We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our party of 15 were handsomely treated”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2009

For my Golden Wedding I gathered all my children and grandchildren together on Saturday 4 April 2009. We checked in and had a nice swim before a walk down the towpath to Bradford. Our evening meal was lovely - nice portions and well presented and served. Our rooms were comfortable, my wife and I in the main house and the others in the outbuildings. Fortunately the weather was good - I am not too sure about the outside walk to the outbuildings if it were to rain. Despite us being a group of 7 bedrooms we were unable to negotiate a discount which I thought was a bit stingy in the present economic situation.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamrollwesterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Widbrook Grange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2009

Disappointed by value for money at £135 per night. Room was getting to the point of needing refurbishment and really nothing special. Expected it to be A1 for the price and it was B2

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

First class meal,
First class service
Cannot fault in any way
Our first visit & Cannot wait to come again
The proprietor Mr. Peter Wragg was a first class host

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shandy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed for just one night our 28th wedding aniversary',very nice welcome on our arrival, all the staff extremely pleasent and helpfull We booked for bed/breakfast but when we arrived we were asked if we would like dinner that evening ,we had a wonderful meal,we couldn't fault anything the food was fantastic,our room had a lovely double aspect ,a view over the gardens and the fields.having spent the day in bath it was great to come back to the hotel and have a swim.the two comfortable lounges were tastfully furnished to suit the style of the hotel.we both felt we would have like our stay to have been longer,and i'm sure we will go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzyLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

A good hotel with very good food. The staff are welcoming and very attentive. A very pleasant place for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomioRarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

We stayed at Widbrook Grange in March 2009 and booked a four poster room which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. I cannot rate this hotel enough. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every way and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and is ideal for an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We regrettably did not eat an evening meal in the restaurant as we had prior plans but breakfast the following morning was wonderful. I would not hesitate to reccommend this perfect country retreat to anyone looking for a peaceful break in idilic surroundings. We will definately return. Our only complaint is we only stayed for one night. Absolutely wonderful !

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obtuseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Me and my Partner stayed here for the weekend on the Longleat package which included Breakfast, Dinner and Longleat Passport tickets. We really could not have chose a better place to stay. As soon as we arrived in the small town of Bradford on Avon we felt such a nice feeling of the area and had high expectation of the Country House and we were not disappointed, it was a fantastic setting.

We spent a couple of hours in the town of Bradford on Avon as we got there early. It was then when we went to check in that the GREAT service really started. We had booked for a 4 poster room, and the lady on reception explained that the house was only a third full so she asked if we would like to have a look at 2 different rooms and choose the one we preferred. Which was great!!! The room was very clean and looked out across the fields which was lovely.

Now let's move onto the Restaurant - All i am going to say is Exceptional, both service and food. The best way for you to understand is to go there and try it for yourself.

Overall we had a fantastic break and my partner is already looking to return in the summer this year :-)

Thanks for a great weekend
Richard and Kaylea

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
536 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
244 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £119 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing