We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay”

Serendipity Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serendipity Guest House
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Comfortable, very clean with friendly hosts. Vanda and Roy were most helpful with suggestions of places to visit. Beautiful village with many many places of interest nearby. Peaceful quiet location close to Bath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Room was very spacious and clean, good facilities and shower was just right, breakfast in the morning was delicious and freshly cooked! :-D
owners were very helpful and pleasant, overall we had a great stay and we recommend it to anyone wanting good accomodation in a quiet location.
we'll be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank xtina_dori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

One of the best B&B's we've ever stayed at. The rooms are comfortable and really clean and the location is great. The hosts (Roy and Vanda) are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic, you get what you want and you take it in a beautyful winter garden with the other guests.
There's the possibility for making tea/coffee in your room, a TV and towels, everything you need for a lovely stay.
If you are in this area, book it!
Thanks to Roy and Vanda,
Sarah, Brigitte :)
sarah.reisel@gmx.de

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahWillAnsMeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Started off well, both charming, room okay. In the morning our bed was made and rubbish emptied while we were still at breakfast. The towels were damp from our showers. When we came back in evening they had not been changed, and when I asked nicely if I could have two dry ones the look on his face was'nt nice.. He had the cheek to feel them as if he did not believe me and very begrudgingly got me two more after telling us to go back to our room and he would bring them. Again, the way he said that shocked us. We did not like how he treated us at all. In the morning at breakfast (which was lovely) his wife apologised and said she meant to take them, and if it had been fine enough, put them on the line to freshen them up, or throw them in the drier. I did not think that would have been right if other towels were put in there too. We stayed in 14 B&B's around England and Scotland and all Bronze, everyone of them better than this Silver in Bath,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandas208, Owner at Serendipity Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

So sorry about your towels but there are notices in bathrooms to tell you to put towels on floor if you want them changed which we would do willingly ,yours were on the rail . I do put them in tumble drier on there own, my husband can't understand why you thought he was offhand he was probably surprised I had miss them , thank you for your positive comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had initially booked this B&B on the recommendation of it being an AA four star accredited establishment, unfortunately, this was not to be the case. We did not experience the quality and comfort that you would associate with a four star rating. In fairness, the room we shared as a family was clean and very quiet however, the double bed was infact two singles pushed together with single duvets and both were uncomfortable and worn. The decor in the room was dated and the furniture mis-matched. Also, certain basic provisions were lacking, e.g:- no handwash, sugar, bin liner, etc. We also found that the door handle and toilet seat were broken. The kettle was positioned in a most dangerous and inconvenient spot (near floor) and one morning we had no hot water due to the poor water pressure. In addition, the breakfast offered very little choice. I ordered continental which consisted of cornflakes, yoghurt and cold toast! Also, it was served far too early (8.00 - 8.30am) and we were made to feel that we needed to rush in order not to impose on the owners day/time. On our return to the B&B late one afternoon, my husband actually heard the owners having an argument, which was particularly embarrassing! Seemed to be alot of house rules, no food or drink in rooms, etc. Not four star quality by any stretch of the imagination!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandas208, Owner at Serendipity Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our B & B. I would like to take this opportunity to answer your review. The room that you stayed in was our 'Family Room', this room was freshly decorated in 2011 using neutral colours. The fabric on the headboard and the curtains match and we try to match our quilt covers to this decor. All of the furniture in this room is from Ikea's current stock and each piece matches. There is absolutely nothing wrong with any of the door handles or the toilet seat in this room and I am not sure what you felt the problem was. The hot water supply to this room has its own pump and therefore water pressure is not an issue. All basic provisions are always supplied in every room in the B & B. Our choice of breakfast includes, a full English including Juice/cereal and toast, a vegetarian breakfast, and a continental breakfast. We always advise our guests of what will be supplied depending on which breakfast they choose.

We are sorry that you returned early to the house one day and heard a disagreement between myself and my husband, living and working together 24/7 sometimes causes a little friction!

While we appreciate and support all of our customers' rights to write a review, we would appreciate reviews to be totally honest. Also could we please ask why none of your concerns were brought to our attention during your stay, especially items that were apparently broken as these would have been repaired instantly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The room we had was at the front of the house left side looking at front door. The room had 2 single beds which were not put together as a queen, the bed closest to the window is in need of a new mattress as when I sat on the edge of the bed I nearly slipped to the floor the mattress concaved and I was worried my husband would not be able to sleep on it, I slept all night on the opposite side of the mattress as we pushed the beds together so I didn't roll out I am not a feather but also not a heavy weight I did mention to our hostess that the mattress was dangerous and thought it needed to be looked at, the lady of the house thanked me for bringing it to her attention and promptly went and told her husband then came and told me she would talk to the lady coming in tonight as she stays regularly and she would know ( as if I wouldn't know if the mattress was damaged or not why did I bother ) . Breakfast was interesting to say the least we were given a choice of cereals and asked which we would like then a bowl of it was placed in front of us as hubby ate faster than me our host was hovering over me waiting for me to finish so he could take my bowl then before our hot breakfast was brought to the table our toast was brought out no choice white only and 2 slices ( 1 each ) 1 glass of orange juice again poured for us was placed in front of us and no refill offered. The night before I asked about the badgers and was told if they come out then they would come and get us pleasantly surprised there was a knock on our door to get us to come to the other room facing the garden it was lovely to see the badgers searching for the seed our room was clean as as linen and towels tea and coffee supplied not sure if I would stay again would like to know bed was renewed breakfast needs improvement

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vandas208, Owner at Serendipity Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your review but I would like to say there was nothing wrong with the bed if you remember I showed you our bed which is new and cost £1200 and the edges were the same they are all gainsbough beds I have asked guest since and no ones had any problems last night our quest said it was the best bed of his holiday .Iwas surprised that you thought are service was only 2stars I don't think i could have done any more , sat up waited for bagers so you did not have to .We serve cereals because there is not room on the table for 9 different kinds hope you understand if you come again your are more than welcome to come in kitchen and help yourself thanks vanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Nice, clean and cousy. The family took good care of us and the breakfast together with the other guests was very nice.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
1.6 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Barge Inn
The Barge Inn
#9 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Guest House

Address: 19 Bradford Road | Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £75 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serendipity Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serendipity Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing