We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ,poor service”
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were both left with the impression that we were troubling the staff throughout our stay
After a great evening at the Theatre Royal Bath we returned by 10. 45pm to the Hotel and asked if there was any chance of a sandwich or something to eat was told no and sent out to a Chinese in the rain. The address was curt and an offer of a bag of crisps would at least showed concern. We were woken by the sound of the fire alarm - from the floor below After standing in the rain for 20 minutes I took the opportunity to explain to the duty manager that - lights were out on the system and that the alarm could not be heard on the top floor - this was met by little concern.
The room itself was beautifully appointed - however as to be expected in an old building both the TV and wireless free kept cutting out. Bear in mind this when booking -opt for a lower floor.
Breakfast was good but every table was full of dirty dishes - we waited 15 minutes to be served and ended up in frustration clearing and setting our own table. Just one staff on duty so understandable - but at over £100 a night again this was yet again not the service standard expected.
The location is beautiful and the actual Hotel quirky enough to be interesting and on the whole modernised tastefully. Bradford On Avon- is a wonderful little town -just one stop away from The World Heritage site of Bath ( 15 Mins) by train alternatively you can book a canal barge to take you there passing some stunning Hamlets. St Lawrence’s Saxon Church is memorable as are the views and streets around the river itself.
I addressed the issues with the staff and left details for manager to contact us but - well given the service we received I bet you can guess we never heard. What can i say in Summary – the whole experience was = ‘almost’

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffBonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

The hotel is centrally situated and historic. The bedroom was pleasant with good furniture and a very comfortable bed. TV had many channels. Breakfast excellent. The downside was that the corridors were a bit shabby with stained carpets in places. The decor in the room was in need of tlc the window was rotting and had no way to fix it shut as the catch had dropped off. The shower was poor with no way to get it past lukewarm. The bathroom has no window and extractor fan did not work. The hand for the flush was dropping off so I fixed it! Simple. Staff were pleasant but not much atmosphere

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This is an historic hotel, not meeting its potential simply because of poor service and lack of attention to detail. Upgrading pictures on walls and furnishings does not automatically upgrade a hotel! The reception area is a scruffy hole in the wall which you could pass without noticing, and is seldom manned. When I arrived, a key was shoved in my hand; I was not asked if I needed help with my heavy case; I was not told where my room was (and Room 6 is impossible to find, because the fire-door leading to it is unmarked); I was not asked if I would like a paper in the morning. At breakfast I was told that they had 'run out of marmalade'. WHY? This is not good enough for £100 a night!

Room Tip: ask for room on first floor and at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Great place to stay. Worth every penny. Huge bathroom , great bed, good food and jazz band on Thursday night. I would definitley recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmartillo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed here for a weekend break and only have good things to say. The Swan is a traditional coaching inn located in the town centre which has had a stylish makeover. Despite the junction at the front it's quieter than you might think and it virtually backs onto the river. Service is friendly and efficient and the spacious downstairs rooms are pleasant for a drink or sampling the decent food. Upstairs, we were upgraded to a very comfortable superior room. The real reason to stay here though might be the location: the train station for Bath is five minutes walk and the countryside is sensational. Might well be a better option than an overpriced country house hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nthlondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Spent our wedding anniversary here recently. Pretty average in terms of room and service. Room was very drafty - and cold all night -, made more obvious by concierge hastily putting the heating on as we entered - could they not have done this earlier in advance of our arrival? A quaint, higuldy-pigaldy building with character and charm - pub and lounge areas are very nice, also open fire, and mulled wine in our rooms was a treat. Breakfast was very nice - lots of choice, swift (if a little surly) service, and good food. Sadly not enough to merit the £125 price tag, though.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

To stay in an old Coaching Inn, in the very centre of BOA. was awsome enough !
We were lucky enough to be there on a Thrursday eve. for the live jaz in the vaulted cellars below that ancient building.
Our room was very clean, tidy and ticked all our boxes. Large car park.
B.fast could not be faulted, and even the cutlery was hand polished, never seen that before !! Such attention to detail was amazing.
A real log (inglnook) fire, and comfy sofas in the bar area were very relaxing.
If you are lucky, as we were, the owner will play his 'didgeridoo' in the bar. That was fantastic..
No outside heating on the terrace though !
We don't usualy write reviews but this was a very special experience for a 'loved up' couple !!.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvesterchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford-on-Avon hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Widbrook Grange
Widbrook Grange
#1 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woolley Grange
Woolley Grange
#2 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Timbrell's Yard
Timbrell's Yard
#2 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Inn
The Bear Inn
#11 of 22 in Bradford-on-Avon
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 1 Church Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of this picturesque town The Swan provides accommodation, food and a popular pub. Catering for business people and visitors to the town and area the Inn has 12 well appointed en suite rooms, some suitable for families, free wifi, great breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The food offering is both traditional British and Asian, not fusion but simply offering the best of both worlds, great for the couple or group where some like spicy, others don't! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bradford On Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing