We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Beeches Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woolley Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moonraker(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Polebarn(Trowbridge)
US$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel(Trowbridge)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
337
108
24
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
108
24
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roommilking shedpotatoescart housefresh fruitlittle extrasanimal loversshetland poniesfarm animalsbottled waterlovely placebiscuitsself cateringwarm welcomeplay areathe main houseeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

One to add to the list. Homely, cosy and friendly ..... Great breakfast which set us up for the day. Great bits and bobs in the room from a bowl of fruit to packets of fudge, plus a folder with lots of useful information.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

a lovely b & b in a lovely setting, fruit, bottled water & chocs in the room, what a lovely gesture, nothing was too much trouble. Room was lovely & not cheaply decorated, our young daughter loved seeing the goat & chickens. Would recommend & stay again, a lovely break & Lovely owners - THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachaeljford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was the second visit. The first time was in the main farmhouse and this time we stayed in the Potato Shed. Both visits have been a delight and we look forward to returning soon. The attention to detail in the furnishings is amazing and contributes to the enjoyment of the stay. Little touches like providing a torch and umbrella in the room as well as, special soaps, packets of fudge etc. show the amount of attention that has been put into the presentation. Externally, the chickens, cats, goat and lovely dog were all welcoming and the variety of breakfast options was an unexpected surprise. The location on the edge of Bradford on Avon was ideal for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A lovely B & B in a fab location. We were made to feel really welcome, and given lots of info about the area for walks and choice of restaurants. Our room was a very good size for the three of us and breakfast was fab. Thanks !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just returned home from a 3 day break with my wife and 10 year old son. Although I booked 3 nights at a farmhouse B&B I was told on arrival that the £115 per night for a family room ie. a double room with a single bed crammed in, did not include breakfast and that would cost a further £90 for the 3 nights. I was told we needed to take this up with Booking.com, as if it was nothing to do with them. I was handed a sheet of paper that said I hadn't booked breakfast but could so at up to £10 per person per night. So not the first time then. I was then asked to pay in full for the stay before 9pm as they get busy with breakfasts in the morning. Doesn't everyone.
With hindsight I could have booked a hotel in central Bath but fell for the not so idyllic farmhouse.
The beds were very uncomfortable and everything else was basic. The play areas were overgrown and the cottages tired. I would not recommend this 'B&B' to anybody

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therealburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechesFarmhouse, Owner at The Beeches Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are really disappointed that you were not happy with your stay at The Beeches Farm House.

As a result of guest requests we have added the choice of a reduced price 'ROOM ONLY' arrangment to our B&B business.
This can be that guests sometimes prefer to sleep in late and go out for lunch instead, or are going out for dinner or until late the night before and would still be full, they may wish to leave really early for the next part of their trip, some people are just not breakfast eaters (like myself) and do not want to pay for a breakfast they don't want to eat, or some, simply because they want a cheaper stay.
When your 'ROOM ONLY' reservation came through we had no way of knowing that you had booked 'ROOM ONLY' in error.
The sheet of paper we hand to you on arrival is simply to offer the opportunity of ordering breakfast should you change your mind. The cost is exactly the same if you book with breakfast included in advance or book 'room only' and add breakfast when you are here.

We politely request payment on arrival as we are indeed very busy giving our breakfast guests our full attention in the morning. This is mentioned on our web site for all to see before booking. We have burnt many a breakfast when trying to process card payments and saying farewell to guests and checking they have enjoyed their stay at the same time as cooking and serving breakfast.

Yours is the only comment we have received about beds not being comfortable. Our other guests all seem to have a good nights sleep so we are sorry that they were not to your liking. Our web site does state that when the family room is booked you can still book a double room there there is limited space for an added extra bed.
We hope that makes guests aware that it is a fairly tight fit but lots of our other guests have been satifsied with this arrangement.

Our play area and games field are mowed regularly although we are cultivating a wild flower meadow around the football field and the grass is quite long there.

From other guest comments we assume our rooms are not what they would consider 'basic'. We wonder how else we could have added to the generous courtesy baskets stuffed to over filling with selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate, mint crisp chocolates, a fresh fruit basket replenished daily, home made organic soaps, local fudge and biscuits, mineral water, tissues and flowers. We have many appreciative comments on this website and others on these touches and how we have thought of everything but are always open to suggestions. On websites there are pictures of all the rooms so guests can see the standard of room they are paying for. If they do not like the rooms I assume they do not book.

With all that you were not pleased with at The Beeches we are rather surprised that you stayed three days and nights without taking the time to let us know you were unhappy. Had you mentioned that you dis-satisfaction we would have been very pleased to help you find alternative accommodation in the area that may have been more to your liking.

We have always ranked quite highly on 'TripAdvisor' in the very competitive environment of Bradford on Avon and although not perfect, comments from other guests seem to imply that we are heading in the right direction. Indeed the last 9 reviews have given us full marks. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews