We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
295
140
69
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
295
140
69
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden outdoor pool the baby listening service family hotel kids club changing mat high tea sauna and steam room spa treatments nappy bin child friendly hotel young families afternoon tea cinema room kids tea kids meals mum and dad
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from 2 nights with my partner both nights the dinner, drinks and service was amazing. Claire the manager is very pleasant and nice to see her being actively hands on. We didn't have kids and of course they are there but didn't overshadow our stay, see you again soon

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alleyw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear alley w

Thank you very much for your review and I am so pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Children really bring the place alive in such a positive way as well as add a lot of fun to the atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A child-friendly hotel with lots of creative ideas in the grounds including fairy houses, a sheep trail, child-size wheelbarrows and much more. The grounds also have lovely vegetable and flower gardens with all sorts of unusual crops including edible chrysanthemums and sorrel and micro-herbs. Cream tea was a real treat.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Howarth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Howarth S

Thank you very much for your review and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your cream tea and also made the most of your visit exploring the grounds and kitchen garden.

There is lots of great work going on in the gardens to entertain all ages and grow fabulous produce. We bring a lot of the produce into the kitchen to shape the menus so guests can taste the fruits of our labour but we also sell it through our honesty shop and vegetable basket scheme.

It is certainly worth visiting again at a different time of year to see how our garden grows!
Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

We've just been there with our two toddlers for the weekend and everything was disappointing, certainly nothing was "luxury":

- very dirty bedrooms with poor lighting and VERY NOISY. We all have often been awaken by other children crying in the night or slamming doors (banging doors is the only way you can hope to close them). Nothing is soundproof there and definitely not the place to have a good night sleep.

- listening system for children works through the phone and a member of stuff is supposed to listen to the phone and call you in case the hear something. The problem is that our children were sleeping in a separate room and far from the phone (which was instead close to our bed). During the night we could actually hear others babies better than ours - We didn't dare to try this listening system and ended up only having family dinners.

- we were unlucky with the service which seemed totally disorganised (they forgot to bring one coffee, one beer, and they forgot twice to put the high chair at the table (for a 18 month old!)). The family dinners were too long, even though we had explicitly asked to have our food served at the same time as our children meal, this never happened.

- the pool had nothing children friendly, no recliners for adults to relax, and was not very clean.

- we've been unlucky also with the spa. They messed up with the reservation of my treatment and ended up not even having one!

- the common areas are of poor quality and don't have essentially any toddler-preschooler toy. Just a collection of books, DVDs and incomplete old broken board games.

- the creche is a great place, but parents are not allowed with children for four hours a day (When the stuff supervises other children), when you would most need it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Irene19211517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Irene19211517

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to hear about your experience.

I would very much like to talk with you in person about your stay. Please do contact me by phone on 01225 864705 or by email clare.hammond@woolleygrangehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Best wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

The spa is poorly equipped, with no seating to relax and soak up spa atmosphere. The pool was cold and full of screaming children. The showers were out of action most of the morning, which meant we couldn't then go back into the pool after massage, which was the only positive all day! The meal as part of the expensive package was inedible and when we complained we were offered equally poor cream tea instead. Utter waste of money and a day off!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Theresa P

Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit.

I understand we did have a plumbing issue the day you visited for which I am sincerely sorry.

I would be interested to hear about the various aspects of your visit in person; perhaps you could call me on 01225 864705 or email me clare.hammond@woolleygrangehotel.co.uk.

I hope to hear from you.
Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We stayed here on a two night midweek break, bed, breakfast and dinner package with our two year old.

Positives:
Definitely family friendly, the high tea meal time for children was ideal and we got two hours of free childcare on the one full day we were there for which our son really enjoyed.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, we never felt as though having a toddler there was an inconvenience.

We had an issue with the first meal our toddler had and this was dealt with with no issues by the reception team and taken off the bill.

Negatives:

The massive negative is the cost. We spent over £600 for a two night stay and, this is the bit that gets me, neither of us drank any alcohol! The dinner package included £35 per person per night for dinner. The way that this works is that there is a set dinner menu for this price which you can order for dinner which would obviously keep the price down but then you can also order a la carte which we did for several dishes. However the prices of these are really high - £20-£30 for a main course.

That being said the quality of the food in the evenings was really good, sadly not matched by the cooked breakfast offerings or the children's high tea - maybe two different chefs? Breakfast for children over the age of two is extra as are the rest of their meals.

We stayed in one of the pavilion rooms which is separate from the main house. This did not feel a particularly safe place to leave our toddler while we went for dinner and is partly my fault for not requesting a room in the house, so I recommend doing this if you have young kids.

If you are going to market a hotel as 'luxury' and price accordingly, it really needs to be luxury. The carpets in our room were frayed with stains on the sofa and an odd musty smell in the bedroom.

I'm afraid I wouldn't recommend this particular hotel and won't be returning due to the cost. We had a nice time as a family of three just before we become a family of four but we just could not afford it again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhysioDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear PhysioDevon

Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us.

It is so useful to receive feedback as it helps us focus on the areas where we can perform even better, raising the standard and being consistent.

I am sorry to hear you felt the food quality varied at different times as we pride ourselves on setting high standards throughout the day. I will pass your feedback to the Head Chef to investigate and monitor. Main courses on our a la carte menu are up to £23.50 and in fact a week ago, we increased the allocation for the dinner, bed and breakfast rate from £35 to £42.50, so it provides even better value for money. Items can be selected from both the daily changing menu and the a la carte menu so there is a good range of choice.

We have also reviewed our drink prices recently and reduced where can to help offer greater value for money.

Many of our rooms are not in the main building and it is definitely worth checking the location of rooms at the time of booking as we often cannot change your room due to the level of occupancy in the hotel.

I hope you may be able to join us again, perhaps once number 2 has arrived and you have settled into the next stage of family life.

Warm wishes
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews