We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We did not stay in the Hotel, so my ratings are based on the Restaurant only and I have added average reviews for the hotel as I am unable to comment. My wife and I wanted to eat somewhere special with our three daughters, the eldest of whom was getting married the next day. We read the reviews on TA and decided this was the place of that special meal. It was the very warm evening of 17th July and we decided to have a few drinks outside before proceeding through to the restaurant for dinner. The service was excellent whilst we ordered a bottle of Champagne, and then we were all seated in the lovely restaurant, where the tables were all beautifully laid. The night we were there, only a few people were in so it was difficult to judge what the atmosphere would be like when a bit fuller, but it was quite quiet.

The food though, wow!! - what can I say. It was absolutely excellent, the cuisine sublime, the presentation superb, and the service and timing between courses perfect. We all really enjoyed what we had individually chosen. It was quite expensive at around £50 per head with wine, but no more than I had expected for that special meal. It did what it was supposed to do for us, which was to make a memorable evening for my eldest daughter's last night as a single woman!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    146
    56
    28
    10
See reviews for
159
194
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I have just enjoyed a wonderful wedding here. The staff are very helpful and friendly and we had a delightful buffet reception. An excellent venue for a small wedding. And an added bonus - hot, sunny weather. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank catwalkTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Enjoyed a 2 night stay. Huge and comfy bed, spacious and well equipped bedroom set in converted stable block. Meals of good quality and friendly staff offering good service. This is the ideal place to stay if you want to explore Bath and surrounding area without having to stay in Bath itself. Set in tranquil surroundings, you get a real sense of being tucked away yet only have to travel a short distance for sightseeing. Wouldn't envisage this as a "lively" hotel by any means but absolutely perfect for couples or anybody wanting a relaxing and peaceful break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Saturday 12th July we, husband and myself, stayed at Widbrook Grange with the in-laws and my brother and sister in law. On arrival we were seen to promptly and shown to our room. The only problem with that was that it took a member of staff away from reception {which was OK for us} but there were at least 2 other couples behind us who had to wait, and our room was probably the furthest away. We actually ended up changing our room so Mum n Dad could have the twin room and ended up in room 14, a pleasant enough room but somewhat stuffy. As it was on the ground floor we couldn't leave windows open overnight.

A small down side within the room was that even though it was fairly large there there was not a comfy chair to sit in, so you had to sit on the bed. There was one chair that was similar to a dining chair at the desk, which was not overly comfy.

We ordered teas and coffees during the afternoon and some fruit cake only to be told that there was very little cake left, we had enough for 3 between the 6 of us BUT it was fabulous, really fruity and very soft, all it needed was a little cheese to go with it!!

Saturday evening we ate at the Fat Fowl in Bradford on Avon, I had booked prior to this, and even Mother in law was happy with the meal.

Sunday morning breakfast was something of a hit and miss, Mum n Dad in law ordered poached egg, and that was all they got on a large dining plate, 1 egg poached, which was fairly firm, thankfully we had some toast on the table and they were able to eat that. It would have been useful if the waiting staff had said that all that would come on the plate would be the egg, they did look very lonely there. I had scrambled egg and mushrooms, both were well cooked, although quantities were not large. My bro in law had the full English and the sausage looked wonderful, he wasn't asked if he would like fried bread or toast and got fried bread which he ate but didn't particularly want.

The in laws and brother and sister in law are staying another night there, but we had to get home for work, all the way back to Chippenham.

Would I stay there again, maybe

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4from5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was very good. The beds were extremely comfortable and the linen very good, but the room was extremely dated and desperately in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights as family were visiting from Australia and wanted to visit Bath, on arrival the hotel looked pleasant with converted barns around it housing extra rooms. We arrived at reception at 8.15pm as visited Windsor and Stonehenge on the way. I had paid an extra £20 per eve for a four poster room (no point in this as my sister got a four poster anyway) we had room 6 my sister had room 7 and my niece a family room, room 21. We were asked if we would like an evening meal but the restaurant would be closing in half an hour so declined as wanted to shower and had 3 children so would not have enough time! So pleased we did though as drove into town and had an amazing thai meal!
Our four poster room although large with a separate shower and bathroom wasn't what we expected! The shower was extremely dated with a small shower head and dirty curtain! The bathroom had a very dated corner bath and the door didn't close! The curtains in the bedroom were totally different colours, the room above had a leek at some stage as the ceiling was badly stained and cracked and looked like the ceiling may collapse at some point! The only redeeming feature about this room was the amazingly comfortable bed and homemade biscuit!
My sister in room 7 ( a four poster room so don't pay extra like us) had no complaints but said it had a small shower head but the bed was so comfortable it made up for it!
My niece, husband and 3 boys in the family room 21 said the beds were comfortable too! their bathroom was very modern with roll top bath and large shower head, they tried to have a bath but couldn't as the water wouldn't stay in it??
The breakfast wasn't great! Maybe because there were 9 of us they couldn't cope! We all wanted a full English with poached eggs, everyone of them were hard! The sausages and bacon were hard too!
We ate in the Boatyard pub (at the end of the lane opposite the hotel) on our second night and the food was amazing!! Found out it is owned by the hotel so maybe the chef could show the breakfast chef at the hotel how to poach an egg!!!

The swimming pool un-usable as swimming lessons in there all the time and no room!

The location of this hotel is great, the beds comfortable that's all!

Would I return definitely not!

Room Tip: Look around for a nicer hotel for probably less money! Don't expect to use the swimming pool the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank only1caf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband treated me to a night away in this hotel in May as I had always wanted to visit the Roman Baths.
We was greeted in reception by a friendly young lady who took us across to our room which was located in a separate out-building in the grounds of the hotel itself. This-out building was also equipped for weddings. Our room was very spacious and had a small four poster bed. The linen was immaculate as were the towels provided. We was able to ask for additional towels upon request.
We quickly left our things in the room to use the swimming pool located in a different building in the hotels grounds. We were fortunate enough to be the only 2 people in the pool, and was able to dry off at the poolside sitting on loungers by the window inside.The hotel also leases the pool at set times for baby swimming classes although this did not effect our usage of the pool but made the car park busy upon returning from a visit in the town.
We had a very comfortable nights sleep. The only drawback was that the shower did not work but was repaired within an hour by the maintenance man that was on-site.
Breakfast was served in the main building and offered a variety of cereals, seeds, fruit, yoghurt and a delicious cooked breakfast with pots of tea, coffee and self service for fresh juices.It was all elegantly presented.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneChace73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Property: Widbrook Grange
Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing