We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Priory Steps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Steps
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

This beautiful hotel/B&B is an absolute find. Our room was charming , a good size with twin beds, lots of wardrobe space and very comfortable. We had a little lounge with tv and tea making and a huge bathrobe with bath big enough for two and
a good shower. It all overlooks the town and river and is very convenient for shopping etc. the breakfast was really good, excellently cooked and personal service from Diana made it even more pleasureable.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We have made many trips to Bradford on Avon and always stay at Priory Steps. Every room has a marvellous view over the town - also each room has a theme and a lot of thought has gone into that. Carey puts so much work into their lovely garden - there is always something wonderful flowering in each season and there are lovely hanging baskets outside the front door, which is so welcoming.
Nothing is too much trouble for D&C. Diana's cooking is imaginative and wholesome. We have never been disappointed and, in the wintertime, to walk into their dining room, to the crackling of a log fire and Carey pulling the stopper from the wine, is wonderful!
Diana and Carey are a font of knowledge on the history of Bradford on Avon - if one has a limited amount of time to stay in the town, it means that the key areas to be visited have been described in detail.
We cannot recommend Priory Steps too highly and will be back in November!
K&G
Camberley, Surrey

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the town - so what's not to like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSTONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We went to stay two nights at Priory Steps during October and cannot have been more satisfied. Our large and beautifully furnished room was warm, with everything we needed for a comfortable rest after our day visiting the local sights, even though the weather was chilly. We went out for dinner on our first night to friends locally. It was very comforting to be given a door key even though Diana and Carey, the hosts, stayed up to welcome us back. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely with a good choice of local food although one point off for no kippers. In fairness, Diana explained that they were sourced from a supplier direct who had let them down that week and they were not happy to go to Tescos. I understand whenever possible the food is local and fresh and that week the kippers could not be either. It was lovely to see Diana from our bedroom window on her way down to the chickens in the garden to collect the eggs for breakfast so we were more than happy. Dinner at Priory Steps was lovely too. Drinks before in the book lined library, followed by three courses that were restaurant standard. Extra points for home made bread. All guests were seated together around one dining table which was a wonderful surprise as they were all charming. With a log fire burning in the room we all stayed around the dinner table for some time enjoying good company. Diana and Carey are not intrusive, but always had time for a chat and were full of local knowledge. I think they have been there a long time and know all about local walking and entertainment. Lovely stay, lovely place, would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We think all rooms had the same views over the town. We thought it was charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had been on a weekend of canal walking in late June thinking the weather would be wonderful....However, it was incredibly wet. Priory Steps helped make the weekend a much more positive experience. It is such a lovely old building, staying there was like stepping back in time. The room was a good size, the bath was an unexpected bonus, it's very unusual to have a bath in a B+B these days. The bed was king sized and extremely comfortable, we both slept very well indeed. The only thing which let them down a little was the tea and coffee which was rather sub-standard for a higher priced bed and breakfast, especially as we had just come from a much lower priced establishment in which the beverages supplied were absolutely excellent. Having read other reviews I suppose the TV was smallish, but if people just want to watch the TV they could stay at home....Breakfast, however, was wonderful, plenty of choice, and what we had - full English vegetarian - was perfectly done. The hosts - who were very pleasant - were very knowledgeable about local footpaths, which made our onward journey to Bath very straightforward. We would stay there again if we went to Bradford -on Avon and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Large bedroom,sitting room and bathroom with views over the Avon and surrounding town. Carey and Diana were fantatic hosts, very welcoming but also able to supply a wealth of knowledge about where to go in the surrounding area. We had a fantastic four days there and could have stayed another week.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed overnight last weekend. Beautiful location and amazing views. We had a very good sized double ensuite, but the proprietors let themselves down with skimping in a lot of areas.
1. Couldnt have a proper shower as there was no shower screen, otherwise the bathroom was was fine with a lovely deep bath. 2. Whilst we had a nice sized double room we had the tiniest TV and had to move the table on which it stood to the bottom of the bed so that we could see it (and its not our eyesight that's gone). TV reception wasn't brilliant, with the picture freezing albeit briefly but periodically (aerial amplifier might help). 3. Wallpaper in bedroom starting to look tired and seems to have suffered from the elements around and under the window. 4. It was a cold autumnal night yet the central heating never came on. When referred to by the lady of the house all she could say was that it (the weather) warms up quickly in the day. 5. Need to be able to use hairdryer in front of mirror, this couldn't be done. 6. Whilst there were tea/coffee making facilities, and a choice, they were limited. My friend and I only like tea so we were rationed to one cup each overnight. 7. Bacon at breakfast was past its best. 8. Whilst the lady of the house was polite, we sensed that she was not comfortable in her role as host. Lots of pregnant pauses in conversation. So overall not worth £100.00 for the night that we paid and whilst there is the potential it does not at the moment in time warrant luxury status.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 362butterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Priory Steps is set in an elevated position overlooking Bradford Upon Avon and beyond with the most beautiful views. It is a charming house filled with the most interesting antiques. The bedroom was a good size. However we did feel that this stay was very over priced compared with other B&Bs that we have stayed in. We felt we could have done with the heating on to take the chill off the room when getting up and we had to share a teabag and buy milk as not sufficient available in room for two cups each! All in all we did enjoy our stay, but only rated it as average for what we had paid!

Room Tip: We had a first floor bedroom, which was quiet, a good size, fabulous views and good sized bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorquaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#10 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Steps

Property: Priory Steps
Address: 1 Newtown, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Priory Steps Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing