We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and good simple food”
Review of The Lock Inn Cafe

The Lock Inn Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon
Level Contributor
226 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quirky and good simple food”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

What a fascinating place, quirky beyond belief, good food, excellent couple of real ales, but be prepared to wait, it gets very busy on a sunny day, A real fun place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinHSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    156
    41
    31
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the River”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Again another lovely spot in a tranquil part of the country
We were running late and it was nearer lunchtime so both decided on the famous Boatman's Breakfast at £6.95 it was what it says on the tin BIG but then again would have proffered a bit more quality as against quantity
Bit disappointing but think it could have been better

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lost its appeal”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Went there midweek at 10am.

I was the only one inside and I can see why.

The music was blairing away - don't people get the fact that the music isn't there for the staff to hear over the kitchen/counter noise but for creating an ambience for their customers.

Asked for the full cooked (The Boatman) and a black coffee which promtply came as a white coffee.

After 15 minutes of waiting the person behind the counter came to ask me what I had ordered and 10 minutes later the food was delivered.

The presentation of the food was slightly marred by the amount of oil/fat running over it and it looked like the mushrooms were being taught to swim in it - without much luck I'm afraid as the quantity of fat was just too overwhelming them.

This used to be one of my favourite cafes but as usual when things change it never appears to be for the better.

I'm hoping this is a one off and I will give them one more try to give them the benefit of the doubt

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline_n735762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston super mare
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely spot and graet food”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

situated next to the towpath , just below the lock this fantastic find is a great place to sit and watch the narrow boats go by.. also lots of mooring so the thirsty and hungry crew can get a meal,,which, by the way , is fantastic, good menu ,served hot and fresh, also a small ,but well thought out , range of beers and ciders, definitly a place that i will return to time and time again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furbyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, fantastic atmosphere.”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I've been coming to this cafe since 1997 and watched the owner grow the business from a tiny place that was known as The Tight Squeeze. They've worked so hard to build it up that they deserve their rewards. Great basic food, lots of choice. Great setting by the canal on hot summery days of a nice warm up by the fire in winter. Friendly staff, I just keep going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DistancedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock Inn Cafe also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lock Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing