We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure, Never a Chore”
Review of The Lock Inn Cafe

The Lock Inn Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure, Never a Chore”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a staple of Bradford residents and more besides, the lock inn is certainly deserving of the custom it receives. The food is simple yet very satisfying, and the service on the whole well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    168
    41
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“manager very rude”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After waiting over 45 minutes for 3 meals they finally arrived cold. The manager took them back and came out with more meals which were still cold but so hungry at this point we ate them. The staff had said why it took so long as thete was a mix up in the kichen. There was a table of 14 who ordered after us had got there food first. When asking the manager why it took so long he said it was because what we ordered. But they managed to do the table of 14 first. All around us people where waiting for food. My husband went to ask why it had taken so long and he took the ticket with the time on it to see why we waited. He never came back so my husband went to find him. He was very rude to my husband blaming his foreign staff. He could have given us a free drink we were only drinking coke but was so rude. We will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie1965blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value, nice people.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Inexpensive, great location, quirky place with cheerful staff and great breakfasts. Quite good in evenings too but don't bother if you're after somewhere smart. This is basic good food and drink with few frills. Lotsa daily papers for breakfast readers. We visit regularly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Went down to the Lock Inn on the May Bank Holiday, was exceptionally busy because of the good weather/Bank Holiday, but nonetheless we managed to find a seat. Had to queue to get drink/food, but it's the same wherever you go on a Bank Holiday. The food took less than 20 minutes to arrive and we weren't disappointed. I had the "gert lush tall melt burger" which was exceptional - the burger was fresh/moist and very tasty. My other half had the "garlic chicken" and they weren't disappointed either. Think they should change their menu's a little as they've been the same every since I can remember. But I'm not complaining, as I've never had a bad meal from the Lock Inn. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louboo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast Disaster”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having been told The Lock Inn Cafe produced amazing breakfasts, my husband and I were looking forward to a delicious meal. The cafe was not busy as we arrived at around 9 o'clock on a Tuesday morning. My husband ordered the 6 of the best; egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, fried potato and baked beans and I ordered 2 poached eggs, 2 toast and 2 pieces of black pudding. I was charged the same price for both breakfasts which I thought was ridiculous as my breakfast included much cheaper ingredients. I made a complaint which fell on deaf ears as they had classed my breakfast as 6 items! I was willing to let that one go however when my husbands breakfast turned up it consisted of the following: Cold rubbery mushrooms, very poor quality sausage, cold baked beens and potatoes which were yesterday's leftover dried up jacket potatoes with their skins left on, cut into quarters, also cold and soggy. What a disappointment! Won't be going back there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lock Inn Cafe also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Lock Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing