We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family getaway”
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woolley Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights / 4 days at Woolley Grange with our 5 year old twins and could not recommend it highly enough. The service, friendliness, accommodation, facilities and cuisine were all outstanding. The pool and walled garden are particularly delightful and the twins had so much to do at the hotel that it proved a real mission to drag them off to Bath for the day. Thanks in particular to the staff in the Restaurant and Den who looked after the twins especially well. We even managed to take advantage of having two tired twins and snuck in a candlelight dinner! We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devkumar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Stephen H

Than you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds as though you tried most of the things we have on offer; great that it worked for all ages in the family!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

All ten of us had a great weekend,1 to 70 years old. Children's facilities - creche, pool,grounds,baby sitting -were ideal. Rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were terrific to children and adults. High quality , but very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Stephen H

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds like you tried most things during your stay and there was something to keep all ages happy!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have visited Wooley Grange on a number of occasions now. The last time was a few years ago and then we visited again in March 2014. The food was excellent, the staff were great and especially good with the kids at mealtimes.

The new pool is great - it's not massive but it does the job. We managed to get in a swim before breakfast both days we stayed and the kids loved it.

We left our kids in the crèche for 2 hours - they enjoyed it and the team there were very professional and did a great job in looking after them.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Guy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guy U

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. So pleased you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again before long.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We went with our 1 year old after hearing great reviews . All the staff are very friendly and accommodating . The food is delicious for adults and the children's menu was perfect for our little one . There is so much for children to do but it's balanced nicely with keeping the hotel tidy ( not children's toys everywhere ) so that it feels like a space for parents to relax too . Will be back soon

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank cedar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear cedar_10

Thank you so much for writing a review and I am delighted you had such a great time.
It sounds as though the balance of family atmosphere and grown up time was just right for you.
I hope to welcome you back to Woolley very soon.

Best wishes
Clare

PS when travelling with pre-school children, come mid week and take advantage of our special offers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I was on business trip in the area and booked this hotel.
It is an old 'castle' with a calm environment.
I got a small room upstairs. it was nice and clean.
the bathroom was ok but the ceiling above it was very low.
in the sink there are 2 taps for cold and hot water. It has a vintage look but not practical...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Yaniv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Yaniv M

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Woolley and I am so pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere. We are upgrading the last of our bathrooms this year and part of the specification is to include a mixer tap. In the meantime, please do ask for this feature when booking as this is the style in the majority of our bathrooms.

With best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I took my wife, parents and in laws to Woolley Grange for lunch with my 4 year old daughter to celebrate her birthday. The staff were very welcoming and even set up a special table with bunting for the birthday lunch. They were happy to bring out the cake we brought along and the quality of the lunch was exceptional. I'd highly recommend Woolley Grange for lunch with children or for a meal with adults. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dan186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Dan186370

Thank you very much for reviewing your lunch at Woolley this week. I am particularly pleased to hear that as we have a new lunch menu. Birthdays should always be magical and none more so than when you are young. As your little one gets older, we offer many different types of birthday party for children, so hopefully she can enjoy many more with us.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed at Woolley Grange for 3 nights with our 5 month old baby. Our room was large and well equipped and the hotel provided a cot with mattress, nappy bin, changing mat and steriliser. The furniture was slightly rickety - chairs felt unstable, the coffee table rocked and the bed was creaky so i can understand why some previous reviewers have questioned the luxury element. However, this was outweighed for us by the level of service at the hotel. Every single member of staff we encountered was polite, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and they accommodated our every need, letting us eat dinner at different times than we booked, letting us pick off a different menu, amending breakfast dishes, heating up baby food, advising on where to go in Bath etc

We used the spa and creche and both were good. Our son seemed happy in The Den and we also utilised the baby listening service in the evening which seemed to work well.

Slight issue with the bill when checking out as we were charged for desserts we had not had but this was quickly rectified without quibble.

We enjoyed our stay but would probably go for somewhere more modern in future as we missed having a decent shower (this was a handheld over a narrow bath). However, the level of service here could not be faulted so well done to all the staff - especially to the lovely girl who both waitressed and helped in the creche, sorry we did not get your name.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Halcat66

Thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed many of the facilities we have to offer. I am particularly pleased the service from the team really enhanced your break.
Only 6 bathrooms have hand held showers and they are to be upgraded during this year. In the meantime, we can guide you to the rooms with fixed showers when making a reservation.

I do hope we can welcome you back once again.

With my best wishes and thanks
Clare and the team at Woolley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
556 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
11.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £102 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hotel, restaurant and spa set in 14 acres of lovely grounds on the edge of Bradford on Avon and the Cotswolds. Freshly cooked food from the walled kitchen garden, comfy country bedrooms, open fires, children's club and ELEMIS spa with two swimming pools. Pets welcome too! Only 15 minutes from beautiful Bath...ideal for a town and country break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing