We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the best ever......, in a class of its own.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Pauline and Nigel are excellent hosts. No detail is left out and many more are included than you would have anywhere else. You find tea and coffee making facilities in most B and Bs these days, but not many also have little samples of home made fudge and lovely marshfield speciality biscuits (eg millionaire shortbread). There is a fresh bowl of fruit, bottles of water, every kind of tea possible, ground coffee sachets, a torch, an umbrella to borrow, a corkscrew and and and .
We took over all the rooms as it was a birthday trip. Every room was individual and perfect. Thank you so much for making our stay with friends so special.
The breakfasts were delicious and the menu extensive and loads of choice.
Thank you to The Beeches.

Room Tip: The rooms are all outstanding and individual, but we loved the farmhouse room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeechesFarmhouse, Owner at The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Susan T,
It is so nice of you to take the time to write such great things about the Beeches Farm house,I think you like it here as much as we do!
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Beeches farm House for your celebration 'get together'
We enjoyed being part of the 'cloak and dagger' surprise planned for the big Oh Birthday.and enjoyed our view from the main farm house as more and more of your family popped out of their hiding places in the rooms with balloons and bubbly!
We are so pleased that all of your group had such a great time and we hope that they will all be back again to enjoy some more of the area in the not too distant future.
Happy the Birthday Boy had a Happy Birthday.
Nice meeting you all, Best Wishes.
Pauline and NIgel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent a total of 3 nights in the Family room (the Milking shed) for 2 adults and 2 teenage children. We had a lovely time and the owner made us feel very welcome. The farmhouse is very easy to find, well signposted and it is close to Bradford -on-Avon town centre with a great pub called the Castle Inn where we dined every night. The Beeches Farmhouse is very quiet and off the road and has various farm animals and our children enjoyed chasing them!

I can't fault anything really about our stay. However, and this is perhaps being a little picky, but it would have been good if the owner had put the heating on prior to our arrival in our room as it was a particularly cold day when we arrived (10-12 degrees celsius) and upon entering the room it felt unfortunately cold and damp and it took us about a good hour to get the room up to a comfortable temperature. Most people don't like to arrive into a cold room whether it is a restaurant, dentist waiting room, hotel room etc. so it would have been nice to put it on perhaps one hour prior to our arrival just to get the chill off.

One last thing, the picture of the Family room on the Beeches Farmhouse internet website looks big and spacious. However, their picture is deceptive and when you enter the room it is not at all as big as it is portrayed on their website. We chose that room as we didn't want to feel to be too much on top of each other in the room and have some room to walk for the 4 of us but we were a little cramped and it left not much room to put our 3 small suitcases and a travel bag anywhere and kept bumping into them. There was a luggage rack provided to put one suitcase on it but there was nowhere we could unfold it as there would have been no room to walk to the bathroom to the suitcases were just kind of going from corner to corner as we moved around the room. The room was very clean and there were a lot. of little special touches added such as flannels (very rare to be given these to use in a bed and breakfast!), shower gel, shower cap, a generous choice of tea, herbal teas and a variety of coffees. Just to note that the shower runs totally cold after only 2 adults showering separately. So if a family of 4 wants to shower one after each other in the morning this would not be possible and 2 would have to shower in the evening, something we did which was fine for us but might not be fine for other families.

The breakfast was superb I must say and I have never experienced such a great choice of options that you can choose from for your breakfast from hot home made waffles, to scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or a full english breakfast which was enormous.The portions are very generous and the quality excellent.The owner also serves daily a home cooked fruit compote which was delicious! It was a pleasure to go down for breakfast every morning and it truly set us off for the whole day.

It was overall a very good Bed and Breakfast but if you are looking for a large family room that sleeps 2 older children it may be worth considering opting for 2 separate rooms.

Room Tip: Opt for 2 rooms if you sleep more than 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

From when we arrived to when we left we were made very welcome and helped with all our needs.
It would be difficult to walk to Bradford on Avon in the country lanes but the Hotel position is lovely. Every service seems to have been anticipated and attended to you will find all you need within your room or the grounds of this lovely farm building.
The hostess, Pauline, will I am sure,read and digest every review and if anybody has noticed a problem, this would be rectified and that fault would never occur again.
I challenge you to find fault with this house/hotel !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Really good accomodation in a very convenient situation for exploring Bradford on Avon and surroundings. However, we thought it a little expensive. We have paid less elsewhere and had perfect accomodation. Although the rooms are very clean & comfortable, there were little irritating niggles that we don't usually come across - the bathroom mirror was very small and off centre & there was no shaving mirror; the bath tap dripped, staining the bath, which therefore looks uninviting & needs re-enamelling. We also had to climb into the bath to reach the taps easily! This is, of course, being really picky! The fresh fruit & water in the room were a much appreciated touch, and the bath towels were generously sized and plentiful. Breakfast was excellent. It would however have been useful to know that most pubs in the area don't serve food on Monday evenings - we drove to three before we found our dinner!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 19sweetpea45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really lovely place to stay. We spent the weekend. Flexible regarding arrival time. Close to Bradford on Avon. Very high standard room with comfortable bed. Helpful hosts and friendly farm animals (chickens and a goat!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BlueGrass51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Beautiful accommodation and super friendly service in an amazing patch of the planet. Pauline is a fantastic host. I couldn't fault my stay, will definitely be going back and couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBoydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very comfortable. Rooms were spotless, cosy, chintzy and had comfortable beds. There was a nice hot shower in the bathroom and loads of towels. The hospitality tray was well stocked and the hosts very thoughtful.
The accommodation sits within a smallholding with ducks, chickens and an elderly goat. The hens had just started laying again so we had lovely fluffy, yellow fresh scrambled egg for breakfast. Generally the breakfasts were superb. Lots of choice and generous portions. As a vegetarian I felt well catered for. A cut above the average, I think...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Barns B&B
Widbrook Barns B&B
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages

Address: The Beeches Holt Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £70 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four of our five rooms are on the ground floor in converted farm buildings each with it's own patio and enjoy a more private atmosphere. Self catering cottages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing