We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect quiet setting”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet setting”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Having stayed here several times, all for work, I am pleased to say they have it just right.

My meal was lovely, they get better & better at it & the choice was good too.

Breakfast is a joy & the rooms quirky & very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SetonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    148
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
160
195
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here before going to Longleat . The hotel is set in over 11 acres and is very peaceful. It comprises of the main hotel with 5 rooms and converted outbuildings.The staff were very helpful. Our room was in a converted stables. It was clean and comfortable. O.k the grouting could have been better, maybe the use of an old toothbrush would do the trick but to be quite honest I was not too bothered. The bed was a four poster and comfortable. There was lots of tea and coffee available. The breakfast was really filling with a good choice. The vegetarian sausages were lovely,the best I have tasted and I cannot veggie but just wanted a change. Again, there was plenty of tea and coffee and lots of toast. Would definitely stay here again.I didnot know about the swimming pool which was a pity as I might have been tempted. The hotel seems to host many nationalities and the dining rooms were very busy for breakfast.

Room Tip: I can only imagine all the rooms were of the same standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattiann139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to golf day at the excellent local Cumberwell Park golf course. I had a corner room, which was welcome for the through breeze on a warm night. It's a bit out of the village, so I decided to eat in the restaurant. I'm glad I did. The food was excellent and very well presented and I also had a good wine recommended by the waiter. The room was a decent size with a very comfortable bed and working area. Bathroom was a little small, but clean with a good shower. I didn't use the pool. Breakfast was excellent and overall this was very good value for the money and I would readily stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I know the selection of accommodation in this area is not great but I still think this establishment could be so much better. Mattress and pillows are beyond their sell by date. Grout in bathroom needed cleaning in places and replacing in others. Poor attention to detail; a broken pedal bin in the bathroom. The service by the owners was less than impressive they seem disinterested in the dinner service and are overly informal(eating while tending to reception). There were some good points the towels were lovely, the girls who did breakfast were very friendly even though service was slow and the garden and pool are lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clearyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for one night with family whilst visiting longleat. Could not fault the service or the size of the rooms. Swimming pool was nice & clean.

We had an evening meal at the hotel which was a bit over priced fr what we had however the quality was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A lovely location to use as a base for exploring the area.
We enjoyed 2 hours in the pool with the children. Sadly we hadn't packed our inflatables as the website had promised 'A large box of pool toys and floats adds to the enjoyment'. Unfortunately the tatty mouldy box has not been looked in by staff for sometime, as all that was on offer was two floats and some broken pieces of swim noodles. A few inflatables/lilos/balls would be easy to add/replace and would enhance the pool experience for the children. Or update the website so people bring their own!
The grounds were nice for children to run around in. A nice added touch would have been football/soft tennis balls and rackets or garden games.
The food was very good and generous. Cheapest bottle of wine was £21.50.
Rooms slightly tired overall, but with good linen and towels. Blackout curtain lining or blinds would have been appreciated as an outside floodlight was on in the evening until late and early morning light had both my children awake shortly after 6am.
Warped wooden door meant I had trouble with my key in the lock which needed manipulation to be able to lock. Not a huge issue, but may have been in an emergency.
So, overall a pleasant stay, but a few enhancements could make it really stand out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I found all the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. A rare thing with most hotels, coming from someone who has stayed in more than 50 hotels this year alone. The rooms at the Widbrook Grange are remarkably well looked after - a perfect blend between old and modern English. On one occasion, I found a lovely personal message from the hotel on my dressing table when I returned to my cottage-like room from work. I dined in the on-site restaurant a couple of times too and the food was excellent. Not sure if it's open to non-hotel guests but the chef's delights would certainly give local restaurants some competition in that regard. The hotel is close enough to walk into the little traditional town of Bradford-on-Avon but yet far enough to maintain a level of peace and tranquility for the guests. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely recommend this to other guests.

Room Tip: I stayed in something called the 'Dylan Thomas' which was quite nice, I'm sure there'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZackE18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Property: Widbrook Grange
Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing