We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
291
137
67
29
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
291
137
67
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden outdoor pool the baby listening service family hotel kids club changing mat sauna and steam room spa treatments nappy bin high tea child friendly hotel young families afternoon tea cinema room kids tea kids meals mum and dad
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I last wrote a review about this hotel and my experience of 'Afternoon Tea' back in July 2018. At that time, my review wasn't very positive as there were a number of issues which had cropped up. Following this, the hotel manager got in touch with me and apologised for the disappointment. She very kindly invited my mum and I back again, this time for a complimentary visit, and we went yesterday afternoon (19/12/18).

As Christmas is almost upon us, the full afternoon tea on offer was 'festive' and it was delicious! Sandwiches, scones and a lovely selection of cakes. The bread was fresh, the scones weren't burnt, we had plenty of clotted cream and jam and even spoons to eat our sherry trifles with! We were also offered additional pots of tea, which didn't happen on our first visit when we'd been limited to one pot between us! All in all, it was very good and a vast improvement from when we went previously.

Each member of staff we encountered was welcoming, friendly and polite, taking our coats and bringing them back when we wanted to leave. The service was attentive, but not intrusive, and we left 'Wooley Grange' feeling full up and happy that our visit was most enjoyable.

Thank you very much for welcoming us back and showing us that you can put things right that went wrong initially.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyrocket2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lucyrocket2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit for afternoon tea. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your afternoon tea experience, a lovely treat just before Christmas.

I hope this has restored your faith and that we can welcome you back to Woolley again on another occasion.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The log fires are great to sit beside and read the free newspapers while drinking a coffee or other beverage. A delight for families with small children but also good for couples or older children. A great place to unwind.

1  Thank donteatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear donteatout

Thank you for your 5 star review. You are tight, it is sometimes the simple pleasures which feel like such a treat and just the thing to help escape our busy lives for a while. Woolley is just that escape.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

Child friendly. This was 26 years ago - our last visit...
Dog friendly too (our recent visit)
Spa, Outside heated pool, lovely staff.
Amazing idyllic location. Food ok. Good breakfasts
Upgraded us to a suite too!

room upgrade - to a very comfortable suite...

Room tip: ask for an upgrade. Take your swimmers for the outdoor pool
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingEastMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear TravellingEast Marlow

We are celebrating our 30th birthday this year; how wonderful you are visiting us again after your first visit 26 years ago. I hope we lived up to the memories you have of your last stay.

Please don't leave it 26 years until you come back.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2018 via mobile

Great place for families with energetic children. Staff absolutely bomb proof, well trained and able to handle merry grandpa's!!!! Special mention Lorraine on reception you have the patience of a saint
The food and setting are superb, beats the run of the mill chain hotels. Highly recommended. Thanks to everyone for making this such special day.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank darlowportfolios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear darlowportfolios

We really enjoy looking after family celebrations; we will ensure everything goes seamlessly so you can all relax and enjoy yourselves! It is wonderful for the team to hear how much their efforts are appreciated.

Delighted you had a great time and thank you very much for the 5 star review.

Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2018

arrived last frday 30th November and checked into the room which was ok children had sofa beds bathroom had none of the amenities of a luxury hotel and was disappointed.
when we went to settle the account i queered why i had three different room rates for three nights this was eventually corrected but when i got the final bill the hotel had managed to slip in an extra night. so more phone calls, overall three star hotel but four star prices.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john711945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Dear john711945

Thank you very much for your review.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the bathroom in your suite. To take advantage of special rates available, your room was charged at different rates on different nights which I believe we quoted at the time of booking.

I do apologise for the error with an additional night's charge being presented on your final room account. This was immediately removed.

I hope you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and hope we can welcome you back to Woolley again on another occasion.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews