We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What people say... all true.”
Review of Burghope Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bradford-on-Avon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burghope Manor
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent four days at Burghope Manor.
It's a lovely home a few miles from Bath, in a very quiet (we loved it) and relaxing neighborhood.
Alan and Peter not only are very good hosts, but they're also great in creating a friendly atmosphere and in inviting their guests to get to know each other and chat in the living room.
Hope to get back there soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnBrown71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Burghope Manor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Alan and Peter have done a beautiful job of renovating their 1354 home into a stylish and comfortable B&B. We felt very much at home and enjoyed spending time in the garden and the sitting room both on our own and with the other guests. The food was excellent - Alan made dinner for us one night - and there was always a pot of tea available when needed. Thank you so much to Alan and Peter for a wonderful stay. They have raised our expectations on what a great B&B should be like.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebG486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Manor was built in 1300s - but now a very comfortable house in which to stay. Lots of antiques around the place.
We were given 3 rooms for 2 family groups. Very friendly welcome with tea and cake. Very helpful hints form Alan as to what to do during the day.
Very good cooked English breakfasts.
Personally I like to see tv news in the morning-- but I think the rest of the group were pleased to leave all that behind.
Bradford upon Avon is a very pleasant town and not far from Stonehenge Stourhead and Longleat.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think they will all be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daviddocklands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for a long weekend at Burghope Manor and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Alan and Peter have achieved a near perfect balance of being welcoming, friendly and extremely professional. They invite guests to share their lovely home and to make themselves at home in the sitting room and television snug rather than be banished to the bedroom. This makes for a much more sociable stay than might otherwise be the case.

All the facilities available were excellent and breakfast and evening meals were superb. Advice and help with ideas for places to visit and places to eat were spot on.

Wholeheartedly recommended. We would certainly stay again and will be doing so in another few weeks time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigpaul9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Burghope as part of a family party. Even though all of the rooms we booked the service and attention given by Alan and Peter couldn't have been better. With fussy teenagers to please we had a fantastic stay. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have stayed at Burghope Manor a week before Easter with a couple of friends. It was our first visit and we fell in love with the place: it is simply beautiful.
Alan is a brilliant host and an incredible cook.
Cannot wait till our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexisBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrived to be met by Alan and servered tea and cake in the garden which was very nice. We were shown to our room in which we had been upgraded it was very nice a massive 6ft bed with a nice homely feel to it with a nice ensuite bathroom. They do evening meals but we didint eat but we were told they were great. Alan is a very good host giving you great suggestions where to go and the best places to park. Breakfast is very good and tasty. As with other reviews there is no TV in your room which is a little odd but it made a change to sit with other people having a chat with other people staying there. We are looking forward to visiting again soon

Room Tip: All rooms we had seen are very good and the one with four poster bed is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ormsklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
1.5 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#3 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
246 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig Wig Cottages
The Beeches Farmhouse B&B & Pig ...
#4 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghope Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghope Manor

Address: Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bradford-on-Avon
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing