the cost of a relaxing Christmas where you can sink into the welcoming arms of the staff and are looked after. Priceless.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Sarah T

Thank you for your lovely words following your stay at Woolley for Christmas. It was great to have you at our house party once again and I am delighted to hear you are re-booking again for Christmas 2013.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Clare and the Woolley team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Property: Woolley Grange
Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing