We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband and I stayed last weekend on a visit to Bath. We had been looking forward to it as it looked lovely on the website. It certainly has a stunning location. However when we arrived we were told our room was above the function room and that there would be weddings both days and a lot of noise. In these circumstances at other hotels we have been warned in advance so we can make other arrangements. Not so here. When we said we weren't happy about this, they offered us a different room - this was tiny, barely enough room to walk around the bed, obviously the last room in the hotel that no one wants! The attitude was take it or leave it, they really didn't care or appreciate our concerns. We were made to feel as if they were doing us a massive favour and we were a nuisance to them. We had no choice but to accept, there was no apology or compensation offered. A lot of wedding guests stayed over, it would make much more sense to accommodate them over the function room. On the Friday evening we had dinner which was pleasant enough and the service was good. However Saturday evening it was a different story. The bar was not manned, each time we wanted a drink my husband had to go to reception and find someone. Service in the restaurant was minimal, as most staff around were serving the wedding group. Breakfast on Sunday morning was chaotic, the hot buffet food was cold and the tea was stewed. This is not what you expect in such an expensive hotel. So it was a mixed experience but not one we will be repeating on our next visit to the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Patricia S

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed our delightful location and our lovely Hotel. I apologise again for the initial room location however, by changing your room we were really ensuring that your stay was not going to be compromised in any way. As you are aware it took moments to allocate you an alternative standard room, as booked, in the main house. Those attending the function are allocated rooms above the Vendange Suite.
Whilst the room is not the most spacious it is a delightful recently refurbished room with outstanding views of the Wiltshire Countryside.

Following recent comments regarding our bar service we have a full time barman available throughout the evening and I will be taking up your comments with him.

Your comments regarding the service are noted and these will be discussed with my operations team as we continue to ensure that in all areas of the hotel we provide a good level of service to all our guests.

In terms of breakfast, given that on occasions all members of the wedding party arrive for breakfast together you can understand that it can be particularly busy as we do not regulate times however, we feel that we are fully in control of the situation over the busy short period, and offer our guests
a good choice and well presented Wiltshire Breakfast.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Leigh Park again in the future

Pamela Duckett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Leigh Park this weekend to celebrate our 1st anniversary... Having had our wedding there last year.

We were both greeted so warmly by the reception team on arrival, including Louise the events co-ordinator who helped organise our wedding last year- we were more shocked that both Louise and Chris remembered us from a year ago, something we did not expect!

We were shown to our room which was absolutely beautiful in the main house, and were informed that it is a recently renovated room. It looked out over the gardens and the view over to the white horse.

Although we did not eat in the restaurant that evening we did go back for some drinks and the bar staff were all very welcoming and accommodating.

We cannot find fault with this hotel and love it to pieces. The staff are all so polite and well mannered and go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one.

I'm sure we will be back!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank welshgirl2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear welshgirl2483

So delighted you were able to return to Leigh Park for your first anniversary and delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your very kind comments.

It is always a pleasure to welcome our wedding couples back to the Hotel and it was great you were able to meet up with Louise and Chris once again to reminisce about your wedding day.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next anniversary – if not before!!

Kind regards
Pamela Duckett, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for two nights an anniversary present from our son, room was very comfortable really good nights sleep, staff very friendly and helpful. Yes there were weddings each day of our stay but did not bother us at all. In fact enjoyed the music. Lovely hotel would recommend it, we came to visit Bath which was about 15 minutes away. Pleased we stayed here and not in Bath as Bradford on Avon town was so worth a visit too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the orchard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Anita W
Thank you for your recent review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Leigh Park and found the staff friendly and helpful. I am also pleased you liked the Saxon town of Bradford on Avon.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Leigh Park again in the future – maybe on your next anniversary if not before!!

Kind regards
Pamela Duckett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I would just like to say a huge thank you to Leigh Park Hotel for the fantastic wedding reception they hosted for my son and daughter in law. A special thank you to Tom for making sure everything ran smoothly and Pam for going over and above by transporting the bridesmaids to the church when the wedding car broke down.
We had so many wonderful comments from the guests who all really enjoyed themselves.
I would definitely recommend Leigh Park as a venue for your wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlady4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sunlady4

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review, I am delighted you had a wonderful time – all the staff thoroughly enjoyed the wedding and felt honored to be part of this very special day for Tim and Hayley.

I must admit, I enjoyed my chauffeuring experience and wished I had had time to put ribbons on the car!!

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Leigh Park again soon.

Kind regards
Pamela Duckett – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My son and daughter in law were married at Leigh Park Hotel last week. The ceremony (for 60) was in the Vine room which is a conservatory type room used as the hotel restaurant. The grounds were stunning for photo backdrops, including the gazebo and the vineyard. The wedding breakfast for 120 people was in the Vendange Suite followed by a live band and disco. Around 25 rooms were booked by guests of the wedding, some travelled from far away and stayed two or three nights. The Functions manager Louise was a great help with all of the planning for the wedding and the MC on the day - Tom - ran the wedding faultlessly. His team on the day ensured that no one queued long for drinks or food (it was a hot buffet) and all of the staff in the hotel were pleasant and could not do enough to help everyone have an enjoyable time. The weather was glorious. Thank you Pam and all of your staff at Leigh Park for making it a memorable day, still receiving texts and messages from people saying how lovely it was

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a lovely view when you wake up in the morning, some right over to the white h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hi tina808

Thank you for your very kind comments – I am delighted you all had a good time - all the staff thoroughly enjoyed the wedding and felt privileged to be part of such a happy occasion.

We all wish the couple all the very best for the future and hope to see them on their first anniversary!!

Kind regards
Pamela Duckett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
6  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our room was very dirty, there was dirt on the floor and I'm not sure it had been cleaned properly in months. There was a huge layer of dirt/fluff and grime next to the radiator. The bed was so Old it made an awful noise every time you moved. There were no bulbs in the bedside lights, I asked for some but was told they didn't make them any more and that the lights would get changed sometime. I was offered a bedside lamp to save us climbing around in the dark but that never materialised. The bar service was slow if you could find someone to serve you and the breakfast constantly ran out of items which we kept having to ask to be replaced. Lovely building with great views but needs serious work considering what we paid for 2 nights ! We expected more :(

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livsr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, General Manager at Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Livsr25

I was most disappointed to read that you felt your room was not as clean as you would have liked, I have inspected the room personally and it does fall below our normal housekeeping standards. I will be dealing with this directly with my Housekeeping team to ensure our standards do not slip in the future. We have a strict routine in terms of daily cleaning together with the deep cleaning of every room on a monthly basis, and this has clearly broken down.

The bedside lights have been replaced - I advised you the bulbs for the original lamps had become obsolete , however if you recall I did offer you the use of bedside lamps but the offer was declined as you were happy with the existing lighting in the room.
Breakfast items are cooked fresh throughout the service which does sometimes mean a short wait whilst we cook them.

I am pleased you liked the Georgian Country House Hotel – which is a Grade!! listed building, and the picturesque views across the Wiltshire Downs, which is a very sought after location, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Leigh Park again in the future.

Pamela Duckett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford-on-Avon
3.1 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
1.6 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 32 in Bath
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Leigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Leigh Park Hotel

Address: Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £76 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Leigh Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Leigh Park Country House Hotel & Vineyard. Set in five acres of landscaped gardens, overlooking the picturesque Wiltshire Downs and only a short journey from Bath, the Leigh Park is a classical Georgian country house hotel with charm, character and a subtle elegance. The superbly appointed Vine conservatoire Restaurant offers both traditional English and International cuisine using prime local produce together with home grown organic fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden. The Hotel offers 38 individually designed bedrooms, with the more traditional style rooms in the main house together with sixteen brand new contemporary chic designed executive bedrooms some in the former Coach House. Leigh Park has its own Vineyard which consists of 600 Reichensteiner vines in the one acre of walled garden within the grounds, which produce a particularly attractive medium dry white wine, exclusive to the Hotel. Local Attractions: The Leigh Park Hotel located on the edge of Bradford-on-Avon is situated in an ideal position to visit the many local West Country Tourist attractions including the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon itself, the Georgian Heritage City of Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, and the National Trust Village of Lacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Leigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing