We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Iford Manor: The Peto Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We visited Iford Manor on our way to another place in the area. The road to this place was very narrow, we thought whether we are going the wrong way. But once we arrived at the place we realised that this is a real gem.
We only wandered in the garden and it is very well kept. It is a very beautiful place to take lots of photographs.
Small ponds, small water streams and statues are really something.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank roshithaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    30
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A picturesque view in every direction.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The garden is not large however there is much of interest packed into it - statues, columns and various stone bits and pieces. These things are largely antiques or copies. Everywhere one looks there is a "romantic" view. We came from the picturesque village of Bradford on Avon and near to Iford Manor the road is, for a short way, challengingly narrow - glad no one was coming in the opposite direction or that I was not in a camper van! We visited on a weekend but I think it would be better on one of the weekdays when it is open, as too many people spoil the romance of it somewhat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EyesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Interesting gardens with lots to look at and plenty of photo opportunities. Be good to go in different seasons. Delicious loose leaf teas and homemade cake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryjo831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
825 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“An interesting garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This garden created by designer Harold Peto in the early part of the twentieth century is a joy. It is not very large but is extremely attractive.
It is idiosyncratic and is inspired by Italy and the gardens of Ancient Rome. There are statues, follies and a beautiful cloister transferred from Italy and rebuilt. It is now used for small scale opera.
The site is very hilly and a walk up to the top of the garden is well worth the effort. There are a couple of ponds, a lot of wisteria, much topiary and a superb Japanese Garden. It costs £5 per person but worth it. You can also get a cup of tea and a slice ofhome made cake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Didn't actually manage to get inside because......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

you need hard cash!!! Just as a heads up, this pretty place (from the outside at least!) doesn't take cards, so make sure you have cash on you!!!! At the time it was £5 pp for entry. We had a picnic in the fields (over the bridge and to the right) and waited till 2pm only to find that its a cash only. No criticism, just be aware! I've marked it excellent on potential!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iford Manor: The Peto Garden also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Iford Manor: The Peto Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing