We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, tired and needs some updating, food good”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed overnight and were disappointed after entering the room which looked rather scruffy with numerous marks on the walls and paper which requires some work also. My old grannies place when she was alive was in better condition! Bathroom had seen better days, and nights, and there was pressure issues. Guess the owners have never seen Four In A Bed to get any ideas or have not seen any interior designer places. We could have complained but I have heard that the owner doesn't deal well with criticism and likes to put his head in the sand. The saving grace was the food. The chef does what he does well. For the price it certainly isn't worth the stay but just come for the food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for my parents 60th wedding anniversary, with a group of 12, wanting a private hotel as against a chain.

The hotel was fine & we were looked after well. Had a private dining room which was ideal.

The staff were all most helpful & all needs and quirks attended to.

Ideal location for us and all in very pleasing grounds, nicde to dip in the pool.

Room Tip: Just ask & they will oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

There we 11 of us staying in various rooms. All very good. Great catering, attentive and polite service from staff at all times. Nice clean bedrooms and bathrooms. We had use of teh private function romm which suited us all very well. would we go back.............Certainly

Room Tip: haven't commented on the last two as we didnt have children and didn't use the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed with my partner and children this weekend and was so sad to have to leave. From the minute we arrived we were overwhelmed at how beautiful the place is. The grounds, scenery, location, buildings, all beautiful. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, and were great with the kids. Our family room was huge, beautifully rustic and very clean, with comfy beds, loads of towels (which they are happy to let you take to the pool), plenty of complimentary tea/coffee/mineral water, and 2 radiators which heat up the room very quickly. We ate in the restaurant, which is french themed. There isn't a huge menu, however the food is wonderful, and the staff were happy to accommodate a couple of slight changes to my partner's main course. The kid's meals are very large and they both enjoyed their meals, as did my partner and I. An example of price, My double lamb chop forestiere with redcurrant sauce was around £14 which I felt was good value for what I had. The waiting staff were attentive and polite and the wine list was varied. There is a heated indoor pool which guests can use between 8.15 am and 9pm, although they do rent it out for a few mum and baby classes. This shouldn't get in the way of guests using the pool as it is big enough for both. For an hour on Sunday morning we had the pool to ourselves! The hotel has 2 lounges, one with a TV and SKY, and also a lovely conservatory where you can also have your dinner. Breakfast is great, with the whole range of fruit and juices., yogurt, pastries, berries and nuts, cereals and of course a full English. I am already planning a return visit to this charming hotel. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very welcoming owners and very attentive, efficient and friendly staff. The House is very well decorated and our room was comfortable and warm. Dinner in the Brasserie was a delight with an interesting and varied menu - the dishes were beautifully cooked and well presented. Breakfast also was of a high standard - particularly the kippers!! An excellent location for both short and long breaks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Very welcoming, informal and yet luxurious and prestige. excellent food and facilities. perfect location, quiet yet close enough to town/cities. beautiful gardens. definitely must try the steak.

Room Tip: all rooms are first rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Brasserie does not have a separate page so I will write my review here. The food was excellent with an exensive menu of French cuisine. The staff were friendly and attentive and the decor of the restaurant is attractive. We eat out fairly regularly and the quality of the food was faultless and thoroughly enjoyed by us all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
453 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
736 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
869 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £147 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing