We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely olde world Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We recently stayed here in the Coach house . The rooms are modern and comfortable being newly refurbished. The house itself is very nostalgic and takes you back in time. We learnt it is due for some refurbishment which it will benefit from. It has an amasing curved stair case and the breakfast dining area has beautiful light and scenery. Peter the duty Manager was very helpful and friendly as we're all the staff. Take time to check out the vineyard. This hotel is ideally located for Bradford upon Avon which is a must, it's like a Harry Potter town , great restaurants and shops.
Top tip, the coach house rooms are more up to date, the house rooms are more authentic to the period but not quite so comfy.
Try an omelette for breakfast , they are delicious.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

we were obliged to stay as we were at one of the weddings that they cater for significantly. The setting is beautiful,circular drive and lovely garden. I had read some of the reviews and was a bit worried so upgraded our room-up two flights and no lift -if I had been on my own I would or should have enquired if there was a disabled room. The room was spacious and clean with a view of the front gardens. Bathroom a bit tired and flaky paint and scuffed rotten bath panel-Pillows very sad-I do think managers should try sleeping in every room of the hotel they manage and these sort of niggles would not arise. The decor on the top floor was tired-grubby hand prints on fire doors and scuffed wallpaper where suitcases were hauled up and down. I've stayed in many Best Western in the US and always enjoyed the diversity and always found them to be of a good standard. Can't say anything about the food as it was wedding food and therefore not chosen by me-always feel it a miracle that the food for everyone was hot and on the table at weddings. Staff very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mansel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Staff had little idea.....including management. Long waiting times for drinks in the bar, then the beer was off. 15 minute wait for hot buffet food at breakfast. No orders taken for tea or coffee. Rooms in main house old dated and tatty decor. Very noisy too with road noise, noisy landing and door at top of stairs. Food had hair in it!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for staying at the Leigh Park hotel I am disappointed you did not have an enjoyable stay.I take note of your comments regarding breakfast however as you can see from previous reviews we get many compliments for the quality and variety of our breakfasst buffet which contains many locally sorced products with a large hot and cold selection.I apologise for the hair in your food however I understand this was not brought to our attention at the time as the meal was eaten in your room and the hair was found in the last mouthful of the meal,as you can see from our website the hotel is located some distance from the road set in 5 acres of landscaped gardens and we have never had comments regarding road noise before.It is true rooms in the main house are more of a traditional design in keeping with the period charm of the property however we also have contemporary rooms and would have gladly moved you if this was your preference

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I booked the best western leigh park as a birthday surprise for my husband as we were going to visit longleat. We arrived late on friday night + were allocated rooms in the coach house. At 1st glance the hotel looked promising, the room was nice + the bathroom was modern. We went in search of the hotel bar + found what could only be described as a living room, decorated in the style of my grandmothers, with a counter in the corner selling alcohol. Would have liked some food but they stopped serving at 9.30pm. Had a few drinks but the bar closed before 12 which is early for a hotel chain. There was a wedding going on + they were obviously still servings drinks to the guests but they didnt extend that to the hotels paying guests. The next morning I found the shower cold + the water pressure was very weak. Breakfast the next morning was surprising good, with quite a large selection + the breakfast room has a lovely view. After a great day at longleat, we took a stroll into bradford on avon, which we found extremely quiet, especially for a couple in there 20's. On going back to hotel we found another wedding. There was a bit of music noise but it wasnt too bad. Everyone staying at the hotel seemed to be attending the wedding, so that could explain the lack of facilities for other guests. Overall the hotel was disappointing + defintely over priced. Expected more from a Best Western hotel.

Room Tip: Coach house room was lovely
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
latonaleisure, Director of Sales at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for staying at the Leigh Park hotel.I am delighted you enjoyed your room,our new contemporary coach house rooms are very popular.We have investigated the water pressure and can only assume this was a temporary bli[p as the whole system is brand new and we have never had other comments of this nature. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our snug bar, indeed it is very traditional in design and blends well with the classic charm of the house. Indeed Bradford on Avon is quiet however it has an old world charm,with many shops restaurants and bars in keeping with a delightful Saxon town set on the river Avon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We would like to say if you are looking for a wedding venue in the Bradford on Avon region, then please consider Leigh Park. They were brilliant from start to finish on Sat 3rd Sept. The customer service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Being the bride I wanted everything to run perfect and it did. Things would have not run smoothly on the day without David - he was very professional and was always smiling. Timings didn't matter and they were very flexible. Food was great, rooms were beautiful and breakfast was great to cure a few drinks the night before. The day was perfect, thanks to Leigh Park. Recommend the fireworks for any wedding there too. We didn't want the evening to end and danced until the very end. Would recommend a visit if you are considering your wedding soon!

p.s there own label wine was delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tracey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel has lovely grounds and a pleasant setting with its own vineyard. The food was very good but the service was sometimes shambolic especially at breakfast time with a total lack of organisation. Although the staff were very hard-working they needed more training. Wine bottles were brought to the dining room already opened, tables were being set for breakfast whilst guests sat for long periods with dirty plates waiting for their next course. There were a lot of mix-ups with orders. The staff were very willing and pleasant and only a few tweaks are required. Our de-luxe room was not vacuumed once in 4 days nor was the bathroom floor cleaned. The new manager David seems very capable and is addressing the problems. There are a lot of weddings and staff appear to be diverted to private parties etc at the expense of ordinary paying guests.

Room Tip: If staying in the annexe ask for a room overlooking the vineyard as the rooms facing the function ro...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed several times at the Leigh Park Hotel. It is a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station but up a steep hill so walking will take some effort if you have bags.

The building is in the old manor house style and the grounds are lovely. So lovely that the weekends are usually booked for weddings and events. Beware if you have the rooms that have windows toward the event hall.

The rooms in the main building are old with the peculiarity that you would expect from an older building. The baths of the three rooms I have stayed in have all been redone and they are nicely done. The beds are fine and there are a selection of pillows. Each room has a kettle to make tea or coffee and cookies are provided. The usual toiletries are provided.No ironing boards without asking.

There is a buffet breakfast in the morning with the classic english breakfast of beans, eggs, cooked mushrooms and meats. In addition, they have a variety of breads and cereals.

There is a restaurant and bar onsite. There are two pubs within a short walk if you want to eat elsewhere.

There is wifi onsite but it doesn't reach all the rooms.

The staff was very friendly and helpful for anything that I asked.

I'd stay here again if I were in the area although I would refuse the rooms in the back that overlook the event rooms. The wedding events go late into the night and old windows don't provide much soundproofing.

Room Tip: Get in the coachhouse (converted stables?) out back, the rooms are the newest.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.1 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
446 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
727 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shaw Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Leigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Leigh Park Hotel

Address: Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £77 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Leigh Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Leigh Park Country House Hotel & Vineyard. Set in five acres of landscaped gardens, overlooking the picturesque Wiltshire Downs and only a short journey from Bath, the Leigh Park is a classical Georgian country house hotel with charm, character and a subtle elegance. The superbly appointed Vine conservatoire Restaurant offers both traditional English and International cuisine using prime local produce together with home grown organic fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden. The Hotel offers 38 individually designed bedrooms, with the more traditional style rooms in the main house together with sixteen brand new contemporary chic designed executive bedrooms some in the former Coach House. Leigh Park has its own Vineyard which consists of 600 Reichensteiner vines in the one acre of walled garden within the grounds, which produce a particularly attractive medium dry white wine, exclusive to the Hotel. Local Attractions: The Leigh Park Hotel located on the edge of Bradford-on-Avon is situated in an ideal position to visit the many local West Country Tourist attractions including the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon itself, the Georgian Heritage City of Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, and the National Trust Village of Lacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Leigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing