We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grubby around the edges and very over-priced”
Review of Priory Steps

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Steps
south shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grubby around the edges and very over-priced”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Over-priced for what you get - a room that needs redecoration, new curtains & carpet and a good clean, not impressed by carpet in bathrooms. Would have expected much better quality breakfast for the price charged, also better quality tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillwalker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Priory Steps is a tranquil, comfortable and charming place to stay. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Loved the little sitting room attached and large bathroom. Easy access to train station and ideal place to walk and explore Bradford on Avon.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

The coach house apartment served as our base for visiting family in the area. It was perfect and a comfortable place to have meals and time to ourselves. The location in Bradford-on-Avon is perfect for touring the town and getting a little exercise. The parking lot below the apartment is a real plus in this compact town. Well equiped kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wmdtjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We were very fortunate to be offered the choice of room for our 3 night stay last week and plumped for the ground floor 'blue' room, which is a twin and has a small sitting room adjoining the bathroom and bedroom. The hostess, Diana Chapman, was very friendly, giving us local tips, and the whole feel of the Priory Steps was a postive and relaxing one. The town Bradford-on-Avon is very picturesque and there are plenty of places to eat if you haven't prebooked dinner at the B&B. My particular favourite has to be the Bridge Tea rooms at the bottom of the hill and opposite the library.

  • Liked — The friendliness and more personalised service
  • Disliked — The parking, there are 5 spaces only. There are no locks on your bedroom.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed at Priory Steps for 2 nights over the weekend of July 5 2008 and would highly recommend it. It is a beautiful house furnished with antiques and curios and the hosts are charming and helpful. There are good facilities in the rooms and the guests' common areas are large and comfortable.

  • Liked — Age, look and decor of the property
  • Disliked — car parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbrianrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/ New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

I stayed with my (now husband) the night before our wedding weekend, and my parents and other family and friends stayed at the B&B for the weekend.
The B&B is charming, really comfortable and warm. My father is elderly and a little unsteady on his feet, and he managed the B&B well, if not the walk in to Bradford-On-Avon. The walk in to the town is short but the hill is steep - which I would consider if walking is difficult for you.
The hosts Carey and Diane are fabulous, we had dinner the night we arrived (pre-arranged) and had the most delicious roasted peppers, and chicken - lovely.
Breakfasts were cooked fresh and also delicious - the only negative being that you have eaten so well that a local lunch at one of the quaint pubs is impossible as you are so full!!!
For a B&B it may seem a little pricey - but it is far nicer than any B&B I have stayed in before. Thanks Diane and Carey!!

  • Liked — The owners made us feel so welcome and the food is amazing!
  • Disliked — nothing really - it was fab!
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0nChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The Priory Steps deserves a longer visit, this is a place to take your time over, we would definatley like to go back.

I stayed here for one night with my daughter in the twin Indian room. The views from our room were fabulous. The room was huge, with a good sized en-suite bathroom. No modern shower, just an enormous bath with a hand shower, which was very relaxing but as we were on a schedule we would have prefererred a modern shower. The beds were comfortable and the room clean and warm. The antique furniture was a little worn, but just added to the charm. The breakfast room and adjoining sitting room, were very inviting.We would have liked to have had more time to enjoy breakfast, but had a very early start sunday. Diana kindly also got up early to cook breakfast!

We ate at The Dandy Lion on the saturday evening - a pub a short walk down the hill - which I would thoroughly recommend. We only had a brief visit, but will return to Bradford-on-avon - it is also very charming, beautiful location, buildings and scenery.

  • Liked — The peaceful, realxing location
  • Disliked — No modern shower
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#11 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Steps

Property: Priory Steps
Address: 1 Newtown, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Priory Steps Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing