We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil setting with good food”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We spent an all too brief Honeymoon here. Our room was so romantic with a very comfortable four poster bed. In spite of it being a cold February night, the room was extremely well heated. Dinner in the restaurant was very good with a varied choice on the menu. As we were there on Shrove Tuesday the chef even made us pancakes. Plenty of choice for breakfast as well. Would loved to have stayed longer, however, we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPJCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2009

My boyfriend and I spent a lovely weekend at Widbrook Grange. The location is great - walking distance from beautiful Bradford on Avon where there is also a train station - great for a day trip to Bath or Bristol. The hotel itself is situated in the countryside so it feels lovely and peaceful there.

Our room was great - large with a super comfortable sleigh bed - which was a treat! The food is amazing - I think that I enjoyed my best ever full english there :o) And the restaurant is top quality - lovely local food used.

The staff are really friendly and helpful - you feel more like you're at home (just an extremely nice grand one) than at a hotel. I can't really fault this place! :o)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tisOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

A spacious comfortable room ver tastefully decorated - although as a seasoned traveller and frequent user of hotels - single beds pushed together don't do it for me!! But hey, this is a classy hotel. The restaurant excels itself and my wife and I don't mind paying for quality - and Widbrook delivers admirably - food fanatics will love this place. But get plenty of exercise you need a big appetite!! The swimming pool water is cool..not for you folk used to Florida or Canary Islands heat..or full sclae leisure centre facilities. There is literally a small pool and small gym area - not a Hilton/Holiday In scale set-up. There's only 5 channels of TV - but again we don't pay these rates to watch TV !!! We highly recommend Widbrook Grange if you're tired of main chain hotel life!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Lovely hotel, splendid food, very hospitable hosts - Peter and Jane Wragg, a great place to stay and very close to the sights of Bath. Very highly recommended.

Dan and Linda Conley

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

There may have been snow outside but we had a very warm welcome on arrival. We stayed in the main house and our room (The Brontes) was spacious and very comfortable. Due to the adverse weather we did not venture out during the weekend but felt that the gardens and walk to the village would be lovely in better weather. However, the sitting areas were all so comfortable, it was no hardship to just relax indoors. The food was of a very high standard and the staff both helpful and friendly. In all, an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranklinWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Another great stay at Widbrook Grange. The idyllic location, fantastic food and most of all, the personal service from the friendly staff are why I keep coming back to stay in this beautiful country house. Will definitely be coming back to stay next time I'm in this part of the country.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The service was perfect; everybody was helpful all the time any time during our stay. The room was beautifully decorated with old yet fresh furniture, everything was tastefully coordinated, charming and romantic. Food was excellent. Location of the hotel in the countryside, yet only 20 min. walking distance from the center of the town along the picturesque canal is just perfect. We saw a variety of wild animals and birds on the hotel grounds, which was fun to watch. The closeness to Bath with its historical sites and good shopping, was another great advantage of hotel's location.
What I liked best was the feeling of home away from home, a very friendly atmosphere.
There was nothing I did not like, just figuring out how the shower worked took a little while..............

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48Mirjam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
738 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
873 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £135 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing