We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, elegant country house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, elegant country house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stunning setting and peaceful location. I had a perfectly good night's sleep in a very comfortable bed and room. A little lacking in the housekeeping department: little things like bulbs blown, no shower cap etc. Overall would recommend to my friends. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline Anne P

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at our Hotel. I was thrilled to read that you had a thoroughly enjoyable experience whilst staying with us and I would like to thank you for your comments and feedback, this helps us maintain and improve are standards and services to ensure a superior experience for all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Leigh Park Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    138
    100
    48
    50
See reviews for
108
196
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped for a couple of nights. Lots of parking space. Quick check in. Room was in the Coach House which is adjacent to the main hotel building. Fresh decor, comfortable with a really powerful shower (though even the coldest setting seemed pretty hot). Took a moment to locate the mains socket near the desk - pull the seat back, look up under the desk and there it is - hiding quite far up the wall. Free WiFi worked just fine.

Ate in the restaurant each night. Well appointed dining area with great views of the countryside. Service was prompt and friendly without being fussy. Generous portions of tasty fare. Menu changed from day one to day two allowing a decent variety of options. Didn't try breakfast instead making a coffee in the room.

Recyclable bottled water system in use, so mineral water (optionally sparkling) available at no extra charge. Interesting to see the, on site, vineyard.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: If you are in the Coach House, ask for a room that doesn't face onto the main hotel. This will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Derek K

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was thrilled to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience of our hotel and that you would not hesitate to return. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the dedicated management team and staff as I know they will be very pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the Leigh Park Hotel, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I had been booked in here this May on business. Discovered I had been put in an attic room, up 3 flights of stairs. I have a bad knee and stairs are not good for me. No lifts, so no disabled access beyond the ground floor.
Food was really quite good, and the room was, well, average. An interesting point was that the TV in the room was password protected, I suppose to stop guests using it.
There is an abundance of hotels in the area, and I would not choose this one again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth P

Thank you for your review. I apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay, however I am pleased you enjoyed the food, which I feel is a strength of our Hotel, with everything being cooked fresh to order.

I have fully investigated your comments and it appears that you were part of a large group and we were totally unaware of your situation and you were allocated a room on our second floor - we only have two upper floors in the Hotel and clearly if we had been aware of your bad knee we would most certainly have allocated you a ground floor room. Had we taken your booking direct we would have asked of any specific requirements.

As a Georgian listed building we have no lift however the upper floor rooms are particularly popular with our guests as they afford fantastic views of our landscaped gardens and the Wiltshire Downs beyond.

I can confirm that our contemporary flat screen TVs in all rooms are not password protected – I can only assume you inadvertently went into the ‘menu programme’ and a password is then needed to re-tune the TV. We do not wish to stop guests using the television – quite the contrary.

I do hope you will consider staying at Leigh Park again in the future.

Kind regards.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a residential meeting at this hotel located in a very beautiful part of the country. I was lucky enough to get a room in the recently refurbished Coach House which overlooked the hotels own vineyard, I can honestly say it is one of the best nights sleep I've had whilst working on a conference. The staff were very attentive asnd professional and the hotel is beautifuly laid out, unfortunately bad weather meant we werent able to take advantage of the outdoor space but that too was fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Nicola A

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel whilst attending a conference, the hotel is a popular event destination and it is always a pleasure to read when our dedicated team have helped make a guests stay that little more comfortable and enjoyable. Your comments and feedback are most welcome.

Thank you for choosing the Leigh Park Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon and should you be visiting the area again for business or pleasure, please do not hesitate to visit the hotels own website to make your next booking as we would personally like to assist with any future reservations.

Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited this hotel for a thee day leisure break April 2014 and was initially given accommodation in on the first floor of the main building. This room had a great view but was tired and worn and a bit shabby, after speaking with the hotel manager we were quickly re-located to a room in the Coach House which was of a good standard. The staff at Leigh Park are excellent and very helpful, the restaurant area is very pleasant although a little expensive you can eat in the bar but there is a shortage of space if the hotel is busy. We were given to understand that there is to be some refurbishment of the main building until this is undertaken we would advise guest to ask to be located in the Coach House.

Room Tip: Ask for Coach House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Keith W

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read that you found the dedicated team at the hotel welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout your stay and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and all guest feedback and comments are used to ensure we maintain and improve our standards and services for all our guests to enjoy.

Should you require accommodation in the area again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly as we would personally like to assist with any future reservations and assure you of a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

First time we have felt compelled to write a review on Trip advisor.
We booked this hotel 3 weeks in advance with a cheerful receptionist.
What a disappointment on arrival.

Arrived 5:15pm, Friday 1st Nov-2013 staying 2 nights. (2 nights too many!)
to find the whole process of checking in totally shambolic.

No welcome. Very 'cold’ service, receptionist apathetic. A total mix up as to what rate we were on, booked DBB as was written on the reservation sheet she had in front of her.
I had to prompt the receptionist about booking a time for dinner, as was obviously required on the DBB rate on reservation!
To make matters worse, I was told that I was booked in the ‘Coachhouse’-'' through the two doors''?
This was the front entrance into the hotel from the car park. No effort to explain succinctly that it was across the dark car park around a dark corner courtyard wall.
A minimal courtesy would be a little more explanation with hand signals even directing us. No help or any information on parking around there, it came across as ‘get on with it’.
I felt as if I was a bother to her.
Lighting in the car park was abysmal,

Having found the ‘Coachhouse’ in the poor lighting, the room was cold and not inviting due to the temperature. No heating on. Not what you expect on a damp November evening.
Rang reception to enquire about heating and was told it was programmed to switch on at 18.00, so requested a supplementary heater- but this never arrived. No explanation why not –no apology. Surprise, surprise. Usual Best Western standards we remembered.
Went down to dinner at 7.30pm as it was booked for 8pm and we had a bottle of wine whilst waiting for the menu. We were totally ignored by restaurant staff. No menu, no hello or acknowledgment from any member of restaurant staff or its manager. We were in full view. It wasn’t even that they were busy. In the end I had to make myself known and that we were eating in the restaurant, which they seem surprised at. Do staff not communicate between themselves? as it does help.
Took our food order eventually but they were not interested in taking any wine order as we already had an open bottle in front of us. They seemed totally uninterested as did the restaurant manager who asked if we would like the waitress to return to take a wine order he didn’t offer to take. I was dumfounded.
No choice of bread you had what was put in front of you.
No condiments on table.
As for breakfast, again shambolic, Buffet style. Plenty of staff but don’t know what they do. Tables unmade, left with previous diners dishes, Milk ran out; orange juice ran out; sausages ran out. Cold plates; luke warm beans and scrambled egg, as the only one of the 3 oil heaters underneath servers were lit. Very slow to replenish food. People stood waiting whilst the luke warm food went cold.
Seemed to be very young; inexperienced, untrained staff with no mature supervision looking over them and hence no team work.
Very minimal service, little greeting when you entered, just room number, tea or coffee?!
No simple menu on the table to explain the basics.
If you want fish or porridge as an alternative you had find a waiter/less and ask. Then wait.
Tables not laid to basic standard- cups, milk, butter, sugar.
Can’t even get the basics right.
They need to go back to basics and re-evaluate their customer service.
The only grace was the rooms were clean, tidy, functional and updated.
Having stayed in many hotels in the UK and abroad with the Best Western brand, this was the most shambolic service we have ever experienced.
There is no excuse for being busy, as it was not. What mayhem ensues in the height of summer…..-anybody?
And other hotels seem to cope. It’s what’s called…: Planning.
I didn’t get the discount off a BW gift card either, to be confirmed by ‘phone to me later at home ( on the day the system was ‘down’ ..oh yeh that BW ‘old chestnut’)
So all in all, two days too many at Leigh Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Andrew H

Thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to sincerely apologise for not exceeding your expectations, however I must admit I am a little disappointed that it has taken over six months for you to share your comments and feedback. Whilst we encourage all our guests to share their experiences of our hotel we find it more beneficial if we receive such feedback as soon as possible. This enables us to act quickly and accordingly to rectify any areas of our business that fall below our own very high standards of customer care and service.

The above being said I can honestly inform you that we operate a process whereby we continually and actively assess and improve our hotel and facilities along with identifying any opportunities to enhance our customer care to ensure a more comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests. I would also like to assure you that we have addressed any issues with the external lighting to ensure our guests safety and security.

We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can experience our hospitality first hand and as positively received by the many other guests who have recently shared their comments with travelers and potential guests on this and many other review sites.

Should you wish to accept our offer to return please do not hesitate to contact the hotel general manager directly and she will be only too pleased to personally assist you with any future reservations.

Thank you for choosing the Leigh Park Hotel, we do sincerely hope that you will consider a future stay with us.

Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for one night and what stood out for me apart from the location was how friendly and helpful the staff were. From when we checked in the receptionist was warm and friendly and very helpful about taxis & costs etc to the breakfast staff who were all cheery and genuinely interested in where we were from etc. you don't always get this in hotels especially chains and I was very impressed. Even though we only stayed one night we were made to feel that they valued our business which is common sense to most people for repeat trade but not all establishments manage to portray this. In my opinion Leigh park are spot on with their customer service and should be complemented on how they treat customers. Bradford on Avon is a charming town full of character and near to Bath which is why we stayed there. The hotel I believe has been recently refurbished and we thought it had been done to a very high standard and in keeping with the character of the building. I would imagine Americans would really love it. We loved our twin bedded room with a stunning view of the countryside. Everything was spotless & shower was big and worked well. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Breakfast was not cheap but you did get plenty so not bad value. We had a bit of luxury for one night and for what we paid I still can't believe Leigh Park is only 3 Star ! It maybe to do with not having leisure facilities which by the way didn't bother us. Also plenty of parking which is a bonus compared to Bath. We would recommend and would love to return one day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mortimer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Mortimer64

Thank you for your review and feedback. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you would love to return. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to the management and staff, who I know will be very pleased to read them.

Thank you for choosing the Leigh Park Hotel, we look forward to your return and please do contact the hotel directly or via our website as we would personally like to assist you with any future reservations.

Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Leigh Park Hotel & Vineyard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
Address: Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Leigh Park Country House Hotel & Vineyard. Set in five acres of landscaped gardens, overlooking the picturesque Wiltshire Downs and only a short journey from Bath, the Leigh Park is a classical Georgian country house hotel with charm, character and a subtle elegance. The superbly appointed Vine conservatoire Restaurant offers both traditional English and International cuisine using prime local produce together with home grown organic fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden. The Hotel offers 38 individually designed bedrooms, with the more traditional style rooms in the main house together with sixteen brand new contemporary chic designed executive bedrooms some in the former Coach House. Leigh Park has its own Vineyard which consists of 600 Reichensteiner vines in the one acre of walled garden within the grounds, which produce a particularly attractive medium dry white wine, exclusive to the Hotel. Local Attractions: The Leigh Park Hotel located on the edge of Bradford-on-Avon is situated in an ideal position to visit the many local West Country Tourist attractions including the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon itself, the Georgian Heritage City of Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, and the National Trust Village of Lacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing