We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of elbow grease and bleach required!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Riverside Inn
Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lot of elbow grease and bleach required!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Disgusting! The whole place needs closing for a week and a team of cleaners going in. I too wish that I had read trip advisor before booking. Yes its cheap but thats no excuse for being dirty. The shower still had the soap, (and hair) left in the soap dish presumably from the previous occupier, the sink had splashes of what looked like tea or coffee in it. The cups looked as though they had just been swilled out under some water as there were still dregs left down the outside of the cup; there was also a rim inside the cup. The toilet seat came away. The carpet in the bedroom hadnt been vacuumed for a very very long time, as there was bits all over it. Door handles, floors and chairs throughout the building felt sticky, like they'd all been wiped over with the same very old dirty cloth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonRadleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    4
    5
    22
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I guess there's a reason that some businesses use Groupon - thank God we didn't pay full price. The owner was very nice and helpful but the room was tiny and very dated. Lucky not to have been kept awake like some others who stayed here, but the breakfast was pretty dire and my partner felt quite ill after taking a bite of a truly rancid croissant. Don't they have kitchen inspectors these days?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntiemabel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

After booking a room through groupon we were glad that we didn't pay the full price!! when we arrived there was a young boy on reception no older than 9 playing on the computer, we were then given our key from a member of staff from the bar. the bar was busy with what looked like a football team not very welcoming for visitors. the room looked shabby and when the air freshner wore off stale damp aromas became quite apparent!!. The worst experience was the smell coming from the resturant at breakfast, it was vile and i was close to vomiting hence we left without breakfast. The overall experience was terrible and we won't be returning and would advise anyone else not to visit this establishment!!.

Room Tip: don't choose ant room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jax32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We visited using a Groupon voucher for b&b (not evening meal) and initially weren't sure if this was a good pick as the pub rooms seemed clearly designed for lively locals and the beer garden for smokers. But the room was delightful - clean, well equipped, and with a lovely view along the river. Breakfast was basic quality but a wide range of buffet items plus cooked options. Our hosts were very friendly, there's wifi available, and overall we felt it extremely good value for what we'd paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been prompted by Trip Advisor about my stay at Bradford on Avon. To be honest I wish I had looked at their site before going.I'vealready posted a review of this place and can only confirm that unless something drastic has happened in the last year regarding Riverside Inn, I would not recommend this tip to anyone. Bradford on Avon itself is a nice place to visit but unless someone has worked the oracle this place is to be avoided.Food was poor to average,accomodation dirty,staff were fairly pleasant but indifferent. There are far better places to stay in B-O-A unless the miacle has happened.

Room Tip: Don't pay any deposit, unless this place has had a major upgrade, you're wasting your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Visited on Groupon deal, poor quality all round. Room not too bad, bathroom was very small, very dated and in poor state of refurbishment. All round not very clean. breakfast was gross.
Thank god for the Dandy Lion pub in the town. food, drink and atmosphere very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed for one night, ok room but no towels and only 1/4 toilet roll! Clean beds but dirty, dusty room.
Breakfast however, was horrible. Dirty cutlery and smeary glasses too dirty too drink from. Cooked food was so bad we went to a cafe.
BOA is a lovely town, but would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cubatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#10 of 24 in Bradford-on-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn

Property: The Riverside Inn
Address: 49 St. Margarets Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing