We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Widbrook Grange”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very welcoming owners and very attentive, efficient and friendly staff. The House is very well decorated and our room was comfortable and warm. Dinner in the Brasserie was a delight with an interesting and varied menu - the dishes were beautifully cooked and well presented. Breakfast also was of a high standard - particularly the kippers!! An excellent location for both short and long breaks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Widbrook Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Very welcoming, informal and yet luxurious and prestige. excellent food and facilities. perfect location, quiet yet close enough to town/cities. beautiful gardens. definitely must try the steak.

Room Tip: all rooms are first rate
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Brasserie does not have a separate page so I will write my review here. The food was excellent with an exensive menu of French cuisine. The staff were friendly and attentive and the decor of the restaurant is attractive. We eat out fairly regularly and the quality of the food was faultless and thoroughly enjoyed by us all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed for one night and were warmly received. The setting and grounds of the hotel are very attractive. Our room in the converted stables was well equipped with very fluffy towels and good quality toiletries but rather dated. The window handles did not feel at all secure and the wooden panels of the door to the outside were cracked. The shower was really quite feeble. The bed was too soft for us. We had the feeling the staff were doing their best with a room that is rather tired.

The quality of the food at dinner and breakfast was excellent, as was the service in the dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I would say this was an excellent place, except that we were given a room opposite the kitchen, with the attendant noisy fan and smells. The room was not all that clean, but spacious and you could fit 3 people in there. The pool is good except you may have to share it with the mothers and babies class. This hotel evidently attracts a well-heeled crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Have stayed here several times whilst on business in the area. It has everything a business traveller needs - comfortable, very friendly staff, excellent food, good (free!) WiFi service.

My only criticism would be the electric showers are not really up to the job!

Room Tip: Rooms in the house can be a little noisy - opt for one of the out-buildings if you can.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and were really excited about the prospect of a nice, relaxing stay. However this hotel did not live up to the mark and failed to deliver on many levels.

Rooms
We stayed in room 3 which was one of the four poster rooms. As you enter the room, you are straight away met with a feeling of disappointment. The room looked tired and scruffy with marks on the walls and bits of paper coming away. It was decorated much like some of the nursing homes I have been to and felt like you could be staying the night at your Gran's. The mattress on the bed was soft and lumpy and on a slight slope which meant that you felt as if you were going to slide off it in the middle of the night! The chairs in the room were incredibly impractical as at 5ft 8 and my husband at 6ft2 we could not sit comfortably on them as they were too low. This was a shame as we were looking forward to spending time quietly reading taking in the views of which we did not get.
The worst feature of the room was the bathroom which has seen better days. Could not believe it. Was at least 10+ years old with the old style green ideal standard, marks on the wall, a mixer tap in sink which doesn’t mix and a shower that doesn’t work. The pressure was so poor and the temperature kept changing that we were forced to resort to baths. Not ideal!
Other annoying things were not replenishing the toiletries or tea tray. Yes we could have asked and yes they probably would have given us more but why should we when we are on holiday! It is likely that the owner will respond saying we should have complained then but there was nothing to be done about the shower and taps other than invest in better plumbing and higher quality bathroom equipment.

Restaurant
This is the hotels' saving grace as the food is exceptional-both for supper and at breakfast. However the service on our last day was shocking. We had been first down and started the 'cold' continental section hoping that we would then be asked for our hot menu choices. When no one came, I politely asked the waitress to take our order. She told me someone would come soon. 15 minutes later another waiter came, took all the orders of the other tables and then served us last. This is despite telling them that we had to leave promptly. I can only think that this was due to incompetent service.

General
It would have been nice on check in to be reminded of small things such as if we would like a paper the next morning as we did not know this had to be done by 10:00pm until we looked through the book in the room and it was too late by then. It was good, however that we were accommodated to dine straight on check in without booking. The hotel is well positioned for lots of sights including a nice walk along the canal. The swimming also looked nice, albeit small. However, there is nothing in the hotel guide about where the pool is, whether there are towels or showers there and it would have been nice to have been provided towelling robes as it is outside.

Despite this hotel having a nice restaurant, there are far too many flaws for us to ever consider returning back to this hotel especially given the price. For £145 a night, one expects decent plumbing and nicely decorated, comfortable rooms. I have no issues with antiquated, English establishments as long as they are not tired, dreary, uncomfortable or lack basic amenities. Shame!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerbieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
244 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £124 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing