We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
County Clare, Rep. Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful location..”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

When you arrive to Leigh Park Hotel on a sunny day, you can't help but wonder what it was like back in the day. The grounds are beautiful as well as the small vineyard just to the side of the coach house. The dinner was excellent and the staff friendly. If you are in the area, I would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    145
    104
    50
    50
See reviews for
115
203
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It's a really nice place in a really nice location but once in the room you know it's part of a chain. We were upgraded to the better room but no-one bothered telling us, we just figured it out. Reception confirmed this when we checked out but if it hadn't have been for the bath robes, I am not sure you could tell that you were in the better room. I don't expect a 1980's travel kettle and plastic tea-bag caddy at £100 a night. We were in the separate section, the stables or coach house something like that, and had a room with a huge window overlooking the entrance to the car park so only got privacy when we closed the curtains, which was annoying. This place was more expensive than all the local independent places and I can't see what you get for your extra money.

It was often really hard to find any staff but when you did they were really helpful and friendly. But there were chunks of time when you just couldn't get served at the bar or order food. This place obviously needs more staff as whenever there was a large group around, all the staff had to disappear to look after them. This was obvious at breakfast on day 1, as a large group had been in and destroyed the place and when we got there was hardly any food and hardly any staff interested in serving us as they were clearing up.

The Manager was really nice and was going out of his way to try to build the place back up but frankly it just needs a lot more staff. One major upside for this place was that the food and drink are a lot cheaper than the local non-chain hotels we have been staying at, which makes up slightly for the higher room rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FuManStu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

To start on a positive note, the reception staff were efficient and helpful.

Upon arrival we discovered that we had been put in a single occupancy room....there were two of us for four nights!!!!

We had to stay in this ridiculously small room the first night as there were apparently no other rooms available that night, then the second day when we were moved we had a very very standard room that wasn't even within the main hotel so we had to keep walking back and forth....no Apology.

Some nights the food was ok but other nights the food was appalling. After complaining.....no apology and the waitress replied with 'o dear'

Breakfast was good but we ordered some eggs with our full English and by the time they came we'd eaten the rest of our full English so it wouldn't get cold.

We have short breaks all over the country with small hotels and we would go back to those....we would never go back to this hotel and would never recommend it. The price we paid was NOT ok for the service and quality we recieved. We should have looked on trip advisor before booking this hotel as it would have really helped. We have made a complaint to best western also.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was booked into this hotel with a walking group, I checked in and the reception staff were very pleasant. I was directed to my room which was up a winding flight of stairs and through a rabbit warren of doors and rooms. I was not offered any assistance with my bags. My room was clean, well equipped and quiet.

The food in the restaurant was well presented but I would not rate it as good. As a group we had to pre-book our choices for dinner. A duck stir fry that was presented to me and another lady in our group was greasy, looked as though it had been plated for a long time and neither of us ate it. This was mentioned to the waiter who cleared the plates, he made no comment. Otherwise the staff in the restaurant were attentive and pleasant.

While I had a quiet room some of the other ladies in out grop were not so fortunate. With weddings on two of the three days we stayed they had to suffer the noise of the disco. One lady had to move rooms twice. The room she was allocated had fungal growth on the walls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front without damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceFf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have just celebrated my daughters wedding 27th July, we held the reception at this hotel and we can not praise it enough. The food was exellent, reception and the evening reception as well. The bebrooms were very clean and well stocked with the items you may have come without for your ablutions.The staff were polite and very helpful, the gardens are wonderful, with the secret garden perfect for those wedding pictures. The following morning breakfast was perfect. All in all a superb Hotel and on top of that the sun shon all day, what more could you wish for

Room Tip: The coach house are slighly more expensive but beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is an old Country House set in rolling countryside on the edge of the beautiful cotswold town of Bradford on Avon.Everthing at the wedding at the Winsley methodist church was beautiful -weather was great.Hotel did really good job-there is an orangery overlooking lawned gardens.Our room was in an annex called the coach house-good quality bed and linen-nice large bathroom next to an area of vineyards.Breakfast is taken in the Conservatory-lovely views to Salisbury Downs.Breakfast could have been a little better-staff throughout were highly professional -special mention of the young Barman at the evening reception who worked so hard on a very busy evening.This is an ideal hotel for not only special occasions but for touring the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Coach house annex is quieter and a more modern building-but rooms in the main Hotel are impressive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After 5 good experiences with different Best Western hotels in England in the last weeks, the Leigh Park Hotel was very, very disappointing. We could have lived with the bad kitchen, the noise of the wedding parties, the broken garden furniture, because the location and view are making up for all that, but the treatment at the reception when our credit card failed the morning we checked out, and afterwards also our normal bank pass appeared not to be working, was a horrible experience. They were only worried about the payment of their bill, and totally ignored our panic about what could have caused this failure. It is a very unpleasant feeling when abroad, and having to catch a plain, your accounts appear to be blocked! After the girl found out that their payment was secured, because of the authorisation when we checked in, the staff literally turned their backs upon us, and offered no assistence, not even any kind of sympathy. Compared with the other Best Westerns this felt as a 'cold' and very unpersonal treatment (does not include the restaurant staff!) that had almost made me leave England with a very bad feeling. But luckily at Bristol Airport the people from Avis car rentals turned out to be a lot more helpful - without having to beg them for assistance - and the problem was easily solved with their help. After reading the other comments on this site, I guess that the priority of the hotel management is with the marriages (and the money people spent on them) and not with 'ordinary' hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We very much understood your panic when realising your account was blocked but there was nothing we could do to assist in that personal matter, other than offer you the use of the

Hotel telephone which you declined.

The clear stress of your account being blocked together with the urgency to get away to the airport, we appreciate, was not a good close to your holiday.

We were most concerned for you and although showing compassion did not want to intrude in your dilemma but we certainly did not ‘turn our backs on you’.

We accommodate weddings at Leigh Park every weekend throughout the year in our separate Vendange Suite and we treat all our guests with the same courteous, friendly yet professional service at all times. The main part of the Hotel and restaurant with lounge bar is for residents only.

I am at a loss to understand what the broken garden furniture related to – the only fault I could find was one of the umbrellas on the Vendange Suite patio had an arm damaged in the high winds.

I do hope you had a safe and trouble free journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.1 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
234 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
697 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Polebarn
The Polebarn
#3 of 4 in Trowbridge
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Leigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Leigh Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Address: Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Leigh Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Leigh Park Country House Hotel & Vineyard. Set in five acres of landscaped gardens, overlooking the picturesque Wiltshire Downs and only a short journey from Bath, the Leigh Park is a classical Georgian country house hotel with charm, character and a subtle elegance. The superbly appointed Vine conservatoire Restaurant offers both traditional English and International cuisine using prime local produce together with home grown organic fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden. The Hotel offers 38 individually designed bedrooms, with the more traditional style rooms in the main house together with sixteen brand new contemporary chic designed executive bedrooms some in the former Coach House. Leigh Park has its own Vineyard which consists of 600 Reichensteiner vines in the one acre of walled garden within the grounds, which produce a particularly attractive medium dry white wine, exclusive to the Hotel. Local Attractions: The Leigh Park Hotel located on the edge of Bradford-on-Avon is situated in an ideal position to visit the many local West Country Tourist attractions including the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon itself, the Georgian Heritage City of Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, and the National Trust Village of Lacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Leigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing