We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highly enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
wiltshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A highly enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

Lovely hotel, splendid food, very hospitable hosts - Peter and Jane Wragg, a great place to stay and very close to the sights of Bath. Very highly recommended.

Dan and Linda Conley

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    146
    56
    28
    9
See reviews for
157
192
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

There may have been snow outside but we had a very warm welcome on arrival. We stayed in the main house and our room (The Brontes) was spacious and very comfortable. Due to the adverse weather we did not venture out during the weekend but felt that the gardens and walk to the village would be lovely in better weather. However, the sitting areas were all so comfortable, it was no hardship to just relax indoors. The food was of a very high standard and the staff both helpful and friendly. In all, an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

Another great stay at Widbrook Grange. The idyllic location, fantastic food and most of all, the personal service from the friendly staff are why I keep coming back to stay in this beautiful country house. Will definitely be coming back to stay next time I'm in this part of the country.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2009

The service was perfect; everybody was helpful all the time any time during our stay. The room was beautifully decorated with old yet fresh furniture, everything was tastefully coordinated, charming and romantic. Food was excellent. Location of the hotel in the countryside, yet only 20 min. walking distance from the center of the town along the picturesque canal is just perfect. We saw a variety of wild animals and birds on the hotel grounds, which was fun to watch. The closeness to Bath with its historical sites and good shopping, was another great advantage of hotel's location.
What I liked best was the feeling of home away from home, a very friendly atmosphere.
There was nothing I did not like, just figuring out how the shower worked took a little while..............

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48Mirjam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

My husband and I wanted a quiet hotel with character to spend the Valentine's weekend, the Widbrook Grange gave us that, and more. From the moment we arrived on Friday evening, Alison (the relief manager) made us very welcome. She showed us to a lovely room with a 4 poster bed ; the Jane Austen room, (complete with a book), and the bed was so comfy. We took up Alison's offer of a tour of the country house, she showed us the lovely swimming pool and private gym.
We were undecided whether to eat in or out that night, but so glad we stayed in, the food was excellent and the attention paid to us by Marcus who served our food and wine could not be faulted.
Saturday night was a formal Valentine's dinner with 40 guests. Once again we could not fault the food or the service of the staff, it was a memorable meal. Impressive also that they had catered for a wedding party in the afternoon and were still smiling! We talked to some local people who came for the dinner and they told us that the quality of the food here was well known, we have now joined their Diners Club.
Add to that the charm of Bradford-on Avon and the quaint tea rooms and you have the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteleyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

We had a superb weekend at Widbrook Grange. The staff, were efficient, friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our four-poster bedroom was extremely comfortable. The food, especially the dinner menu, was absoluely superb. There are lovely walks to be had around the town, along the canal and through the beautiful surrounding countryside. Bath, with all its attractions, is only 20 minutes or so away. A very good place to go for a short break.

  • Liked — Brilliant staff and superb food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdgvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Dorset
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed for 2 nights to include New Year's Eve. Although facilities, food and staff were good we would never recommend this hotel due to the owners' inability to deal politely and effectively with various problems...such as....Unheated bedrooms and public rooms upon arrival (with outside temps at minus 1 deg) - this applied to the day of our arrival as well as the second day of our stay. An incredibly poor breakfast tray delivered during the evening of Dec. 31st for the following morning consisting of a small carton of orange juice, an apple a roll wrapped in cling film, a sachet of instant coffee and a plastic container of milk . Here again, heating was a problem as the radiators went off at 8.00 a.m. and as there were absolutely no staff available, (bearing in mind that the owners lived on site) and all public rooms were locked, we were forced to venture out early to keep warm!
In view of all the above there was plenty of opportunity for some sort of recompense in order to create good will, however non was forthcoming. ...all very disappointing.

  • Liked — Fopd and public rooms and proximity to lovely villages
  • Disliked — owners were rude and unable to deal with any problems
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinder_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WidbrookGrange, Owner at Widbrook Grange, responded to this review, 27 January 2009
We did have a problem with the electronic thermostat control for the heating in this guest's bedroom but we feel that they are being a little unfair with their comments considering how we dealt with the problem.

The guests arrived on New Years Eve and when we took them to their room we found a problem with the electronic thermostat that controls the heating radiators temperature. I tried to fix the problem and got the system working but to be absolutely sure that the guest would not be cold , should the system fail again, we supplied them with free standing heaters for the room. We were unable to move the guests to another room because the hotel was full and we were unable to call in an electrician because it was New Year's Eve. We did however arrange for an electrician to come to the hotel during the afternoon of New Year's Day. The problem was sorted out and the heating worked perfectly well after his visit.

I tried to explain to the guests that we had a technical problem and that I was doing all I could to resolve it and I made sure that they had heaters for their room. This explanation however did not seam to satisfy them and at at one point they were quite rude to our receptionist to the extent that they subsequently apologise to her.

The guest were fully aware of what services we were offering on New Year's Day morning. They were told when they booked that the reception, restaurant and public rooms would not be open in the morning and that we would be providing them with a breakfast tray in the bedroom. We offer this limited service to allow our staff, who have been working until the early hours of the morning, the opportunity to get a reasonable ammount of rest before they come back to work.

Because we only offer a limited service on New Year's Day morning we only charge half price for our rooms on New Years Eve. The guest booked on this basis.

The breakfast tray that we supplied them had on it . Fresh Orange Juice, Cereals, and Fresh Milk, Toast or Croissants and Preserves and Fresh Fruit. Each Room has in it Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate making facilities.

Even though the reception was not open my wife and I were in the hotel and available to contact by the gurests at any time. All they had to do was to call us on the internal phone system, instruction on how to do this is clearly shown in their bedroom. This is necessary should there be an emergancy. We never heard from the guests until they arrived back at the hotel on New Year's Day afternoon.

On new Year's day afternoon the guests enjoyed afternoon tea in front of a roaring log fire in our lounge and had dinner in our private dining room. They said that they enjoyed both afternoon tea and dinner and also the New Year's Eve Banquet on the previous evening.

I am a bit surpised that after over two weeks they decided to put their comments on Trip Advisor. We get very few complaints and and on the very rare occassions that we do we take them very seriously. We had a full hotel on New Years Eve and have many comments of praise from other guests who stayed with us.

We felt that we had done all we could, given the circumstances, to make the stay of all our guests a happy one and are sorry that the guest who have written the comment do not feel that we did enough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.2 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
3.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Property: Widbrook Grange
Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing