We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure”
Review of Hartley Farm

Hartley Farm
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Found this wonderful cafe, farm shop when we by passed Bath and travelled through Bradford on Avon. Fabulous menu, great choice and very reasonably priced. Very busy Saturday lunch time but staff friendly and efficient. Mamouth ploughmans sandwich for two and coffees only £12. Will definately be going again, best pickle l have had for years.

Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Owner at Hartley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Pauline,
Thank you so much for your comments, the team and I were very proud to read them! We look forward to welcoming you again
Best wishes
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Hartley Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This used to be a regular lunch stop for me. Good for any family member, tired teenagers, busy husband or a relaxing coffee and chat with mum . Although the menu is generally quite "meety" , a veggie or vegan option is available and very good usually.
However, a victim of their own success, Hartley is now very busy and sometimes full to the brim with toddlers. This is fine if you have a young child or toddler but it can be very noisy . The lady taking food orders used to be very accommodating if asked to substitute certain things on the menu for another vegan friendly one , last time she told me "we are very busy" , indicating that now they are too busy to keep long standing customers happy.
Having said all of this , the food is made with best ingredients and to my knowledge most sourced locally or gown themselves. If you have a young family it's a fab place to take them for quality tasty food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hedgehog H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Owner at Hartley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are aware that at some peak times the cafe can get busy and we do have some more youthful, energetic customers! We do take this issue seriously and have made investements recently in making sure that we are offering all our customers the best experience. We do also try to accomodate some changes to dishes and will always try if there are dietary requirments. However, during very busy times this can quite often cause added pressure in the kitchen and our priority is to produce the best standard and quality of food and service to all our guests so from time to time can not make some changes. Please be assured that this is in no way a reflection of being too busy to remember our loyal customers. We are extremely gratefulf for the support we get from our customers and the feedback we get is our way of improving and we will certainly take this on board.
I'm really glad you enjoy our food though and our vegetarian dishes
Best wishes
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I love going to Hartley Farm and stopping for a bite to eat before browsing around the shop with all its lovely goodies, but the experience is often spoilt by children who are allowed to run riot! So, if screaming kids dont bother you while you lunch or stop for a coffee, then its definately worth a visit! However, the vegetarian food is not as good as it used to be and some plates of food are quite expensive in relation to their portion size. However the farm shop has great produce and the slice of carrot cake bought to eat at home was devine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vivib0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Owner at Hartley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your post, we really appreciate the feedback. Firstly we are very pleased to hear you enjoy coming to visit us! We are aware that sometimes we do see a few excited children with a bit of energy to expel. Although we can only do so much ourselves in controlling them we are working hard to make sure there is more for them to be occupied and entertained with to leave our othjer cafe-goers in a bit more peace. It is an issue we have thought long and hard over as we love seeing young children enjoying themselves on our farm too and don't want to alienate them or their familes. We hope you see that over the summer our new 'Little Hartley Farm' project designed for the little ones may help here!
We are also sorry to hear you feel the vegetarian dishes are not as good and some of the dishes you feel are expensive. We work really hard putting time and effort in sourcing produce and cooking homemade food from scratch. We are very proud of the food we serve (including our vegetarian dishes) but are always very interested in hearing how we can improve this. If you would like to share some comments I would be very grateful, please contact me through theshop@hartley-farm.co.uk. I will of course let our chief cake maker Keira know you loved the carrot cake too!
Best wishes and thanks for the positive review!
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent cafe food- fresh ingredients, well cooked. Gets very busy at weekends. The farm shop also has some very good buys and excellent quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 684Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Owner at Hartley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Linda,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! I will take great pleasure in telling the rest of the team!
Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited Hartley Farm's cafe on a Thursday lunchtime for a quick working lunch, lots of mums and babies, but still plenty of room. Great service and a good range of hot food, including the haddock chowder (highly recommended). Lots of free parking, great service, and easy to get to etc. Would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B, Owner at Hartley Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi there,
Thanks you for posting your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and were well looked after by our team! Thank you also for taking the trouble to give us this much appreciated feedback!
Look forward to seeing you again soon
Best wishes
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hartley Farm also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Hartley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing