We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous relaxing experience”
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widbrook Grange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2010

What a wonderful hotel, ideally situated to many places of interest. the town is charming and the canal an enjoyable walk.

the Hotel was extremely comfortable and relaxing. the staff were very attentive and kind.

Would highly recommend to others

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

In writing a review one would normally be complimentary whilst perhaps suggesting some small improvement that could be made. Such is not the case here. In reviewing all aspects of my stay, from initial contact through to our departure, I cannot find an area in which an improvement could be suggested. We were made to feel very welcome by all, from the owners to the cleaning lady. We occupied two rooms and found them both to be both individual and of an extremely high standard bearing in mind the reasonable rates charged. The restaurant created and delivered a menu that was so varied and delicious that it persuaded us to eat in every night and not feel the need to seek dinner elsewhere.
All this and a swimming pool and gymnasium thrown in.
As it says in the title --- "Perfect".

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rit42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Our first impression of this small country house hotel, set in attractive grounds in a beautiful part of the country, were good. Our reception was both friendly and efficient. We were shown to Room 19 (Charles Dickens) in the Stable Block. Although the decor was nicely presented and the room very clean, the heating was not turned on, and although soon remedied, detracted from the welcome.
The hotel staff was generous to a fault in catering for our needs,(my husband and I went with a group from our running club), particularly in delaying breakfast until 11.30, to enable us to have an early run and comfortable showers before doing justice to the Chef's 'full English' with all the trimmings! I was impressed by his ability to cater for such a large group as ours as well as preparing Sunday lunch.
Dinner, of the highest quality, was served by helpful, unobtrusive staff who seemed genuinely happy to serve us. As a coeliac, unable to eat wheat and gluten, I was given my own 'adapted' version of the standard and a la carte menus on arrival, which was reassuring and gave me the confidence to enjoy my meals: Chef certainly knows his stuff - bravo!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dindyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Planned a weekend reunion of friends including a young family. A very comfortable Country House Hotel with beautiful indoor swimming pool, gym and extensive gardens complete with orchard. Walked along the canal path to bike hire shop and cycled to Bath and back along the canal tow path while others went by train. Very easy to organise thanks to the helpful staff. Food excellent which made the dinner in the private dining room very special and memorable. Peter and Jane were very accomodating for all our needs. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinson486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Good service whith a friendly touch. Very good breakfast and restaurang. Fine bedrooms and sittingrooms. The locality is perfect for a visit to some superb English gardens!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

the reception was empty when we arrived, 10 minutes later and despite constantly ringing the bell we were still waiting. after we were shown our room the manageress?
promptly disappeared leaving us to struggle up a steep flight of stairs with our luggage.
tried to turn on the bedside radio it was switched of at the socket which we located by pulling out the bed, this then caused my wife to have a fit of coughing (she has asthma) with the amount of dust she disturbed when switching on the radio and bedside light.
we booked for dinner, when we arrived at the correct time we again found ourselves waiting 10 minutes I went in search of someone to serve us and found the owner talking to another couple he gave a grudging apology about being busy.
little did we know worse was to follow the beds and pillows were extremely hard and we both tossed and turned all night long. by the morning we both had enough although we booked for 4 nights 1 was all we were prepared to suffer and decided to leave, the owner was not best pleased. the hotel and grounds are very pleasant to look at and the food was very good. it's a pity so many small things added together spoiled a break we were really looking forward to as it was our 42nd anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sinclair44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just had a perfect wedding at Widbrook Grange with Peter and Jane making sure everything went smoothly for us. This is a perfect venue if your looking for a small intimate civil wedding. The ceremony and wedding breakfast room caters for up to 50 guests. From the pimms with guests on the lawn, wedding photos in the beautiful gardens and a fabulous three course meal we just can not fault the day at all and give it 100% recommendation. That braised featherblade beef just melted in the mouth and the choice of desserts was sublime. We also stayed in room 15 (Thomas Hardy) and what a charming typically english rose garden room it is (picture on the website does not do it full justice, its much prettier than that) It was spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. We have already decided we are going back again for our 1st wedding anniversary if not before. If you are looking for a small wedding venue or a place to have that very special family meal then I would recommend Widbrook. All the staff were very accommodating, the chefs are excellant and Peter and Jane are lovely hosts. Thanks Widbrook. Karen & Richard

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
462 reviews
5.9 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
744 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Widbrook, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £132 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing