We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a peculiar set up, not one I was really expecting.
The 'double bed' was actually 2 singles pushed together meaning my partner and I couldn't actually share properly as the beds slid apart! The room we had was a bit drafty due to the ill fitting door, the beams in the room also had gaps meaning you could hear into the room next door and vice vera. There were also too many 'busy nik naks' of a personal nature obviously belonging to the owner which felt out of place, especially the teddies!
The little extras in the room were delightful however, handmade soap in the bathroom, little packets of fudge etc on the tea tray.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    102
    23
    4
    9
See reviews for
168
173
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I are on a UK road trip from Australia and stayed recently at Beeches Farmhouse. We found it to be a clean and welcoming authentic weekend stay. Pauline the hostess is a very interesting person with a wealth of knowledge and experience. Bradford-on-Avon is a gorgeous village and an unexpected treat. It is only about a 15 minute train ride into Bath. It is so lovely and unspoiled. The very plentiful breakfast was delicious and served in a delightful conservatory room. Would have no hesitation at all in recommending Beeches Farmhouse. If we ever get the chance to return to the UK we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaggieCrazy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Lovely place to stay, my three year old and my mum loved it. There are a few chickens and ducks on site, a little slide play area and the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts were friendly. Not far from the town

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After spending hours looking for the right place to stay for a rare night away without our children we found it, and did we ever! From a very warm and friendly welcome, as though we were old friends, to the clean and spacious cottage. Having booked a double room we were upgraded to the cottage; spacious, clean, quiet and with some lovely and unexpected treats to have with a cuppa. Breakfast in the beautiful and characterful family home gave us lots of choice and was very generous in size. When we return we will do so with our children as there is an area for football and running about, climbing frame, games room with table football and a pool table + more.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghtyghjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been here for one night on our trip from Utrecht to Exmoor and we really enjoyed the quite area, the nice room, the good beds, the comfortable bathroom, the astonishing nice fresh cooked breakfast and the garden. Our four year old son enjoyed the garden to play in. We surely would come back.

Room Tip: We had booked the milking shed and this is a very nice room with three single beds (which we prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford, england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Used this property as an overnight stay on our way to Devon. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived the owners were very nice. Our room was very comfortable and clean with lovely little extras i.e fudge. The accommodation was very hot due to the hot weather which we expected so we slept with the door open most of the night. The breakfast was very good and set us up for the day. The downside for us was the playroom it smelt quite strongly of damp so not comfortable to play games in for long and that the guests in the accommodation next door to us had their tv on loud and then were on their mobile phone on speaker until midnight. Needless to say did not get a good night's sleep as walls are very thin!

Room Tip: See if you can get accomodation not joined to other guests for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank simon5087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

After a long, hot day walking all we wanted was to rest in beautiful cool room - which was exactly what we got. The bed, linen, toiletries and décor were comfortable and tasteful, and Pauline, our host, could not have been more helpful. Worth noting is the fact that the shower in our room (The Pig Stye) was one of the most powerful we've ever encountered: a pleasant change from the usual dribble in hotel/B&Bs. If you are walking, The Beeches is quite a long way out of town, so ring in advance for directions across the fields or check your map to avoid the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin7man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
1.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Moonraker
The Moonraker
#1 of 4 in Trowbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages

Property: The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
Address: The Beeches Holt Road, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing