We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to scratch!”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a 1 night stay here. Having been to serveral of the other luxury hotels we knew what to expect, but unfortunately this hotel did not live up to expectations. There was a dirty cotton wool pad left by the bedside table when we got into our room which indicates it had not been cleaned properly. The service at the resturant was slow - the children had to wait ages for their dessert, we had to ask for menus and the food was slow coming out. Although it was not.a bad experience the problem is when you charge £300 + a night, we as guest expect excellent service. There was also no room at the den so my children were not able to go. Overall disappointing!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Louise P

Thank you very much for your review and I am so sorry to hear you were not entirely happy with your stay with us.

I would welcome the opportunity to talk with you about experience; please do call me at a convenient time to yourself.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have just returned from a 3-day break at Woolley Grange. We took a 3 and 6 year old. It is, as other reviewers have suggested, a fantastic hotel which caters brilliantly for kids. It took me a couple of hours to unwind but once I did, I was so relaxed there.

The beauty of this hotel is that you can enjoy a holiday without worrying about having to keep your kids quiet and on best behaviour. We let ours roam freely around the hotel, mostly in their socks, we didn't ask them to whisper during meal times, we didn't need to monitor them closely or keep them in check. The hotel maintains a policy of "whatever makes you happy" which means you can kick back, relax and really enjoy yourself.

The kids club is excellent. We loved Rebecca and the other girls there. The addition of a rabbit and hamster in the Den made our kids very happy. Although be careful, both like a good nibble!

The hotel has thought of everything. We were able to borrow a buggy, having forgotten ours, we were able to borrow books for the kids to read, DVDs, puzzles, colouring stuff....you name it, they had it. They even have a fruit bowl on the upstairs landing of the main building so the kids occasionally took apples to enjoy inbetween meals. They even have spare kids wellies by the back and side doors so if the kids want to pop over to the kids club/Den when its raining, they can borrow a spare pair. You can pre order 'high tea' for the kids which is served at 5.30. If you are quick, you can make it to the Cinema Room for 6/6.15pm when they put on a kids film (U) and serve delicious warm popcorn.

The food is out of the world. While the kids slept upstairs I had the best lamb and pork dinners I have ever eaten. Kudos to the chef. The food is truly brilliant.

There really are very few negatives but to name a few....
1. The changing room and pool side is very slippery. The staff do their best to mop up the excess water but both our kids slipped (no major injuries) but the Spa would do well to install some rubber mats or a runway/pathway of less slippery tiles in the centre of the changing room down to the pool edge.
2. 99% of the time the staff offer a friendly and helpful service, however the welcome on arrival was a little subdued, without smiles and quite business like. Luckily we came across the Manageress while leaving our bags behind reception who changed all of that by asking the kids their names, asking where we had arrived from and showing us to the restaurant for lunch, full of smiles, as if we were royalty.
3. We stayed in Palairet - it is a huge room over the lounge with great views and very little noise. There is more storage than we could make use of plus the addition of a dressing room (which became a mini playroom). Our kids were able to run around despite there being 4 people staying in the room. The décor is old fashioned and traditional. We didn't mind as it fits with the relaxed approach the hotel has, but if you are a stickler for all things modern and pristine, this room is not for you. Some of the drawers stick, there are missing drawer handles and some of the drawer liners need changing. The cushions are a little faded and the bathroom floor is discoloured.
Despite all that, if we return I would book the same room again. It is HUGE, it is CLEAN and as there were 5 or 6 sets of drawers in the room, we managed to put everything away and access it easily and still have room to spare! It has a huge bathroom too with 2 sinks and a good bath and shower.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairy_Cake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Fairy_Cake2014

Thank you so much for your review and delighted Woolley helped you relax and that your children could feel truly at home. We are currently investigating the best matting to put in the spa changing rooms to help avoid slips.
It was lovely to meet you and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes from Clare and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked here for my partners 40th birthday with our 7 week old baby girl. I cant put into words how good this place is. Our stay was awesome and will now be staying here twice a year if we can. Thank you to the Den Team, Kitchen Team, Waiting Team, Spa Team, Housekeeping Team, Grounds keeper just everyone there. Special thanks to Loura Suzie and Becky

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear James B

I am so pleased you enjoyed your first break away with your gorgeous new born baby! Do come and see us again soon, especially if you can make it mid week when we have special offers running.

Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon.
Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Woolley Grange this weekend with our 3 and 5 year old. It was fantastic. The staff are wonderful and the food and facilities are excellent. They really have thought of everything when it comes to a trip away with children.
The kids club was brilliant and allowed us some much needed down time to read the papers and nap. The spa was fabulous - again much needed massage.
Our room was big enough for us all to relax and not get on top of each other. The listening in service is priceless - you can leave the kids in bed whilst you have dinner and reception listen in to the room and discreetly come and get you if anything is up.
There is a giant trampoline in the beautiful grounds, 2 gorgeous wooden play houses that have been turned into mini shops! A tractor, chickens and games room for older kids.
But what really makes it so special is that you don't feel like you are in a playroom - the hotel is beautiful and a match for any swanky boutique hotel in the south west. If I had to be picky Id say it could do with a wee lick of paint and that's it. Go go go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Tiffany R

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and it sounds like to experienced a lot of what Woolley has to offer.

Hope to see you again before too long.
Best wishes,
Clare the team at Woolley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just got back from two nights at Woolley Grange with our two year old, which we all loved and would certainly return.

It isn't cheap but we felt that it was good value for what was on offer. The food was excellent and there was lots for our little one to do (despite it raining almost non-stop all weekend). She loved the den with friendly and helpful staff, who didn't bat an eyelid at being warned of impending nappy-related Armageddon. When the rain stopped she also loved the walled garden with its ducks and hens, and the play village which I'm sure is great in the summer.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, without exception, especially with the little one. Although on one night I think they were very busy with a large party staying there was no evidence of nerves fraying and they were professional throughout.

What is also encouraging is that, having read some of the more negative reviews on here the (very few) negative comments appeared to have been addressed. The dining rooms were clean and tidy, the breakfast table neatly ordered, new, good quality linen in the room, specials for the evening meal changed nightly... Its good to see feedback genuinely seems to have been taken on board.

If I was going to be very very picky my only comments would be that although there's a great selection of hot, cooked to order food on the breakfast menu, there is no full English option (although I saw someone else ask and get one). If its available why not add it? Also the room decor of at least the room we stayed in may not be to everyone's taste - if you like ultra-modern chrome/marble/etc (which I don't) you probably won't find it at Woolley, which seems to go for an old-fashioned English style (for example the bedside radio was a Roberts that was probably already an antique when I was two!).

It was a great trip and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wicksta_105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear wisksta_105

I am delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Woolley and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have very recently re-styled our breakfast menu and actively seek feedback, so really appreciate your thoughts on it.

Do comeback in the slightly warmer months so you make the most of all our nooks and crannies outside!

Best wishes
Clare and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have been at the Woolley Grange at our friend's wedding back in October and we absolutely loved it.

But this time we went back with our three daughters and our dog. What a fantastic weekend!
Lots of hidden corners to read away with a cup of coffee near the fireplace, great walks around the property, excellent food. The staff have been absolutely amazing, very attentive and genuinely happy.

Thank you to Laura, Poppy and all the girls and boys of Woolley Grange for making our family weekend a very special one!

We will be back :)


Stamos Birsim

mob + 44 (0) 77 4131 6677
main + 44 (0) 20 8144 6677

www.olyvon.com

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stamos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Stamos B

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. I am delighted you returned so soon with your children and that we lived up to your expectations.

Thank you also for mentioning Laura and Poppy (they love seeing their names mentioned) and referring to all the team, some of whom are never seen but perform a vital role.

The year is young so hope to see you before long.
warm wishes
Clare and the Woolley team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Can't rate this hotel highly enough. My wife and I decided to take our first break with our 5mth old to this hotel and had a fabulous time.
The food was great, room was good, spa very relaxing but what really made the difference were firstly the people who made us both feel very welcome and also made a great fuss over our daughter. Secondly the facilities on offer for a young family were spot on, most things are available for you so you don't need to worry about packing them and the crèche/babysitting service were amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n197719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear n197719

Thank you very much for your review following your first stay with your little one. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return to us and try our sister hotels over the next few years.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Clare and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
552 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
694 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
749 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £103 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing