We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hotel”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great friendly hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have stayed for a couple of nights recently for the third or fourth time on business.
Have to say amazingly pleasant hotel with lovely rooms and excellent friendly staff both on reception and serving food/drinks
Food is really nice too in the restaurant washed down with some local Bath Ales. Some excellent areas to just sit and chill out to unwind.
There is free wifi in the hotel however it seems to block the VPN used by my company so made it difficult to work in the evening (was however a welcome excuse!)

The only issue I encountered was one night i stayed there there was not a stand up shower but one that involved crouching in the bath.

Room Tip: Napolean Boneapart was an excellent room with separate bathroom and brilliant shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodmunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Munkey83

It is great to hear we are getting things right for guests staying for business as well as for leisure. We provide a real home from home atmosphere and hope that is relaxing and cosy when away from your own family and friends.

I hope business keeps you visiting more often!

Warm wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    112
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
281
71
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you are looking for the perfect place in which to enjoy a family break - whether a week or a weekend - and whether your family is just your Wife and you - your Wife, two children and you, or (as in our case) your Wife, 2 children, two in-laws, two young Grandchildren and two dogs, this is the perfect choice. Comfort, atmosphere, wide range of activities, two swimming pools (one indoors, one outdoors), nearby tourist attractions, children's play areas, wonderfully friendly staff, extensive and indulgent Spa facilities, lovely rooms and outstanding food - all were there in abundance. I really couldn't recommend this lovely hotel too warmly - well worth the 250 mile drive!!
John Eaton

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCJEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Mr Eaton

It was a great pleasure to welcome your family for your celebration weekend at Woolley and I am so pleased you enjoyed all our facilities. Even the sun played it's part which was a bonus!

Hope we can welcome you back for the next celebration!

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursford Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Always concerned about 'special offer breaks' which never seem to be quite what they say. No worries at Woolley Grange. We booked a three night mid-week break which included a room upgrade. On arrival we were offered a choice of two rooms. The one we chose (Francis Randolph) overlooked the gardens, had two proper armchairs and one of the most comfortable beds ever slept in (and I am fussy about beds), a lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean with quality toiletries and fluffy towels and robes.
All the staff without exception were warm, friendly and efficient; competently led by Clare whose easy going style is perfect for the house. Nothing starchy here. 'First Mate' Monty the spaniel was clearly there to be chief distraction with little ones following him about like the Pied Piper. A very well behaved and adorable dog. We saw no evidence of 'dog poo' anywhere as mentioned in some reports. The gardens were lovely to stroll in.
We did not have children with us (did that years ago!)but were not in the least disturbed by those there. This is such a relaxing place for children that they are having too much fun to be a nuisance so don't be put off if you are travelling as a twosome.
Separate dining areas for families was a good idea and there was loads of space to just relax with a glass or three. Food was excellent, well presented and whilst not a huge menu, was perfect for a short stay. We were able to choose from the complete menu on our tariff too not just certain items.
The car is not essential as the station is only a mile away and taxis cheap, so easy to sightsee around too without driving.
The Spa looked lovely but we did not use it and the outdoor pool a bonus as the weather was really warm.
All in all our stay was just the ticket and we would certainly come again. Thank you to Clare and all her helpers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonrepas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear bonrepas

I am so pleased you had an enjoyable break with us and delighted you found what we find; when children are truly welcome and catered for, they can relax and have fun and their behaviour is (generally!) great.

Lovely to know we can get the balance right for grown ups without children as well.

Thanks so much for your review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Myself, my husband, four-year old son and parents had an incredibly relaxing and fun four days at Woolley Grange. Our son was charmed by everything they have available for children - especially the play area and the trampoline. My parents also really enjoyed their stay and are already planning to come back with the dog. The food in the restaurant was lovely and we found the staff very helpful - we only had to mention we were planning a visit somewhere and they were offering maps, guidance and tips.

The house and grounds are the perfect setting, but what made our stay truly special was the warm welcome and prompt and thoughtful service from the staff. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Laura H

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Woolley and for you to explore the various nooks and crannies inside and around the grounds.

Thank you for the lovely review, particularly great for the staff to receive such appreciation for their dedicated work.

Monty is looking forward to running around with your dog next time you come and stay.
I hope they have lots of energy!

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent a few days with our children, James 3 1/2 and Ciara 2.
Were welcomed by a free upgrade to the Balcony Suite, much more room and comfort. Room was clean and nicely fitted out although the doors were a bit low for a 6ft 4" man as the bumps on my head showed. Still it is a 17th century manor house. The grounds are full of things for young children. Trampolines, playhouses, an outside swimming pool and a manic dog called Monty, a 1 year old Cocker Spaniel seen on many occasions and befriended by my children.
We ate in the Orangery and it was pretty quiet, staff could not do enough and kept the children occupied with chalkboards, and toys.
The menu was a bit limited, with just 4 main courses which could get a bit repetitive over a long period.The food was excellent,my favourite being the Gourmet Burger and also the Haddock. The children were given home made hummus and carrot sticks for starters, at no extra cost. Breakfasts were buffet style for cereals and freshly squeezed juices. Cooked Full English , Porridge or Waffles were offered. You could fill up on breakfast and not eat again till the evening in fact.
We used the creche which has a drop in service for a couple of hours and the children had a fantastic time without mum and dad whilst we pampered ourselves in the Spa for a couple of hours. The Spa has a small pool with steam room and sauna and is a nice place to unwind.
Overall we felt cared for and attended to and I would have no qualms about recommending this as a base for exploring a beautiful part of Wiltshire.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are big, but watch your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexGlobetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear SussexGlobetrekker

Thank you for your great review and the details of your stay. I hope your head has recovered...the door lintel is bearing up well !

I do hope you can return and take advantage of our midweek special offers before James and Ciara start school. The benefit is also you haven't quite as many other guests to share everything with!

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were a family group of 13 adults and 8 children, all accommodated in rooms carefully chosen for the needs of the various families and the ages of the children. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and willing to try to help with any requests we had. There was plenty to occupy the children who enjoyed all the outdoor activities, the space to run around the extensive grounds, and especially the swimming pool. Particularly appreciated by the parents was the opportunities they had for time without their offspring - evening meal times and a couple of hours provided by using the creche. They all felt so at home that one of our grand children started to call it "Granny's house!". It was a memorable weekend and a great way to celebrate a special birthday with the whole family together.

Room Tip: Book early and try to see which rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear FireflyCardiff

Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really captured some family time as well as some guilt-free grown up time.

Who's birthday is it next for a return trip to 'Granny's House'!

Very much hope to be able to welcome you back.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our 3 month old baby and its was wonderful.
The staff were every so helpful and friendly.
The grounds are beautiful, loads todo for the children.
The food in the restaurant is fantastic, and even the afternoon tea and cakes are to die for.
The spa is a perfect way to escape for an hour.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crudge666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Crudge666

Sounds like you had a blissful time and set the standard for your 3 month old's expectations for future hotels! Hopefully you got a god flavour of what we can offer as your little one grows up.

Hope to see you soon!
Warm wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
511 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
840 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
685 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Property: Woolley Grange
Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing