We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved this very special hotel.”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
berkeley california
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“we loved this very special hotel.”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at Widbrook Grange for three nights. Our room was wonderfully comfortable, staff extra-ordinarily helpful. Breakfast was excellent; dinner good. The property is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skleeberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    148
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
161
196
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stay in the hotel for one night as we wanted to visit the city of Bath. The lobby is located at the main "house" and the rooms look like a row of "small house". The room is big and the furniture are kind of antique. The ventilation in the bathroom couldn't be turn off, I didn't get a good sleep. There is a swimming pool in the main house and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenglembuMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Only stayed for one night on business in the area. This is a pleasent enough hotel, but not sure I will rush back. Service on the whole was okay, and check-in was very personable. However, I had to go and hunt for someone to take an order for breakfast and on check out the same level of service as experienced at check in was sadly not repeated. The bedroom was also okay, but the bathroom had one of the worst showers I have experienced for a long time - one of those silly electrical things that require instructions on the wall, and then produces water pressure akin to standing outside in the rain! The room also smelt a bit on the musty side.
Colleagues were staying at a hotel close by called The Old Manor which by all accounts was excellent. I hope that next time they will be able to fit me in!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We've just spent 3 days at the Grange on a Dinner and B&B arrangement, and were lucky enough to secure one of the four-poster bedrooms in the main house.
We really couldn't fault anything about the stay - nice clean and comfortable bedroom with character (sloping floor included), lovely location, extremely friendly staff and amazing food. We had 3 night of experiencing the new Brasserie menu, and our only regret was in not trying the cheese straws until the last night - you have to try them! All the food was superb, even the breakfasts are all freshly cooked to order.
If you're looking for 5-start luxury, mini-bar, satellite TV, and formal staff then this is not the place for you. If you're looking to relax in beautiful surroundings with friendly staff you'd be hard-pushed to find somewhere better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praa Sands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I found the staff helpful and well informed from pre-booking to leaving. The theme of books and authors appealed. This is probably the quietest hotel I have experienced, certainly at night and coupled with a good comfortable bed allowed for two really good night's sleep.
The only criticism and it is helpfully meant is that of "The Cupboard"...the room next door, used as an office and as such a bit discomforting given the proximity to our room and the fact that we could hear the 'phone calls and conversations going on. Presumably this is two way.
A new brasserie had just been opened, showing great signs of promise with a super menu and

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed for our son's graduation ceremony in Bath. The Grange was perfectly located, away from the hustle and bustle of Bath, but near enough to be a short drive in to town.
Accommodation was excellent; good quality furnishings and very comfortable beds. Service was first class and the food excellent too.
A friendly welcome awaits you and we particularly enjoyed the large and well maintained gardens, ponds, grounds and the walks in to the surrounding countryside.
Definitely one to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballamoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for a mini-break to visit bath. We had a lovely family room, which was larger than many we've stayed in, and was well equiped. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool and grounds were good too. There is a bus-stop just along the road (about 40 mins into Bath) and a train station (20 mins to Bath but much more expensive) within walking distance. We used them to avoid the challenge and cost of parking in Bath! The Restaurant is well worth a visit too, not the cheapest place to eat, but excellent! We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Give them a call, as there might be an offers if you stay for multiple nights or book more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andynco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
960 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Property: Widbrook Grange
Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing