We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding ceremony, meal and evening party”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We chose a complete package for our wedding ceremony and wedding feast in the relaxed atmosphere of the restaurant followed by an evening party and disco in the Manvers Suite. All the guest rooms were booked overnight and we were joined on the next morning for breakfast.with our families and friends, who made full use of the swimming pool and other facilities during their stay.
We received every support from Chris, the manager, catering and other staff throughout the weekend and during our visits in advance of the wedding day when so many of the detailed arrangements were planned with their help and enthusiasm at all times.
We cannot speak too highly of Widbrook, surely a must to recommend for other guests

Room Tip: The rooms with four posters are particularly attractive. All rooms received good reports from our gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 38keithT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Spent 3 nights last week. Easy access and good parking. Food excellent but no cheese option and advised that there was a supplement if required which was not satisfactory. Staff very friendly and helpful. Separate pool marred by local children (not of the Hotel guests) in attendance each day from about 3.30pm to 5.30pm under instruction which filled up the small pool and the parents took all the limited sunloungers so experience not good and unnecessarily crowded! Room in converted stables sub standard for today's market as 1980s decor and in need of updating and redecoration and poor small soft and lumpy bed. Bathroom dated and in need of upgrading and decorating and the flush of the wc poor. Bradford upon Avon and area great!

Room Tip: We suspect the Hotel rooms themselves as opposed to the converted stables are better although we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WidbrookGrange, Owner at Widbrook Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to post this review; we take all reviews very seriously and try to learn from the feedback given.

We always ask our guests when they check out if they have enjoyed their stay with us and to tell us if there is anything that they were not happy with. When this lady and gentlemen checked out they told us that they were very happy with their stay and therefore we are a bit surprised at some of the comments that they have posted in this review.

Its good to hear how much the guest enjoyed our food but I would point out that they were part of a large group who were given a particularly low meal price to meet their budget and that the only way that we could do this was to offer a slightly reduced menu in terms of the number of dishes offered and the group were happy with this menu. Unfortunately given the price we were working too we could not include a cheese course, but were of course only too happy to serve one for a small extra charge.

We do on occasions have swimming classes for children but would point out that that as the guests pointed out the classes are rarely longer than two hours in duration and that as our pool is open from 07h00 till 21h00 our guests have plenty of opportunity to make use of the pool at other time should they not to swim at the same time as these children. We would also like to point out that the swimming classes do not take on more than 4 children at any one time and half of our swimming pool is always roped off for residents of the hotel when classes are underway.

All of our bedrooms are refurbished and decorated to a program that ensures that they are in good condition and attractive at all times. The particular room in question was decorated two years ago and acknowledging that décor is a matter of taste we certainly don’t agree that the room looks 1980’s. We would invite the reader of this response to go onto our website where you will see photographs of our rooms.

The room has an antique oak 5 foot wide bed, we as owners sleep in all our beds several times a year and have had no complaint from any other guest about this bed, had these guests mentioned that they were not happy with the bed we would have gladly moved them for the second and third night.

We would like to thank them for pointing out that we have easy access and plenty of free parking also that we are also close to Bradford-on-Avon station with easy access to Bath. It is also great to hear that our staff were appreciated, they are our greatest asset, have been with us quite some time and we are very proud of them.

The excellent review before this one was by the organizer of the group of which this reviewer was a member and as we got the impression from all the group that they had very much enjoyed their stay with us we just wish that the guest writing this review had talked to us so that we could have made the minor adjustments to make their stay as enjoyable as all their friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Have just returned from three nights at this super hotel took a party of 16 the Owner Manager and staff could not have been more helpful. Comfy beds comfortable lounges and excellent food pretty grounds what more can you want.We all had a good time regardless of the weather.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Stayed here with my parents and kids in May 2011. Had an adjoining room with 2 single beds and a rollaway bed. Found it a little difficult to get to the hotel but once we arrived I was pleasantly surprised! Room was very spacious, small bathroom but it was nicely decorated and felt very homely. Breakfast was lovely as were dinners on the evening. Would definitley recommend this hotel, especially for a romantic getaway. Bradford on Avon was very "hill-y" with lots of boutique type shops although they were expensive. Very close to bath for a day trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestReview999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed in the family room. The facilities are good and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in the annexe away from the main hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed but the bathroom was rather dated. The hotel is set in attractive grounds near Bradford-on-Avon.
The staff were lovely and very attentive despite the hotel being full.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The main house was built late 18th century. It retains that mellowness that comes with age -enjoy the creaking floorboards and distressed bedroom doors - conversely the plastic windows and exterior front door do jar slightly on the eye but they do keep the draughts out. Our bed room with two large windows looking out over fields was in the main house. Others are located in a variety of converted outbuildings. It had Laura Ashley style chintz drapes around the four poster bed and windows. It was spacious with two comfortable armchairs and a flat screened tv. Its narrow wardrobe had difficulty coping with hangers which could not be hung at right angles to the rail. Coffee, tea & kettle were provided. Being a wet shaver the latter came in useful when we were without hot water for over 18 hours. We enjoyed a variety of restaurant dishes which could not be faulted.. The chef is to be congratulated on his culinary expertise and the young waitresses were charming. Portions were sensible. They have a trust system when ordering drinks - you give your room name or number. Having had bad experiences with this system at other hotels we kept a record of what we ordered. When we came to check out we found bottles charged to us which were not ours. My notes were produced and we had almost reached an impasse when fortunately for us another guest appeared who intervened and suggested it sounded like what they had ordered. Apologies were then given for that and the lack of hot water.

Room Tip: If inclement weather is anticipated its better to be in the main house so as to avoid a wet walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonFoxtrotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
478 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,018 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing