We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woolley Grange
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
US$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
266
129
62
26
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
266
129
62
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled gardenoutdoor poolthe baby listening servicefamily hotelkids clubchanging matsauna and steam roomhen houseyoung familieshigh teachild friendly hotelspa treatmentsnappy binnew park manorkids tealuxury hotelkids meals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I open with a warning that you would not want to go to this hotel without children under any circumstances.

The hotel is a charming, rambling, non-sensical period building that your kids will adore and get lost in. There's a great cinema room, a sort of adult library with a fireplace, and a few sitting areas scattered throughout.

The service is great. Enthusiastic, attentive waiters. We had a couple of mishaps like toast arriving after breakfast was over but they're so charming you can't fault them.

They have an adorable dog who is unfortunately incredibly skittish and it was a great source of frustration to my older, dog-savvy kids that they could not persuade her to play with them.

The beds were incredibly cozy, but small.

The grounds are pretty large and great for kids to roam about, but they won't be lost for hours - it's definitely geared towards younger children. Mine are 8 and 11 and they were possibly too old to appreciate what it offers for younger families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MSMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear MSM London

Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are currently developing more for children 8 years plus. It would be great if you would come back to stay and review our progress. We are just introducing children's feedback questionnaires so we can hear from children what they liked about their stay and what they would like us to offer in the future.

I hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Clare and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous couple of days at Woolley Grange. Overall our trip was first class, but we have dropped a star due to one disappointment and a few (admittedly pedantic) niggles.

We were given a very warm welcome to the hotel. Our room was perfect for our needs. We are a family of four with a three year old and three month old. We stayed in Magnolia which had a sitting room-cum-bedroom, bathroom and main bedroom. When we arrived the room was prepared with two cots; however, we needed a sofa bed and had bought a Moses basket with us for the baby and this was rectified immediately. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped, with extras such as a changing mat and naps bin.

Both children spent time in the crèche. The staff were wonderful, particularly Karen who looked after our baby and babysat for us one evening. The Den itself had so much for the children to do our three year old couldn't wait to get back there on day two! The rabbit was also a big hit.

The spa was a real treat. The pool is a good size and the spa treatment fantastic. The changing area is a little small and must get quite tricky at very busy times, but this was not problematic for us.

We all loved the walled garden and seeing what was being grown, as well as meeting the chickens and ducks! The play area and houses were really sweet and had the weather been a little warmer we could have been out there all day.

Meals in the orangery were very good, particularly the children's menu. Children's meals could either be preordered, or if ordering on being seated children were brought a small starter so rumbling tummies were kept at bay. Lunch was good but slightly overpriced. Breakfast fabulous! The staff were great - particular mention to Richard for entertaining us with his encyclopaedic knowledge of Disney and Louise for providing the 'magic pillow' for our daughter's sore tummy,

Our evening meal in the candlelight restaurant was truly superb. The coffee parfait one of the best desserts we have ever tried. Unfortunately this was where the disappointment did arise though. We had understood on booking that the restaurant was adult only in the evening, and this fact was reiterated on check in when we were shown round Woolley Grange. However, on the evening which we ate in the restaurant one family had for some reason been allowed to have their children dine with them. Two of the children were of primary school age and kept getting up from the table and at one point even started singing. (At which the couple on a neighbouring table asked to complete their meal in the adjoining lounge). This is not meant as a criticism of the family involved as the kids were just being kids and certainly not badly behaved, but of the hotel for bending the rules in this way. This meal was meant to be our opportunity for some kid free time and we had been looking forward to it for some time. Such a shame that the atmosphere in the dining room was spoilt in this way as it would have been perfect otherwise. Particularly irritating given the cost of the meal. The food is worth every penny and ordinarily this wouldn't be a problem but the atmosphere being disturbed meant the value was undermined. Unfortunately the manager was not available for us to discuss this before we left the hotel due to working patterns.

Otherwise a couple of minor pieces of feedback:
- on checking in to our room every light was left on, they were also all left in by housekeeping the next day. Despite bright days lights were also on all over communal areas. This just seemed really at odds with the sustainability message of the work being done elsewhere at Woolley Grange.
- we had to hunt down staff on a couple of occasions, once to order lunch and once to order evening drinks. Not hugely problematic and the staff were super on the whole, but may be an issue for some.
- a step for small children to use to the very high sink in the bathroom (as provided in the communal loos) would have been useful.

But overall what a fantastic stay - THANK YOU!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank CP804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Ormeley

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am delighted you had a enjoyable time.

We differentiate the two restaurants by atmosphere in that we aim to create a grown up atmosphere in the main dining room and more relaxed family atmosphere in the Orangery.
I am sorry this balance was not struck correctly when you dined and as with your feedback about staff availability to place orders, your feedback is very useful to help improve our service.

I have also passed on your feedback about lights in rooms to the housekeeping team as it sounds as though more were left on than should have been.

I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights / 4 days at Woolley Grange with our 5 year old twins and could not recommend it highly enough. The service, friendliness, accommodation, facilities and cuisine were all outstanding. The pool and walled garden are particularly delightful and the twins had so much to do at the hotel that it proved a real mission to drag them off to Bath for the day. Thanks in particular to the staff in the Restaurant and Den who looked after the twins especially well. We even managed to take advantage of having two tired twins and snuck in a candlelight dinner! We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devkumar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Stephen H

Than you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds as though you tried most of the things we have on offer; great that it worked for all ages in the family!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

All ten of us had a great weekend,1 to 70 years old. Children's facilities - creche, pool,grounds,baby sitting -were ideal. Rooms were very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent. The staff were terrific to children and adults. High quality , but very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Stephen H

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds like you tried most things during your stay and there was something to keep all ages happy!

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have visited Wooley Grange on a number of occasions now. The last time was a few years ago and then we visited again in March 2014. The food was excellent, the staff were great and especially good with the kids at mealtimes.

The new pool is great - it's not massive but it does the job. We managed to get in a swim before breakfast both days we stayed and the kids loved it.

We left our kids in the crèche for 2 hours - they enjoyed it and the team there were very professional and did a great job in looking after them.


Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Guy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guy U

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. So pleased you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again before long.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews